We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent... But”
Review of Wroxham Barns

Wroxham Barns
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Hoveton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wroxham Barns is one of Norfolk's leading tourist attractions. With its accent firmly on quality and with strong green credentials, it manages that really rather rare thing - of appealing to different ages. Grown-ups enjoy pottering around the shops and workshops, often chatting to the artists themselves or stopping to watch a craftsman create something unique. With a wood turner, stained glass specialist and Chris Hutchins from Norfolk Sketches, you will find the gift that is just that bit special. Fashion lovers should seek out the Gallery where labels such as Seasalt, Ness and Steilmann are on offer along sidehand bags, scarves, hats and more. And Sugar and Spice offers quirky children's pieces which are much more fun than items offered in the High Street. Foodie lovers are especially well catered for as the Pantry is packed with delicious food, much sourced locally so you can stock up your own store cupboards with jams, chutneys, oils,wines and more.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent... But”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Enjoyed our day out, the staff were friendly the food was expensive but yummy. Really disappointed the fair rides were not open. Our little boy was really upset, we went in half term week and can not understand why it was not open.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you Sarah for taking the time to offer a review. We are really pleased that you found our staff friendly and the food yummy. We hope we are good value for money (that does not mean cheap) and we continually monitor our prices against similar eating establishments. We are so sorry that your little boy was upset by the Funfair not being open. Half term in Norfolk (and most of the East Anglia Counties) was from 26th October to 3rd November and the Funfair was open every day, including the Monday of the big storm! We are aware that some Cities and Counties outside of our area have a two week half term and some fall on different weeks…did you visit the week before our half term? Either way we would like to make it up to your son. Please email me ianrussell@wroxhambarns.co.uk before you next visit to Norfolk and we will sort something special for him!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    271
    172
    58
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Some of the craft shops did not look very inviting... In fact some that we thought were closed were in fact open when we pressed our noses against the windows and had a closer look! All very twee, but some items were far TOO expensive! e.g. 80p for the worlds smallest pot of jam AND 80p for a little bag to put it in!!!!!!!!!!! (I don't like being ripped off!).
However there was a HUGE choice of jams and pickles in the shop, so if it's choice and variety you want then it's 10 out of 10! We did find some better value for money jams on a lower shelf and bought three.
The kids play area was shut (but this was November!), but I don't know how some people can spend a day here, unless you have kids and a coffee perhaps. 1hr was more than enough for me, but I think the ladies could stretch it out a bit longer.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you Nigel E for your review. The headline puts you off a little but Nigel E confirms that the workshops WERE OPEN! It is worth remembering that our “home” is a collection of 200 year old barns and courtyards…this is not a brilliantly lit (but dreadfully samey) shopping precinct….and all the better for that too. To get the best out of your visit we would love you “to explore”, to chat to our people and find out all the lovely things that are going on.
On the question of the small jams, they are a lovely under £1 gift, with our own label. Visitors enjoy buying them as a memento of somewhere they visited. They will never be good value relative to a larger jar, of which we have over 200 to choose from!
Nigel E is quite correct to say that funfair was not open in November but chooses not to mention Junior Farm which is open every day. If you want to find out more about what is available now (November 2013) please do visit our website; we have a film which shows what happens on the farm and some lovely footage of our studios. You can also read the VisitEngland (National Tourist Board) annual report which results from a thorough mystery shop that one of their independent assessors carries out.
We do hope you will choose to come and visit us. If you would like to contact me directly about this review, our response or anything else, please feel free. My email is ianrussell@wroxhambarns.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“varied & interesting”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Lovely stalls with great variety of produce, gifts, plants & drinks. A little pricey - but because it's all local & not mass-produced. With food you can tell the difference & worth the extra.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you Gary P for taking the time to share your views on Wroxham Barns with fellow travellers, we (and they) do appreciate. Really glad you had a good time, hope you Dear Reader, and Gary P, come and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place - not great food.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My family and I have been coming to Wroxham Barns for 15 years and have been really pleased with all the updates and changes. There is a great mix of facilities for every member of the family - young and old. When we visit Norfolk one of the first places the kids want to visit is Wroxham Barns. On this occassion just my Husband and I visited and decided to try the restaurant for the first time. My husband ordered Baked Potato with Cheese - the potato was dry and undercooked (not oven baked), not hot enough to melt the butter, slab of cheese too hard to cut and a tiny portion of coleslaw. I ordered Loaded Skins with chorizo & tomato - the potato was tough and the filling was a thick veg stew with some sausage. I love chorizo & tomato but HATE veg stew, for me this was inedible. For me the menu was very misleading. If it had said veg stew I would never have ordered that item. Overall great place but will pass on the food in future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We were very grateful to welcome Debbie L and her family back again, and really pleased that she likes all the updates and changes that she has made…we agree, Wroxham Barns is a great place!

Now onto the food issue. Firstly, a real sense of frustration…I so wish Debbie L had said she was not happy. We would have sorted the problem out there and then. We pride ourselves on the way our team are empowered to fix a problem without having to ask for supervisors etc. We have messaged Debbie L to see what we can do now to restore her faith in us.

Onto the jacket potatoes themselves. Debbie felt the food fell short of an acceptable standard….we have to learn from that, find out what happened and sort….which we will. But just for the record, here is our recipe for our chorizo and tomato, which we serve in a jacket skin.
Take 1 large onion, 2 sticks of celery, 4 carrots, 3 cloves of garlic, I teaspoon of mixed herbs. Finely dice above and sweat off in olive oil. Add 1 tablespoon tomato purée, ¼ bottle white wine, 1 pint chicken stock. Bring to boil and simmer gently until veg is tender. Meanwhile dice 1kg chorizo sausage and cook in oven to release fats (approx.10 mins). Add to the veg and tomato mixture and continue to simmer until sauce thickens naturally and chorizo is soft. When chorizo is thick, scoop out potato and mix with filling, then place back into the skin. Our plan (and our recipe) is not to serve veg stew! Clearly something went badly wrong; this is currently one of our best selling lunch dishes, now we have chillier weather.

So dear reader, we really hope you do visit us, as per Debbie L’s recommendation. Please let us feed you, we will do our very best to serve you tasty food and look after you…and will do all in our power to ensure that you leave feeling happy and looked after. If you would like to contact me directly about this review, our response or anything else, please feel free. My email is ianrussell@wroxhambarns.co.uk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Shopping outlet at it's most uninspired!!! But then again I don't like shopping anywhere. Same old stuff to buy that no-one really wants IMO.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Oh dear, the headline of this review does not read well! Dear reader, I would just ask you to maybe read a few of the reviews here before deciding if you want to visit us at Wroxham Barns…and we really hope you do! I am grateful that Paul admits that he “don't like shopping anywhere” so maybe his view is somewhat biased! But we are pleased that Paul visited Norfolk and really hope that he enjoyed his time in our lovely county.
But to respond to Paul’s view that our shopping outlet is uninspired, I offer this overview of what you will find to entertain even the most discerning of shoppers… Sew Creative (brilliant quilting and patchwork shop), The Norfolk Gallery (uniquely we only display Norfolk “subjects” but wide range of mediums), Chris Hutchins Norfolk Sketches (Chris is a professional artist, has been with us for 28 years, stunning pencil sketches, big following), Sugar & Spice (children’s clothes, even if not relevant to you, lovely range and very good quality), Made By You Art Studio (based on the pottery café idea but you can also do decopatch and sand art; we are amazed by how many grown-ups want to have a go…and the standard of their creations!), Pat’s Wooden Crafts (Pat is a really good wood-turner who has brought together a really special collection of wood products, more than you could imagine and really interesting), Tim Foord Coastal Stained Glass (Tim has been with us for about 15 years and has developed a terrific range of stained glass products, from a very affordable set of coasters to a “made to order” fire screen, even a stained glass porthole for your broads boat), Tricia Francis Pottery (this is a really special workshop, and even more special work…a very clever and creative lady!), The Norfolk Cider Shop (Geoff Fisher sells his brother’s Norfolk Cider and Apple Juice, and all sorts of “apple” goodies…visitors love “trying before buying”), The Pantry Food Shop ( a real gift food emporium….we stock over 70 local beers, local wines, and over 200 pickles and chutneys. Visitors spend ages just browsing the amazing and different products). And in the Main gallery, you will find a very range of gift ideas (some local), lovely and different greetings cards and then there is the Clothes Gallery upstairs (we are sorry about the stairs, the downside of working with 200 year old Norfolk barns). We stock Pomodoro, Steilmann, Adini, Nomads, Seasalt, Ness, Tulchan, Alice Collins, and (new for Autumn/Winter 2013) we will have White Stuff and Joules #excited!
Our Bill LeGrice Rose & Plant Centre does not set out to be or claim to a garden centre. If you are interested in roses, then you will find it really interesting…Bill won gold at Hampton Flower Show just a few weeks ago.
And our restaurant, coffee shop, Junior Farm, Children’s Funfair and Mini Adventure Golf Course complete our offer to visitors, with or without children.
If you would like to contact me directly about this review, our response or anything else, please feel free. My email is ianrussell@wroxhambarns.co.uk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wroxham Barns also viewed

 

Been to Wroxham Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing