We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Don't expect any service at this location property. Believe me, Petra is amazing marvelous place where you might want to spend a night or two. But this hotel, the best in the area, is poor. Expensive, but dull. Big, but empty. No SPA. No service, there are guys who don't know the word "be polite". You can't feel yourself as a guest, just a next visitor. I had to ask even for water every time. As a Executive suite guest, btw.
Breakfast is slow, okay for 3 star property.
Nothing after 10pm.
Go for overnight, no more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

We have taken care of your comments and as they are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests, I have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,274)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Resort Petra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,302 - 1,308 of 3,274 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

The staff were excellent, even before we arrived they organised transfers from Amman, ensured we had shower facilities when we arrived early before our room was ready, and looked after us for the two days we were there. It is located just next to the gates to Petra making it very convenient. I don't usually like to eat where I am staying, but the roof top restaurant and BBQ dinner were fantastic. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curly062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent two nights in the hotel with one full day in Petra site. We were so happy to have chosen this hotel as it is very close to the visitor center and after 8 hours of walking/climbing in the sun it was perfect to jump in ghd shower! Everyyhing was perfect in the room and the lobby bar is truly beautiful with its Middle East decor. Also kuddos to the Al Iwan restsurant as its cuisine was delicate and one of the best quality plus the waiter was extremely friendly and of good advise. From what i've seen best hotel in Petra!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SylvoCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a beautiful Hotel just steps from the entry to Petra. Recently spent the day visiting Jordan's amazing wonder of the world...Petra and ended our tour with a delicious lunch at the Movenpick Petra. The lobby is so beautiully decorated in local traditional style it felt like resting in a lavish oasis after our 4 hour walk in Petra. Lunch was excellent, the collosal shrimp amazing....a must try if you visit and the mezza is also very tasty. Sweet lovers will enoy the selection of treats and the presentation is beautiful. If you reside in Jordan a trip to Petra without a stop at Movenpick will be incomplete! Next time, hope to stay over a night or two and definitely Movenpick will be my choice.And the staff are so friendly!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank babekamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra and we thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories on TripAdvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your lunch with us. The team and I are also pleased to know that the hotel facilities and services provided by them were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Moreover it delights us to know that our employees were able to show you our commitment to hospitality.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should you visit Petra again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our stay at this hotel was only one night as part of a personal tour arranged by Jordan Select Tours. The hotel is conveniently situated to the entry walk to Petra and is recommended as a base for this purpose. Because of other commitments, we were only able to organise a stay at this hotel for one night. The preference would be for two nights allowing an overnight stay, a visit to Petra very early the next morning and then another night at the hotel.
Rooms are comfortable and clean but would benefit from a separate shower rather than an over bath model. Generally speaking staff are obliging, helpful and efficient. The only exception was a couple of drink waiters at the rooftop restaurant/bar who for no apparent reason tried out the "superior attitude" approach with corresponding poor service. Dinner in the Al Iwan restaurant was very good. Breakfast was very crowded as a result of the presence at least one coachload of passengers and it was difficult to obtain a pot of tea.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

We have taken care of your comments and as they are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests, I have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great location, you can just walk to Petra from here. I stayed two nights at this hotel in June 2014. Overall experience was good, we had some issues with the toilet in the room, after a few attempts on a busy night for the hotel (a big tour or several tours had just arrived) they fixed it. Response time for anything we needed was prompt. The front desk staffs at times try to talk to you and their colleagues at the same time in two different languages which in general it does not work out that well and usually the guest is the one who feels the lack of attention.

Rooms are nice, on the small side but pleasant. The roof top restaurant is wonderful to have dinner or drinks or just rest. Service is very good at the roof top restaurant. Breakfast was buffet and t was very good. The lobby is decorated beautifully in Arabic style. I will stay at this hotel again but will not go to the Turkish bath (next to the hotel) that they recommend as it was not anything special. The hotel has a very nice store worth a visit and you may actually buy some of the wonderful Persian rugs or one of the many other beautiful pieces there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mali2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities.

We have also taken careful note of your comments and as they are an invaluable source to review our performance, I have shared them with the departments concerned to ensure future improvements and avoid reoccurrences.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra, assuring you in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the Movenpick in March 2014. We spent two full days at Petra. The Movenpick made everything convenient and easy and the accommodations were top notch. The food was good. The service was impeccable! We felt welcomed from the minute we entered. The staff made visiting Petra simple and easy. I love that they provided the tickets there in the hotel, for the candlelight evening ceremony. It gave us a quick and easy start to our adventure at Petra. I recommend this place to everyone, it's right across the street to the entrance of the Petra ruins! So incredibly convenient!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra. We thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories on TripAdvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and services provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Moreover it delights us to know that our employees were able to show you our commitment to hospitality.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should you visit Petra again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,588 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: £99 - £1,075 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing