We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do not go here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Please do not go here”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I was there last summer and just now i decide to write about bec no time and bla bla ) but for next guests i decide to do because was a really bad experience ,hotel looking like a station of trains , front desk not good and not polite ,manager ( woman in that time ) was really rude and not friendly for hotel like that and with that kind of prices and at last have a pool little like in the pit of lion ( and i came from Moevempick of Aqaba that was really fantastic and that they recommended me of them like a good guest ) , only good thing is that stay in front of entrance of Petra but please better do not go there.
Ettore d'Ovidio

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Druso33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your explicit review on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to welcome you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    1,155
    438
    134
    67
See reviews for
756
1,397
187
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Checking in was ok, the employee on the front desk was helpful and was aware of the requests we made through booking.com.

The hotel is a little old, the AC wasn't working in the room we stayed in and in the area were we had breakfast.

There isn't a lot of dinning options available but the roof top was nice, the food was pricey visa-vie quality.

The pool was disappointing, the water wasn't clean and it was really cold.

The hotel location is excellent, closest to the main attraction.

I don't recommend this type of holiday for kids as there is no facilities for kids whatsoever.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LEFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comments, as your comments are invaluable source to review our performance, we will share them with the departments concerned for future improvements in these areas.

We are hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I am day 2 of my stay here and I love it, I wanted to see Petra but not rush around so I chose to stay here for a week which looking at other reviews seems odd, but i found a perfect place to chill, the pool is perfect and as not many people are staying here for more than 2 days so there are always sun beds. The hotel is beautiful and in keeping with its location the staff are lovely and welcoming, the room is beautiful and the beds are so comfy you get a great nights sleep. We used the car service to get here and the chap was lovely even though we were delayed so didn't get in until midnight. I honestly think more people should stay longer it's a perfect place to relax and then pop next door to Petra just perfect. Yes it's a little expensive to eat but it is a five star hotel so it's to be expected ands if it's too much there are restaurants just up the road you can go to. But you cannot beat the bar on the roof here for the view and atmosphere just perfect for a cocktail and they make a very good margarita. Definately chose this hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a junior suite it's not much more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your explicit review on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to welcome you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, UAe
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Yes- a bit expensive- but at the end of long days of walking Petra and climbing to High Point of Sacrifice and wandering down back through Wadi Farasa, it was great to just walk a very short distance to this hotel. I stayed three nights and was lucky to be upgraded. Breakfast buffet included. Staff all welcoming and helpful. I also hired a driver from this hotel to meet me at the airport and drive to Petra via the Dead Sea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_AbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel facilities and services provided met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Enjoyed my stay at the Moevenpick Petra.
Hotel location is perfect! Right next to the entrance to Petra, which is handy seeing as once you have visited Petra, rest assured you will be EXHAUSTED! its nice to know the hotel is just around the corner.

Hotel is a little bit outdated and it could do with a bit of a face lift. But other than that - the service was really good.

Didn't get a chance to relax by the pool area as only stayed here for 2 nights and was in Petra on both days.

Would definitely recommend my friends to stay here mainly due to its ideal location!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank leglobetrotter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us; the hotel facilities and services provided met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

No, we did not stay the night at Movenpick, but that did not mean we could not enter into their Al Maq’aad Bar to relax, unwind and indulge in drink & food after our quest through Petra. The décor at the bar reminded me of the classic Humphrey Bogart film Casa Blanca, except in my reality there were tourists combined with pretentious tourists, instead of expats fleeing Europe or maybe these tourists in Petra were fleeing Europe too.

Well, after waking in the morning to be at the gate entering Petra’s World Heritage site and hiking the whole day, it was a reward and a great treat to go to the Movenpick. After cleaning-up the sweat and smell of our bodies, all we wanted was to relax, eat and drink and Movenpick was able to fulfill all our wants and needs.

The food was great, the drinks were excellent and the staff had been especially friendly. Actually, during my whole trip throughout Jordan, everyone was very friendly to us and we never encountered any problems. I would definitely return to Movenpick again and maybe actually stay the night in their hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your recent visit. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities, dining options and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

May the excitement of finally visiting Petra, or the magic of Jordan, I was enchanted from the moment I stepped in the hotel. Cool and welcoming reception. Kind helpful staff offering cool towels. The room was spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. able. I enjoyed also the dining facilities and found the waiting staff friendly and helpful. The location also is amazing. I only wish I stayed longer or maybe a promise to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Food_che_passione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra. We thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories on TripAdvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and services provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Moreover it delights us to know that our employees were able to show you our commitment to hospitality.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should you visit Petra again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,579 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing