We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grat Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a junior suite. The room was a reasonable size but the bathroom was small with the shower over the bath which can be a little awkward getting in and out. We also had a small balcony overlooking the back of the hotel. The public areas of the hotel were nicely decorated. We had dinner in the a la carte restaurant both nights and found the food to be quite good. The roof top bar is very nice and we had booked the BBQ dinner here for our second night but unfortunately it rained so the roof top was closed. Breakfast was a typical buffet. The lobby lounge and bar area were also very nice. There were a couple of good shops in their shopping arcade.The main plus for this hotel is location, across the road from the entrance to Petra! We found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunandsnowbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

My team and were happy to read that we succeeded in meeting & exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.

Your kind feedback is a source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,459 of 3,451 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here two nights as part of a small tour group. After a tiring day at Petra, you can't beat the location. The food at the buffet was good and there was a big selection. It is open late, 9pm I think, which was appreciated by our group because our arrival was delayed. The pool is really nice and peaceful and service was attentive. They provide you with large towels as well. Our only complaint was that we got a room that had a fairly worn-looking bathroom and the air conditioning never got the room very cool no matter what setting we tried. Maybe our room hadn't been renovated yet. Someone else in our group got a fantastic room with an Ottoman type sitting area and wooden balcony overlooking the pretty interior courtyard. Since we all paid the same high price to stay here, it was just the luck of the draw. We appreciated the nice fridge though.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. There doesn't seem to be a view from here, but the rooms with the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemur_chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comments and as they are an invaluable source to review our performance, I have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements in these areas.

We are hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel with a perfect position right at the entrance to Petra. Professional and friendly staff, very large spacious rooms. Stunning bar off the lobby as well as a fabulous roof top bar. Wide choice of breakfast items on the buffet, terrific BBQ on the rooftop or again buffet dinner in the restaurant. The hotel also has an excellent gift shop that supports local trade. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbchalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

HOSPITALITY AND COURTESY
The staff is friendly and helpful. Actually in the busiest moments the reception gets a little 'slow, but it is quite normal. Good idea the ice cream of welcome for the kids!
ROOMS AND SERVICES
Comfortable and clean. Wi-fi is ok, but the second day we couldn’t access and the reception give us another password (question for the manager: you have to change the password every day, or you can keep the same for all your stay?)
BREAKFAST
Plentiful and good variety of choice. The transparent juice squeezer is very practical and fun to see in operation
DINNER
Prices over the average
POOL
Nice and great to cool off from the hot. The heating should be increased especially when the sun does not reach the pool side.
LOCATION
Undoubtedly the biggest asset of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eibhleann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel facilities, services provided and dining options met and exceeded your expectations.

The answer to your question in regards to the wifi access, yes it has to be changed on daily basis.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel was top notch including a lovely pool and rooftop dining terrace/bar with lovely reviews. It was an oasis of luxury after a full day of amazing hiking. Fully recommend. The location is wonderful - right across from visitors center and entrance to Petra.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonParisRoam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

My team and were happy to read that we succeeded in meeting & exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.

Your kind feedback is a source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Walking into the lobby of this hotel is a treat. It's organized with a central garden lobby which is calm and lovely. The staff was extremely friendly, but efficient and had us in our rooms within just a few minutes.

And the rooms themselves were spacious, with a great and powerful shower -- greatly appreciated to get the sand off after spending the day hiking in Petra.

This is the closest hotel to the Petra visitor's center -- and that is key to getting an early start when visiting.

Definitely get the breakfast option if it is offered. Everything you can think of is there. And they have their own pastry chef at the hotel who does amazing breakfast cakes and croissants. However, we would recommend not getting the set dinner option, as there is very good food at the hotel's own French restaurant, as well as many kinds of local food very near the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvaS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing such an explicit review of your recent stay on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I am a big fan of the Movenpick hotel chain and love their ice cream. This hotel had luxurious and comfortable rooms, a nice pool area, sauna, and great food. Service and check in were very friendly and helpful. Also, the location can't be beat. It is literally across the street from the ticket desk/Petra entrance.

The only drawback was that there was a VERY loud street musician who showcased how thin the walls were. We complained and were told there wasn't much they could do about it. This is a shame because people generally get up early to tour Petra. Loud music at 11pm is not welcome. If you want to stay here and know you need to get up early, please ask for a room that doesn't face the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkeith03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We have taken note of your comment which, of course, beyond our control.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,076 reviews
0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#6 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: £111 - £710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing