We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“once in a lifetime experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manu Wildlife Center
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Unique setting for a unique wildlife experience. the lodge is very remote, and is really in the middle of the jungle in peru.
Guests very well looked after by staff on all levels. Good food, clean rooms, beautiful garden, well maintained lodges and common areas, and well marked jungle paths
Lots of amazing and rare birdlife, wildlife and flora.
Activities around the lodge are quite physical, and require the assistance of a trained guide.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galapjungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InkaNaturaTravelWeb, Senior Travel Advisor at Manu Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your esperience and for your kind comments.

I hope you had the possibility to take good photos,

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at Manu Wildlife Centre as part of a 7 day Manu tour. The centre is spacious with good food and very nice cabins with hot shower and everything you need. We really appreciated the walking tour around the centre. The tapir watch is very practical and comfortable even if you do not see any tapirs, as in our case.
One thing we missed was a small space to warm up in cold spells, a fire place for example or any other part of the lodge that is shielded from cold winds. Unfortunately we were hit by a really chilly spell of friaje during our tour. After having spent approximately 7 looong hours on the boat in the pouring rain we were really longing to have a warmer spot - in vain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank mourspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InkaNaturaTravelWeb, Senior Travel Advisor at Manu Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

We have read your commentaries, and appreciate very much your kind suggestions. Unfortunately a fire place goes against our eco-sustainability policy. However having a shielded space does seem like a must.

Hoping that you have a safe return back home.

Greetings,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We did a 5-day expedition with Manu Expeditions, at Manu Wildlife Centre. It was a fabulous trip, beginning with our van ride from Cusco, at 11,000 feet, to the Madre de Dios River in the Amazon Basin, at about 500 feet. Our guide, Waldo, was knowledgeable about everything, and was particularly helpful in finding birds. The Manu Wildlife Centre lodge is beautiful, with extensive landscaped grounds and delightful cabins. There is no electricity in the cabins, and candles are provided - it's a special experience in so many ways. The main common area is a dining and sitting area housed in an enormous, attractive building. (There is electricity there a few hours a day for charging your electronics.) The food is excellent, the bar well-stocked, the staff super accommodating, and everything done to make your stay comfortable. The jungle treks are fascinating. We plan a return trip.

Room Tip: The cabins are screened, include mosquito netting on each bed, and super comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jv_maynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Great service, very nice people, The food is good but too much international.
A lot of animals to see around: a lot of monkeys, tapir if you are lucky, giant otters and of course a lot of birds, caimans, etc...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natureetphotographie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at the MWC, sadly for one night only at the end of our 5 night tour with Manu Expeditions (owners of the MWC) and we absolutely loved it! The cabins are quaint, clean and very comfortable. Bathrooms are nice with hot showers. The grounds are fabulous, carefully designed to attract hummingbirds, butterflies and other birds. The main lodge is incredible, huge and nicely decorated. The food was the best we had in Peru - no small feat that far from civilization. All staff were super friendly and work hard to make your stay the best.There is a generator that turns on in the evenings to provide wi-fi, a rarity in the jungle. None of the cabin have power but candles just add to the ambience. One very cool thing that happened, we were sitting in the lodge before dinner and one of the staff said "the tapir is here" so we got up and went to the door, thinking the tapir would be in among the trees, but instead, "Vanessa", as the staff call this 200kg tapir, was standing on the stairs leading into the lodge, looking at us! One of the staff brought us a plate of bananas and told us we could feed her - an incredible experience - to be that close to such a shy animal. Apparently she visits every now and then so it isn't a give you'll see her - we just got very lucky! Regardless, this lodge is probably about as luxurious as you can get in this area, definitely a great spot so stay!

Room Tip: Looks like all the cabins are nice and you probably can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Manu Wildlife Centre provides excellent accommodation for where it is ... deep in the rain forest. The lodges, raised on stilts, are very comfortable, equipped with good quality beds and full mosquito nets, fine grills to all window openings, flushed loos and a gas powered shower. Lighting is by candle or LED light if you've brought one! The Lodge - for bar, restaurant and general meeting - is a very large, comfortable airy building and does have some power outlets - operating when the generator is switched on to provide power in the kitchen - to recharge your camera batteries. Food quality and quantity is very good from the enthusiastic Peruvian chefs again, considering the remoteness.

The guides, all from Peru Verde, are excellent judging by our own and that of the other party in residence, knowledgeable, observant and excellent communicators helping you to get the most out of your visit. The activities are well planned and well spaced. Do try to go for the 4 night stay though as this gives the opportunity to revisit some locations if the animals / birds choose not to appear first time.

This part of the Peruvian Rainforest will appeal particularly to those interested in birds and monkeys. You're almost certain also to meet Vanessa, the visiting tapir!

The only downside we experienced was the very lengthy road / river / unmade road / upstream river journey to get to the Centre from Puerto Maldonado airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ImperialCrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is pretty close to what I told Inkanatura after the trip:

Things I liked:

- It was well organized.
- The main guide was great and a very nice guy.
- The food was good.
- The rest of the staff was very helpful and friendly.
- The main lodge and cabins were nice, well-kept, and comfortable.
- The area in general was beautiful.

Things I wish would have been different:

- The rates advertised on the website seemed reasonable enough, but when we tried to book at those rates I was told the prices were much higher. I felt like there was a bait and switch at hand- but at that point we had already built a lot of our trip around the tour and since Inkanatura got such great reviews, I just paid hoping that it would be well worth it.
- Although I liked the other people in our group, it was too large. If you're at the back of the line you miss a lot because animals get scared, people make noise, etc. Nobody's fault (though I'm sure Inkanatura knows this), but just something I wish had been different.

All in all it was a great trip and I don't want to sound spoiled or ungrateful for the opportunity but I really wonder if we could have had a similar experience for less money. I also wonder if I paid a gringo rate or if we were somehow penalized by booking in advance (ie. if we had landed in Peru and booked at the last minute, if it would have been cheaper). At the very least, for what we paid I think we should have been in a smaller group. I guess the whole price thing with the website still bothers me, a lot.

But again, the lodge is nice, the guide was great, the staff was great, and the area is beautiful. So I feel fortunate to have been able to see this part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MH206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manu National Park
0.0 mi away
Heath River Wildlife Center
Heath River Wildlife Center
#5 of 20 in Tambopata National Reserve
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chontachaka Reserva Ecologica
Chontachaka Reserva Ecologica
#3 of 11 in Manu National Park
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tambo Blanquillo
Tambo Blanquillo
#1 of 11 in Manu National Park
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pacaya Samiria Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Maloka Sandoval Lodge
Maloka Sandoval Lodge
#2 of 4 in Tambopata National Reserve
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alto Tambopata Lodge
Alto Tambopata Lodge
#1 of 1 in Filadelfia
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manu Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manu Wildlife Center

Address: At the Confluence Of the Manu And Alto Madre de Dios Rivers, Manu National Park 17700, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Manu National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Manu National Park
Price Range: £821 - £823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manu Wildlife Center 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is located in a private, 16,190 ha./40,000-Acre rain forest reserve adjacent to the one million-acre protected area named the "Amarakaeri Reserved Zone". Visitors will welcome the amenities and comfort of this lodge, the only one in the Manu lowlands with roomy, private bungalows, en suite private bathrooms and tiled, hot water showers, especially if they are arriving from the rustic simplicity of Manu National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Manu Wildlife Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manu Wildlife Centre Hotel Manu National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing