We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for a budget travelers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Rashid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Al Rashid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great value for a budget travelers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We spent one night in a double room and it was everything we needed. Don't expect anything special, the room is just fine with ac, flat tv, cabin shower. However you probably are not going to spend a lot of time in it.
Breakfast is typical jordanian.
The best thing we had, was the hospitality and kindness of the staff.
It reflected in all the jordanians we came across.

There is a great sandwich bar just in front of the hotel.

Tips for the tour
Petra sights: go very early, they open at 0645..you are not going to find other tourists and mostly you will get the best lights walking through the siq reaching the treasury and you are not going to suffer the extreme heat from the sun.

Dead Sea: we went to Oh Beach, great place, nice swimming pools and access to the beach (rocks only)! Try to book in adancevand you can save 10 JD on the entrance fee.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    170
    39
    5
    3
See reviews for
69
200
78
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Perfectly good budget option for visiting Petra.
Relatively helpful staff.
Basic but fine breakfast.
Would stay here again without hesitation, for the price.
Staff seemed a little standoffish, despite fulfilling their functions perfectly well.
You can hear the morning prayer broadcast - just as everywhere in Petra
Wifi poor/non-existent in rooms (but not what you visit Petra for, presumably).
Rooms could be a touch cleaner (a few long hairs on the towels and bedsheets...at least they weren't short hairs!).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms at the back of the hotel, which are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikkeli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

excellent value for money, far better than another hote I stayed in at far more than double the cost. The room was not large (though I was on my own, so not a problem - and quite ok for two). Even had free internet in the room which worked well. Very good breakfast, more than I could eat.. Very helpful staff. I had tried to get into another hotel nearer the gate to Petra, but glad I stayed here - the walk up isnt too bad at all, less than 15 mins. And plenty of taxis if you want one

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRuk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Near to small stores and foods are all nearby, and about 2 - 5 minutes driving to Petra entrance. Parking might be a problem but you just need to park in front of the hotel. The rooms quality is not so good - the air conditioning is not working and making noise at night, the windows cannot be locked, the light bulb went off during the date time. However, the services is good as they have fixed everything for us immediately.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gradypoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a good, clean, budget hotel right in the centre of Wadi Musa. It's quite a walk to get to Petra - downhill going but you might want to get a taxi to come back! We had a rental car so not a problem. Parking is in the street but we always managed to find a space. Didn't find noise a problem at all.

Some good restaurants close by. The room we had was not large but adequate. We stayed two nights. Breakfast is the standard fare you get in all budget hotels in Jordan! They had instant coffee but would make us Turkish coffee if we asked. Staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank untakenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Affordable and quite clean
Ok breakfast (simpler than most places we stayed in Jordan or Israel)
Good service
Sizable room
Honest hotel staff
Conveniently in town with some restaurants and small shops and ATM nearby

Cons:
Can be noisy (location is in a very noisy part of town)
Towels don't seem to be changed, just refolded
Bathroom needs renovations and better fixtures
Poor location away from Petra site itself (15 min downhill walk to visitors centre; 20-30 min walk very uphill back)

Tips:
Taxi ride to or from Petra should not be more than 5 JD (ask hotel staff)
If close proximity to Petra is desired, do not stay here.

Overall: Stay was satisfactory for the price, but I would pay more to stay closer to Petra in future as hiking through Petra for 1-2 days can be exhausting.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CPRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed in AL Rashid Hotel for 4 nights with my wife , the staff was great particular Lieth in front desk who organized for us great tour in Wadi Rum with overnight and he was ready to help us for everything .
our room was clean with modern bathroom and box shower , hot water available 24 hours ,internet Wi-Fi free with strong signal and fast , many options in breakfast .
this was best hotel during out tour in Jordan , the price was so fair with good service .

highly recommend

Alexander and Amy

Room Tip: room 308 very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.7 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.6 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#6 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#18 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#10 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Rashid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Rashid Hotel

Property: Al Rashid Hotel
Address: Tourism Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Al Rashid Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Located in the heart of the city our guests can enjoy local Bedouine life and take a stroll through shopping venues, restaurants or cafés. Turkish bath it is only a 1 minute away and different banks, doctors and pharmacies are also just around the corner. • Al Rashid Hotel offers modern rooms with air-condition, heating and Satellite flat-screen TV. All rooms are fitted with comfortable nice furniture and functional private bathrooms with hot water for 24-hours, excellent water pressure, private towels and hairdryer. The rooms have recently been refurbished. • Free Internet Wi-Fi is available in the whole building and in all rooms. • Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner are served daily in our spacious restaurant. Enjoy our local and international meals. • The gate of Petra ruins is just a 10-15 minutes’ walk from the hotel. • Al Rashid offers transportation on low costs over whole Jordan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Al Rashid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Rashid Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing