We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I suppose it depends on your perspective”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison Hotel Petra
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I suppose it depends on your perspective”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

If you are a local Badhul, living in a goat hair tent, with no running water, this hotel is probably the height of luxury. But I am a spoilt western woman who expects a few basics necessities from a hotel. Like bed sheets that fit and keep the mattress covered all night. I don't like ending up on a bare mattress, it makes me worry about scabies and bed bugs. I also like a shower that has water in it, and a bath plug, and a safe deposit box in my room and a hairdryer. Spoilt I know, but blame my parents.

However, after a night at the Feynan Eco Lodge I was thrilled to discover working air con and no flies on the food.

What this hotel does have is quick and easy access to the Petra site and many restaurants. Petra is enormous and after 8 hours walking around ( and climbing up) the site, you will be all too pleased to find that your hotel is just outside the gate to Petra, that you can walk to a relaxing hammam in 5 minutes, likewise find a restaurant to eat in.

Don't write this hotel off just because it isn't perfect and the staff need to be asked twice and then probably still won't find you what you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boswarthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    204
    139
    71
    18
See reviews for
84
209
85
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We loved our 4 nights at La Maison, just a short walk from the entrance to Petra. The hotel has a lovely roof top bar, which serves wine and beer and offers a limited grilled menu.

This is a very clean hotel with very helpful staff. There are many good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is a very close walk from the entrance to Petra and the street with all the restaurants and shops. The staff are very welcoming and friendly.
As for the rooms, don't expect much.. The beds are comfortable but the design and quality are very low. The bathroom was a mess though, the shower head was way too low and splashed the whole bathroom. But if you are only there to sleep the night and get back to exploring Petra then it's alright i guess..
Important note: Get some food with you! Breakfast wasn't edible and don't even try the tea or coffee (might've been boiling for days)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel was ok with few issues with the cleanliness of the bedding and the pillows. The location of this hotel is very good, very near to the petra site. We got a bad room for first night but next day the manager shifted to a much better room so I can suggest guest to ask for a good room as all rooms are not same.

Overall a nice place to stay to enjoy petra.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I was slightly apprehensive abt my stay due to the reviews on trip advisor. However, I'm pleased to say that my stay in Room 302 was ideal. There was hot water within seconds, the place was clean and they allowed us to check out late. They provided hot water for our instant coffee at the restaurant as well. Location was fantastic too! Staff was helpful in booking taxis.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LimErnHuiJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is well placed,near visitors center behind movenpick hotel,rooms are great,toilet clean,hot water available,comfy beds,ok breakfast ,good staff. Only drawback- No air conditioning, stayed 2 days and it worked for jus few hrs in a day,so unless ur visiting during winter, no point staying here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The best part about the hotel was that it was very close to the Petra entrance. Otherwise, the hotel is very basic, with small, worn-out rooms. Our bathroom had a nasty sewage odor. We had booked through Agoda a double room, but we mistakenly chose occupancy by 1 person. When we arrived to the hotel they made us pay the rack rate difference (+$20) for the second person to stay, even though we had booked a double room, and online the price difference between occupancy by 1 or 2 people was minimal. So this is a sign that the front desk staff was not at all accommodating to our mistake and used the opportunity to price gouge us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#22 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edom Hotel Petra
Edom Hotel Petra
#28 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Hotel Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel Petra

Property: La Maison Hotel Petra
Address: Tourism Street | Behind Movenpick Resort Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison Hotel Petra 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enthralling unique spot , five minutes walking distance from the Jordanian world wonder ; the Red Rose City of Petra , and not far from the Mövenpick RESORT PETRA - . La Maison Hotel - Petra has set up an upscale identity after a complete renovation to create a modern 3 starts Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison Hotel Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing