We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Resort Petra
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Petra Moon Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Edom Hotel Petra(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Hotel Petra(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Set Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candles Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petra Palace Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Petra Guest house Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elgee Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
Al Anbat III(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Anbat Midtown Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,539)
Filter reviews
3,539 results
Traveller rating
1,548
1,263
498
154
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,548
1,263
498
154
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick ice creamroof gardenjunior suitebuffet restaurantperfect locationrooftop barsteam roommain restaurantmini bardead seacommon areasclosest hotelafter a long daymain entrancebreakfast and dinnerlong walkwadi rum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,329 - 2,334 of 3,539 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We had been looking forward to staying at this Hotel based upon the good reviews here but, frankly, were underwhelmed. On arrival the one front of house person took no less than 10 phone calls whilst very slowly checking us in. A query about why we were in a twin room (as a married couple travelling) went unanswered in the face of more calls and we gave up. Upon entry to the room (Room 249) the first thing to hit us, almost literally, was a a septic smell emanating from the bathroom. It remained throughout our stay. Wanting to get to Petra site early the next day we called to book a wake up call. No call was received. The last event that really underwhelemd us was an experience in the bar on our second night when we appeared to be completely invisible to the waiting staff who chose to clean tables and chat rather than ask us for our order. We opted to leave and that finally got their attention with one barman following us out asking "What is your problem?" in a most surly tone. On the plus side, a great location, breakfast is fine if unimaginative and the beds are comfortable. In summary, certainly an adequate and convenient base from which to see Petra but nothing to rave about.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view with a balcony
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear ValuedGuest,,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Movenpick Resort Petra . we have taken note of the remarks you have pointed out and your comments have been discussed with the departments concerned and the persons in charge are requested to take immediate action .

We thank you again for bringing the matters to our attention as we always strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests' comfort

Yours sincerely,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

excellent hotel, friendly and welcoming staff. Very clean. within a minutes walk to the entrance to Petra. excellent 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennieCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to draft a review regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Excellent hotel in a wonderful location. The service was perfect and the room was perfect.
The food was very good. All the staff was very kind.The best hotel I have ever been in my life.
The hotel is very close to Visitor Centre of Petra and you don't need taxi or shuttle to enter.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra. We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations with our service and facility. We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. We sincerely hope to see you again during your next trip to Jordan!

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We ended up at this hotel by chance. We had booked at the Movenpick Nabatean Castle just out of town but when we arrived at that hotel we found that it had been closed for remodelling and our reservation had been transferred to this hotel, the Movenpick Petra. At first I was annoyed but within minutes after arrival I was thrilled to be at this hotel instead. As you can tell from other reviews the location cannot be beat....literally minutes outside the gate to Petra. It is also at the foot of Tourist Road which is convenient for the shops.

Overall the hotel has a magnificent style. It's not a cookie cutter hotel and I felt like I was in a one-of-a-kind Jordanian guest house. The restaurants seemed limited (one buffet, one upscale) but the buffet was so good (and reasonably priced) we ate there every night. Breakfast buffet was equally delicious. Normally I don't care about hotel food because I would rather venture out but we were here for jiking at Petra....so a good breakfast was important and easy availability to dinner was important after a day of walking.

We didn't use the pool due to weather but it looked very inviting.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReddPupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rania b, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Moevenpick Resort Petra.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services provided.

Your encouraging remarks have of course also been shared with the executive team and posted on our employees’ notice board. Comments such as yours are a great motivation to the team!

Thanking you for your patronage and hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back anytime soon, I remain,

Best regards,

Rania Bawalsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The Hotel has the Most Perfect Location to the Entrance.everything is in walking distance. The Rooms are spacious. Food and Service are excellent. The staff are very polite and well Trained. High Security everywhere. Sometimes a Bit too much but man be necessary. Excellent Breakfast Buffet.Dinner is also very Varied, Catering to all tastes.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joytravellervienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rania b, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are very glad that you had such an excellent stay! The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great. I will be sure to share your kind comments with them.
We sincerely hope to see you again during your next trip to Jordan!

Best regards,

Rania Bawalsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews