We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Spectacular Petra.”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at the Petra Moon Hotel for 3 nights in early February and would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly be going back on our next trip to amazing Petra.
The hotel is completely a new build so the 3 brothers who own the hotel have been able forward plan in creating this wonderful boutique environment. The guest rooms are large with plenty of room for luggage and comfortable arm chairs to sit in follow a day of touring or to sit and be mesmerized by the fantastic views over looking all of Petra. The beds are very comfortable with clean luxurious bedding and while the pillows were a bit soft for our liking, the staff provided 2 firmer pillow with in minutes of our request. The owners are working on providing a pillow menu so this type of fine detail is just one of the excellent services and genuine concern they have in providing a wonderful stay for all their guests. The bathrooms are fully marbled with clean luxurious towels, the shower is a rain power shower and was a treat after each full day of walking Petra.
The breakfast buffet was ample to set us up for a full day ofwalking, it had all the usual breakfast buffet treats and an egg chef who will cook your eggs anyway you like. On our first morning we mentioned that we prefer wholemeal bread and for the next 2 mornings a freshly baked wholemeal loaf was there to complement the array of bakery choices. It is this type of individual genuine service that was consistent from the time of our first email enquiry to the moment we checked out. Sameer - one of the brothers- was brilliant with all our enquiries and during the booking phase we advised that we are light sleepers an required a quieter room. That is exactly what we were provided a lovely quiet room with an added bonus of views over looking all of Petra. The hotel is in a very quiet location up the hill about 5 minutes walk from the entrance to Petra and does "not" have the road traffic problems like the hotels lower down the hill on the main road.
We arrived into Amman airport from Cairo and Sameer had organised a car to pick us up for the 2 and 1/2 hour drive to Petra.....highly recommend to book this transfer via the hotel !
We booked the same wonderfully informative friendly driver for our trip back to Amman Airport and one of the brothers who is a tourist guide organised with him for a full day of sightseeing. We stopped off at castles, mountain view points with views over Jordan and beyond and for 3 hours at a spa hotel on the dead sea with a fabulous buffet lunch and hot showers after floating on the sea.....a fantastic conclusion to our stay in Jordan !!!
We can only highly recommend the Petra Moon Hotel, they are incredibly genuine and trying so very hard to make this peaceful boutique hotel the best in Petra.

Petra is spectacular...nothing can prepare you for your first view of the Treasury as you walk out of the Siq !!! Our tips would be to allow at least several days and to walk everywhere. The walk up the steps to the High Place of Sacrifices is well worth the effort for the views down over all of Petra.
Spend 'hours' looking around the Royal Tombs and along the Street of Facades to the Theatre and Colonnade Street stopping for lunch at the restaurant at the museum.
Go back the next day and walk all the way upto Al-Deir (the monastery) and spend hours walking beyond here to see all the spectacular views. "DON"T RUSH PETRA"
Stop for mint tea while you absorb the views.
It was so quiet in Petra (like all of Egypt) and everyday we walked in and out along the Siq with-out seeing another person. The locals are doing it very tough so try and be kind to them as they approach you to sell their crafts. They really are so delighted if you stop and have a chat and they will open up about how life is for them as Bedouin people living in Petra and we learnt so much about them and their history.... it added greatly to our experience in this unique place.

Enjoy your trip !

Room Tip: A room facing the front of the hotel on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

As others point out, the location is perfect for Petra. The hotel itself is modern, nicely finished, and the rooms are spacious and clean. Top billing, however, goes to the staff who are consistently helpful and professional.
I should mention the evening buffet - the phrase "evening buffet" can be used to describe anything from the sublime to the awful. At Petra Moon it means super-fresh local dishes prepared with obvious pride by the Chef and his team - so good, we ate there both nights of our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zer0_Gravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My friends and I only stayed at this hotel for a night but we knew right away within that one night what a great deal this hotel is!

The beds were so comfortable that they put all of us, including those with trouble sleeping, right into sleep. The rooms were also very tidy and well-equipped and the hotel organized us with a much bigger room than we had expected. We also woke up to probably the best hotel breakfast we've had so far across Jordan with an extensive buffet of fresh fruit salads, sauteed vegetables, potato croquette and grilled tomatoes stuffed with hummus. In short we all went off to Petra that morning happy and content with well-rested sleep and our bellies full.

Add on to that, the staff are very friendly (and cute ;) and are all very eager to help upon request. I lost my wallet at the Cave Bar on the night of our arrival and right away they corresponded with the staff at the bar to check for my wallet and have them delivered back to the hotel. The Cave Bar was relatively close to the Petra Moon Hotel but they insisted that they will bring the wallet back to the hotel despite the close distance and even lightly joked about my clumsiness to ease my worries. All in all, I, on behalf of my friends who travelled with me (who I'm sure will agree), highly recommend Petra Moon Hotel in Wadi Musa as we found that the hotel is a great value for the service, accommodation and meals that we received.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel and its staff enough, we got snowed in to Amman for a few days due to freak weather and all buses to Petra were off and no driver would take us so I had to ring this hotel and tell them we could not make it. They said, no problem we will send a driver to Amman for you! He picked us up within a few hours and drove us to Petra (80 Diner) - the snow was not even that bad once you got out of Amman! Petra was the highlight of the trip so we are so greatful to this hotel for getting us there to see it.
As for the hotel, the rooms are lovely, we had one just like the picture. The amenities are perffect and breakfast is great! We ordered packed lunched for taking to Petra (6 Dinar each) and they were huge and really tasty.
Cannot fault this hotel or it's staff!
Thanks for making our trip!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lw0u21db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Friendly staffs and pay attention to details. I was writing the postcard during the breakfast. The staff came and ask if I would like to change the cup of coffee since it might getting cold while I was writing. The location of the hotel is just 5 mins walk to the Petra entrance. Highly recommened.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_Palang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Just minutes away from the Petra entrance. Well appointed rooms, although the rooms could be a bit more spacious. Friendly and cheerful staff, excellent service. Great breakfast spread and nothing seemed too difficult for the staff. Definitely recommended. Was travelling with a young baby and elderly parents and am very pleased I chose PM.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingParomita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Friendly staff who try very hard to get things right. Clean and tidy rooms, good value for money and excellent location near the entrance to Petra.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,076 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
443 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#6 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
979 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: £51 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing