We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It was a perfect location right nextvto the Petra visitor entrance. The breakfast was amazing as well with a wide selection. We had a nice big breakfast before we set out to tour Petra. we would definitely book at the same place the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

On arrival at Petra guest house, you are greated by the stunning bar and outside dining courtyard, built into the rock walls. It's located right beside the new petra visitor centre, and by the main gate. The hotel is fresh, modern and clean in the public areas and the rooms, which are really nice. The quality of the building finishes at this hotel make it somewhere above a 4-5 star. We stayed in the new hotel accommodation, but there is motel style units outside, which seemed to be part of the old establishment and need upgrading to the standard of the new building. The staff are warm and friendly from the front desk, to room attendants to the food and beverage staff, which is always a good sign. The restaurant is well set up with good food and great service, although they only seemed to have a full buffet on the menu. The outside courtyard was a beautiful place to chill and unwind after spending the day inside petra. wifi was $5 a day, but it worked well. There are also lots of restaurants within 5minutes walk if your keen to venture away from the hotel. I highly recommend the quality of room and service at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the new inside hotel, rather than the old motel units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingsley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at the Guest House by Crowne Plaza which was in no way a Crowne Plaza quality establishment but still o.k. There were two sections to the hotel, one was much newer than the section we stayed in. Yes, the rooms are looking tired as advised by other reviewers and our fridge did not work. We reported this on departure so don't know if it was fixed. Housekeeping were slack. An empty glass was sitting on the terrace near our room when we arrived and was still there on our departure two days later and our free water was delivered after 3pm and was hot from being in the sun. We couldn't cool it because our fridge did not work. On the day we checked out the housekeeping guy stood outside our door hours before check-out time. We saw him walk past our door but he didn't knock. In the end my husband opened the door and asked what he wanted...He didn't have a reason for being there. It was really creepy. Breakfast buffet was great.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Quicker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Quicker5,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the inconvenience the service you received from our hotel may have caused. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent; at the entrance of Petra site. The breakfast was average and standard; nothing special. The view from this hotel, especially very early in the morning, was very special; reddish & brownish :-) There was really a quite big accident with our group when the hotel staff forgot to provide the requested wake up calls to our group members while we needed to depart early. Consequently, almost all the group members were late for breakfast and needed to take their breakfast in hurry :-( The arrangement of the room numbers is also quite confusing.

Room Tip: Don't rely on the wake up call service from the hotel and take your time to find your room as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Octovianus G,

Thank you for sharing your experienced about your stay with us. We assure you that we are committed to delivering quality in all aspects of the guest experience and appreciate your feedback. We apologize if the hotel failed to meet your expectations particularly with the level of staff service and breakfast. Thank you for your feedback as it informs us of ways in which we may better serve our guests to further guest satisfaction. We do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very nice hotel, very close to the main entrance of Petra. Services are good, rooms are excellent. Breakfast (included) is average. Overall food/restaurant quality is slightly above average. Keep in mind that there are many good hotels/motels in Petra/Wadi Musa so if you're willing to walk 10-20 minutes to the main gate you could save a lot. The Cave Bar (2000 years old bar) is a totally unique experience that you must see.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ipm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I was not a guest here but at the Edom hotel close by. I went to the cave bar which is very special and worth a visit. We loved the shisha, attentive staff and the friendly manager, however the local dj was a bit rude and a smart Alec towards tourists. I saw the lobby and public areas of the hotel and was very impressed. If the renovation is complete, I would not hesitate to book this lovely hotel. If you tire of the food, mystic pizza next to the mivenpick is fantastic and reasonable!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intheTDOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I did not stay at this hotel. But did eat lunch there. The mezza and mixed grill buffet was fine ans safe, if unexciting. Perfect for your average tourist,but more than double what you'd pay for similar quality food in the rest of Wadi Musa (Petra)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeehoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Yankeehoya,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry you did not find the price of the to your liking. It is our goal to consistently ensure our quality of food and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you are with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
17.7 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,017 reviews
18.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
949 reviews
18.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
406 reviews
17.2 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
166 reviews
17.5 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Petra

Address: PO Box 30, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: £86 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Petra 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovations. Set against a breathtaking view of Petra mountains lays the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra. Besides the unique view provided from the hotel's patio of the dramatic Petra Mountains, the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra is only steps away from the visitor's entrance to the siq and the old city with its world famous archaeological sites. Crowne Plaza Resort Petra offers 147 rooms including 3 suites and 30 superior rooms. 31 hillside chalets tucked into the Petra rock face overlooking the visitor's entrance the site. Facilities include: Heated outdoor swimming pool and 3 Restaurants, lobby bar, evening cocktail lounge with dance floor, conference room, 2000 year old 'Nabatean Tomb' the Cave Bar is fronted with a large piazza ideal for groups and incentive gatherings with space to cater for up to 200 guests are some of our services, dining & entertainments. Don't miss out visiting The Basin Restaurant in the old city with its exceptional settings for lunch. Outside catering can be arranged by our staff in a variety of unique locations outside the hotel, and local entertainment will bring traditional flavor to your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Crowne Plaza Hotel Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing