We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay but disappointing food”
Review of Kings' Way Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kings' Way Hotel
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis at this hotel for one night only. As part of a group I understand you don't get the best rooms. Our room was clean and comfortable. The food was disappointing both in choice and quality for breakfast and dinner. We had a drink in the bar but there was no atmosphere and it was expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel itself is lovely. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. They gave us dinner, breakfast and a welcome basket with fruit and wine. The food was delicious. When we checked out in the morning, they let us check our bags at the hotel while we toured Petra. The manager offered to let us shower in the hotel after our day of touring in Petra. Unbelievable service!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaS525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is our second time visiting Petra and we have been lucky this time that we stayed in this hotel …every things was excellent since we arrived till we left …the checked in was easy and fast…the rooms are clean and comfortable…the food was appetizing …and the service is wonderful …we are not hesitate to back again and again…

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I'm usually pretty laid-back regarding hotels, but I have to complain about this one. The rooms are old, and the box spring mattresses sag too much - leaving my back sore in the morning. The bed also had cigarette burns and stains over the bedding. The worst part was the shower, which had a rip in the hose so there was no pressure to the shower head. It was late when I noticed this, so I had to tie a towel over the rip. When I checked-out the following morning, I told a worker this and he didn't seem concerned.

Also, the breakfast was disgusting and consisted of overcooked scrambled eggs, canned beans and low-end vienna sausages. The orange juice was made of powdered tang. Disgusting!

There are a few pros, however:
- Wifi was strong and fast, but cost 5 dinar for 24 hours.
- Hotel is far from Petra, but close to the Moses Spring.
- People in this area are lovely and friendly. My boyfriend and I walked around the surrounding area and people were inviting us into their homes. There is a gift shop opposite of the hotel that has cheaper rates than in Petra. Also, the Heritage restaurant next to the hotel is delicious and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had a great experience from all the staff, extremely service minded and helpful, always available. They definitely exceeded our expectations when it comes to customer service.

The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. Location is good, about 5 minutes by car to Petra. Even if you haven't got a rental car they offer a 2 dinar ride from the hotel to the site of Petra.

We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. For the price you pay this is a good value for money.

We wish you s good holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

It is Christmas eve and we have experienced a wonderful day in Petra. Our Hotel has bent over backwards to make our stay as pleasurable as our visit to ancient Petra. This Hotel is under new management and they are acutely aware of the competition here in Petra, so they go the extra mile. The man who runs the restaurant is Eman and he made us feel so welcome. We had a wonderful time, our meal consisted of roast beef and grilled fish were excellent and the local red wine... Saint George Zumot was very tasty... The whole experience was great. We only stayed one night and it was a really good call on our part, very good value for the dollar.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I would like to review my actual stay in this hotel but sadly cannot. What I can comment on is our experience with this hotel.

Having booked way ahead my girlfriend decided to check a couple of days before hand to make sure that everything was ok. She recieved a confirmation back saying that the booking was confirmed however when we arrived at the hotel late after a long drive through Jordan we arrived to find that the hotel had no lights or heating on and there was no-one other than a couple of men standing around a electric heater in the lobby!

If that wasn't daunting, the man who served us (complete with our booking email) didn't really understand our English let alone our frustration and he was constantly on the phone to his boss. This exchange lasted for about an hour and a half. All we wanted to do at that point was to find a nice warm hotel room and turn in for the night!

Eventually we were booked into the Crown Plaza, however the person demanded us to pay them rather than the other hotel. I initially refused but later gave in, subsequently finding out that the card machine wasn't working either! After that I decided that I couldn't trust these men so told them that we would go and check in at the Crown Plaza and then return with the money, not the other way around.

Eventually it was all sorted but after a long day we lost about 3 hours of our evening! Stay at the Crown Plaza instead it was fantastic and the closest hotel to the ruins!

I wouldn't trust some of the reviews of this hotel, it is probably the furthest hotel from the entrance to the Petra ruins.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teege84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsway_Petra, Owner at Kings' Way Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2011

We had an unexpected drop in our reservations a few days before your arrival, so it was decided by my staff to transfer the few bookings that we had for this date to the Crowne Plaza Hotel, which is a 5 star property, rather than having clients stay in a large hotel feeling that they were alone. It was a mistake on our part not to have informed you and we did in the end have you stay at a 5 star hotel with out paying a difference. We hope that next time you come to Petra we will have the chance of serving you and that the hotel will be welcoming to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.4 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,026 reviews
1.1 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Petra
Movenpick Resort Petra
#6 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
533 reviews
0 mi away
Peace Way Hotel
Peace Way Hotel
#12 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings' Way Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings' Way Hotel

Address: Main Highway Petra / Amman | Opposite Moses Springs, Petra - Wadi Musa 71, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: £67 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings' Way Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located about 3.5KM from the main entrance to Petra. Easy access to the hotel across the street from the historic Moses Springs mentioned in the bible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings' Way Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Way Golden Tulip
Petra / Wadi Musa Golden Tulip
Kings' Way Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing