We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Candles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candles Hotel
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

i will highly recommend it , as i very much enjoyed being here, the staff was very helpful , very friendly,
and the rooms were very good , i was with my friends, we all liked the hotel
we will give it 5 out of 5

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank faroukh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliveTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Candles Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thankyou indeed that you like our hotel and were happy with , we will be glad to wlecome you and your friends again at our property

REEMA ANAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    56
    46
    17
    11
See reviews for
24
67
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Ignore the fancy facade and tricked out lobby - it`s all a con. The entire accommodation is in a state of disrepair. Our first room the ac did not work. Changed to another and returned that evening to find the bathroom awash with water coming up from a drain. Changed again but once more the ac did not work. Changed for the fourth time in one day. The door knob and lock were hanging off but we were too tired to complain again. Even the lift was a hazard because it came to rest on each floor about 15cm above its required level.
Apart from that the approach to the hotel on foot is so steep it`s best to take a taxi!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Algun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candles H, Guest Relations Manager at Candles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2016
Dear Algun,

Thank you for your review and bring these things to our attentions. There is always room for improvement. We have had ongoing renovation and maintenance since your last visit. We hope to see you again in the future for us to improve your opinion of us.

All the best,
Candles Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed here as part of a group tour, so I don't know the price, but it is probably one of the cheaper hotels this close to the entrance to Petra. Short walk to the entrance and also to the little overpriced markets, restaurants and gift shops on the main drag. If you can find a better rated hotel for the same price, then go there, otherwise this was adequate as we spent most of our time in Petra not hanging around the hotel. A mosque is next door, but the call to prayer recording did not get played at night luckily. Elevator didn't work when we were there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoggerLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candles H, Guest Relations Manager at Candles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2016
Dear JoggerLA,

Thank you for your review and bring these things to our attentions. There is always room for improvement. We have had ongoing renovation and maintenance since your last visit. We appreciate your opinion we hope in the future we will improve our appearance. We hope that we can see you again soon.

All the best,
Candles Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

This was probably a nice hotel... 30 years ago. Now it is a bit run down, the appliances were either broken or working poorly. Breakfast was less-than -average. The rates were quite high (90 JD for a triple room!!) but I guess we paid for the location right near the entrance to Petra.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindacarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candles H, Manager at Candles Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2015
Dear Linda Carolina,

I hope you are well. I am sorry to hear you did't like Candles Hotel in 2010. I would like to invite you to come to Candles Hotel and see our new look. We have renovated the hotel since your last visit. The time of your last visit was during peak season so you were given peak season rates. Please we would like to be given the opportunity to change your view about us. We hope to see you again in Petra.

All the best,
Abdallah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edom Hotel Petra
Edom Hotel Petra
#28 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#20 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Home Hotel- Petra
My Home Hotel- Petra
#15 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candles Hotel

Property: Candles Hotel
Address: PO Box 181 | 200M Off The Entrance of Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Candles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three-star hotel of charm Ideally located in Wadi Musa a beautifully restored historic city. With the atmosphere of freedom, clearness and calmness. The hotel is situated in 300 meters from the main entrance of the ancient Lost City of Petra the new 7 wonders of the world.The hotel's location, will make it easy to conduct your activities, whether for tourism or pleasure. You are just a few minutes away, stroll from Market Circle, the local Centre. The hotel has an exceptional location at the hill foot (facing one of the most picturesque views). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Candles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candles Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing