We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Valley Stars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valley Stars Inn
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Tewkesbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been more helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Valley Stars doesn't pretend to be anything smart or sophisticated but it fitted our bill brilliantly (once we found it in the dark!). The room was quite basic (and i agree that the wiring probably left a bit to be desired - but in my experience that is pretty much the norm outside Europe) but everything was clean and though the water was distinctly tepid late at night it was very hot the next morning. The staff could not have been nicer or more welcoming with Ibrahim going out of his way to advise us on somewhere to stay the following night and using his own phone to book us in. Breakfast was delicious. All in all, I would certainly recommend it to anybody looking for good value accommodation in Wadi Musa.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallopinggranny206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    71
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
80
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I just got back from Petra last week. We stayed here for 1 night.
We were greeted with great hospitality by the owner. He was friendly, resourceful, and just made you feel at home. It felt like we were staying with friends and not checking into some cheap hotel.

The room itself was very basic. However, it was clean and comfortable. We were so tired from hiking Petra all day that we really did not need any amenities besides a comfy bed.

I would recommend this place for anyone going to Petra and I would definitely stay here again if we ever go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilysWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Initial impression was not good, the Valley Stars is rather tatty looking. We were given a very warm welcome by the owner followed by some excellent advice on an itinerary for our visit to Petra.
The room was however very basic and pretty poor quality. The wiring in the building was also pretty poor, in fact - scary.
Breakfast was good and all the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
All in all, we were unimpressed and find it hard to believe that it is rated so high on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnOxfordCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The staff here really makes you feel welcome and make your stay at Petra as comfortable and convenient as possible. They go out of their way to make sure you are happy. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajera54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Danmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

From the moment I arrived at the hotel till I left I felt the kindness and helpfulness from the hotel staff. The hotel has a great atmosphere and we spend a lot of time in the lobby area talking to the very friendly manager Ibrahim and the other guests. The service was excellent and we could always get lots of useful information. The breakfast was good and there was a free shuttle bus to Petra everyday. I felt that the manager would do everything to make my stay great and rememberable.
I would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers. It is great value, VERY friendly and helpful staff and you feel very welcome.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Anja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Firstly we chose this hotel because it was so reasonably priced, as soon as we arrived the previous guest who were leaving we're telling how lovely and helpful the staff were, especially ibrahim, and they were so right.
From giving us info on best places to eat, and those to avoid, bringing us a DVD player to our room to going with us to find a place to get our tired pumped, Ibrahim went above and beyond to help us. All this as well as chatting politics and finding out really interesting facts about jordan, this place was amazing. Buffet breakfast was also good with nice choice and free tea and coffee available, once per day. Definitely give this place a try, Petra is amazing and staying in a welcoming relaxing place after all the walking makes it so much the better experience. Thanks ibrahim and mahmoud.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Jordan is a lovely country and Petra is a site everyone must visit at least once in their life. The people are warm, and the owners of ValleyStars Inn in particular made us feel very much at home. My three-year-old daughter had a wonderful time with the family, and owner Ibrahim Nawafleh and his family went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. So much so that my daughter was very upset when we packed up to leave.
Ibrahim personally helped in organising meals as per our requirements as well as our transport to and from the site. The rooms were clean, the service was warm and friendly and I highly recommend a stay here to get a feel of the local hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#14 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Al Anbat Midtown Hotel
Al Anbat Midtown Hotel
#13 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun Set Hotel
Sun Set Hotel
#27 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Petra Nights Hotel
Petra Nights Hotel
#38 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings' Way Hotel
Kings' Way Hotel
#30 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Stars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Stars Inn

Property: Valley Stars Inn
Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 88, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Stars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SERVICES: Breakfast: A complimentary continental breakfast is served in the dining room from 6.30 am to 10.00 am daily. Shuttle Service to the Ancient City of Petra. We offer a complimentary shuttle service to the main entry gates daily departing at:• 7.00 am• 8:30 am. Please meet in reception approximately 5 minutes prior to departure. We also offer a complimentary pick up service at:• 3.00 pm• 6.00 pm. Your driver will advise you of the appropriate pick up location. As a courtesy to all guests, please ensure that you are on time for pick up. As we appreciate that you may wish to spend more time enjoying the historic Ancient City whilst you are there and not rush to meet the courtesy bus, should you wish to make your own way back to the VSI, taxis are available at a small cost. We can advise you what a taxi fare should cost so that you can negotiate this with your driver before the commencement of your journey. Depending on seasonality we may be able to offer flexible drop off and pick up times. Please speak to our driver who will advise if he is able to accommodate your request. Customised Tour Service: As we appreciate that coordinating transport, accommodation, and other tour requirements can be tiring and often frustrating, we can personally customize and arrange your tour to suit your requirements. With our local knowledge we will ensure that you receive the best service and value for money. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance to you and we will do our best to meet your requests as well as budget. Taxi Service: We can arrange a 24 hour taxi service to take you anywhere within Jordan. Restaurant: During peak seasons (15 September to 15 November and 1 March to 15 May) we offer affordable, delicious and traditional Jordanian homecooked meals to be enjoyed in either our dining room or on the roof terrace. Please contact reception to confirm whether our restaurant is open during your stay. Alcoholic Beverages: Alcohol is not available however please feel free to bring your own to drink at the hotel. Complimentary Tea and Coffee (one per guest per day). If you would like to enjoy a complimentary traditional tea or Turkish coffee in our lounge, please ask a member of our staff at reception who would be delighted to make your one. Safety Deposit Boxes: Safety deposit boxes are available at reception for the security of your valuables. Please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Packed Lunch: If you would like us to prepare a packed lunch for you at a small cost, please contact reception before 8 pm the night before. Please also advise us the time of morning that you will be requiring your lunch to be made available to you. Internet and WIFI service: We offer a free high speed internet service and WIFI in the reception area. Please contact a member of staff who will be able to assist in setting you up. Drinking Water: Bottled water is available in reception for 1JD per 2 litre bottle. Please contact a member of staff who will be able to assist you. If you would like us to freeze a bottle of water for you so that it can stay cool during your tour or onward journey, please advise us the day before you require it. Postcards: A variety of postcards are available to be purchased in reception. The cost is 5 postcards for 1JD. Laundry: We can offer a same day dry cleaning and laundry service for items delivered to reception before 11.00 am. Items will be returned by 4.00 pm and can be collected at reception. Iron: Please contact reception if you require an iron. As a courtesy to our guests, please return to reception after use or call reception to collect from your room. Hairdryer: Please contact reception if you require a hairdryer. As a courtesy to our guests, please return to reception after use or call reception to collect from your room. DVDs: Should you wish to enjoy watching a DVD please advice a member of staff who will be able to install a DVD player in your room. We have a small selection of DVD movies in reception for you to choose from. Please note that our DVD player is available on a first in first served basis and may not be available upon request. Adapter: Should you require an adapter, please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Check Out: Check out is 12.00 pm. Luggage Storage: Luggage storage is available on the day of your departure from the hotel. Should you require assistance carrying your luggage from your room, please contact reception. TOURIST INFORMATION: Things to do and see. Visit the Ancient City of Petra by Day2. Visit the Ancient City of Petra by Night3. Visit the Ancient City of Little Petra4. Enjoy a Turkish bath5. Take a day trip to Ashwbak Castle and Dana natural reserve 6. Take a day trip to Wadi Rum7. Watch one of the amazing sunsets from various location outside of Petra8. Wander around the streets of Wadi Mousa9. Relax on our roof terrace. Distance to: Ancient City of Petra 1.7 km, Ancient City of Little Petra 12 km, Amman 240 km, Dead Sea 270 km, Karak Castle 175 km, Aqaba 130 km, Wadi Rum 110 km, Ancient City of Petra. Opening Hours: Day sessions: 6:30 am till sunset (7 days per week), Night sessions: 8:30 pm to 10:30 pm. Bus Services: Bus services operate to the following places daily. Location Distance Pick Up Approximate cost in JDs Contact for bookings. Amman 3:30 hrs Bus station Around 8JD ReceptionAqaba 2.00 hrs Hotel 5JD ReceptionWadi Rum 2.00 hrs Hotel 5JD ReceptionDead Sea No buses / / /Madaba No buses / / /Maan 30 mins Bus station 1 JD ReceptionBorder Crossing – Aqaba. The border crossing between Aqaba and Eilat (Israel) is opened from 8am to 8 pm daily. Please note that a departure tax is payable on exit from Jordan. Border Crossing – King Hussein Bridge. Please be aware that tourists require a special pre arranged visa to cross at this border. LOCAL AREA INFORMATION: ATM: There are three ATMs located within 400 metres. Please turn right as you exit the hotel. Money Exchange: The nearest money exchange is location 400 metres in the same location as the ATMs. Post Office: The Post Office is located 400 metres from the hotel. Please turn right as you exit the hotel. The Post Office is located in the Petra Authority Region Building on the left side of the road. You need to walk up the stairs and turn right. Please note that should you wish to send packages you will need to provide your own packaging as this cannot be purchased from the post office. Pharmacy: A pharmacy is located 300 metres from the hotel. Turn right as you exit the hotel and the pharmacy is on your right.Phone cards: Phone cards can be purchased from any phone shop within the town area and you may use it at the hotel without any charge. Bus Station: The bus station is located 350 metres from the hotel. Restaurants For recommendations on local restaurants, please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Please enjoy your stay with us. Kind regards Ibrahim, Hotel Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Valley Stars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Stars Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Hotel Valley Stars
Valley Stars Inn Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing