We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Waterside Pub”
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hoveton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were here for a Sunday lunch, we didn't have the carvery as the queue was huge, so settled for pub grub lunch off the menu. The food was lovely, my burger was a little overcooked and had burnt pan bits stuck to the bottom. But the daughters and wifes meals were fine. It is very popular and hectic on a hot day. It was pleasant enough and what you would expect from a pub lunch.
It's nice to sit / eat watching people bump and bang their boats.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puppyplums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHTeam, Public Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We strive to provide a whole dining experience that will leave you satisfied and we are glad you enjoyed your visit. I am hoping you made the waitress aware of the issue with the burger as we like our chefs to provide top quality food to be sent out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Thomas Page
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had an hour on the broads hireing a boat was great, lovely hot day too, then decided to have a carvery here as we have done quite often, was lovely , 4 meats to choose from and plenty of veg, the only thing that let it down was the price of a bottle of becks blue, £3 whats that all about, I had half carlsburg which was only £1.65 so that make a pint about £3.30 which is good for alchol but becks blue has no alchol in it at all and would be £6 for a pint thats outrageous, ive only ever paid £1.70 for a non alcholic beer, shame I didnt look at receipt till I was home cos I deffo wouldnt of had it

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHTeam, Public Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We would like to apologise about the price of the Becks Blue that you purchased and we will pass this on to our Head Office who set out the prices for review when they set out the prices next time.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thomas Page
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Not for me at all, not many vegetarian options. Not many good ales and beers i will drink, no decent local beers at all.
Food was supposed to have been a mushroom lasagne, it was quorn substitute and 2 slices of mushroom with far far too much corriander.
Disappointing.
The saving grace is its by the Broads with lots of outdoor seating and they do a carvery daily.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kangela73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHTeam, Public Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We have a lovely selection of quality ales on offer most of the time with the exception of the barrels being swapped over from tiem to time during service (Due to the high demand,. Just recently have we passed our Cask Marque award again for the up and coming year. If at the time of your visit the ales on offer were not to your liking then we apologise and welcome all forms of feedback for future selection on our ales.

Due to the summer holidays just around the corner we have a new exciting menu, maybe you should re visit our fine establishment and try the new vegetarian lasagne and not to mention we have a few more vegetarian options available on our specials menu at present.

If you wish to discuss your visit please do not hesitate to contact us 01603 782429.

Kind Regards

Thomas Page
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We called in on the off chance of a carvery, but it didn't open until 6pm so a little wait but it is not a bad atmosphere and a table was reserved at our request. We went through after 6 and sat down overlooking the river, quite nice...
Orders taken including 5 various carvery meals (1 of the large ones at a mere £1.50 extra) and kids meals. We were told they would come back and say when the children's meals were nearing completion, but they didn't...
So as the kids meals arrived we went up. As the holder of the go large token I was very chuffed with the amount of meat and the chap craving the meat who was really friendly. Spot on. A good range of veg to be had and the turkey and gammon was very good. Truly stuffed. The standard carvery also received good portions of meat so either option offered good VFM.
We didn't require desserts but the kids did and we were told they would check on the jelly flavour but alas no one came back so we had to ask a waitress who was a bit more clued up.
However that said it was nice ice cream so we were told by the kids!
So, all in all a good meal worthy of a 4/5 but the service let them down. The girl at the bar seemed to be the only one who knew what was going on, looked after our needs and was friendly. The chef carver too was a good chap and very polite. Sort the rest out and it'll work, no hesitation in recommending the carvery though,
Men's toilet could do with a little TLC and clean otherwise very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHTeam, Public Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdisor.

I would like to apologise for the less than usually good service that you recieved with the childrens meals and desert. We like everyone to be eating at the same time when dining with us. We are constantly training and with your review this can be used to improve our service.

We hope in the near future that the toilets will be refurbished along with the rest of the pub but this will be down to our Head Office.

Please do not let this put you off returning to try a delicious desert.

If you do have any issues with returning please do not hesitate in contacting me 01603 782429

Kind Regards

Thomas Page
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

End of November quick weekend trip to Norfolk. Busy Saturday so wanted something hot but not fast food. Have been to Kings Head before and last time the carvery was very good. Had to wait to be seated which seemed a bit odd as place was not busy at all. Meat was tasty, new potatoes and no mash (this time of year calls for mash), good choice of vegetables. Food was very hot but so were some of the serving implements (in particular the stainless steel ones, had to use my sleeve to serve some items). You could easily burn your hand and did point this out to one of the waiters. Reasonably priced at £5.95 and would go again (will take a pair of oven gloves next time as forewarned is forearmed)!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 5DoreenR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHTeam, Public Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Sometimes due to staffing levels at less than busy periods we may not be able to seat everyone straight away and we always look to acknowledge all customers as soon as we see them and i apologise for the time it took to seat you and hope this wasn't too much of a deterrent on returning.

Unfortunately we have specific Mash days as New Potatoes and Mash are rotated along side Roast Potatoes. Hopefully when you return we will have mash on the carvery and if we haven't we can get some made up for you.

The Carvery Spoons sometimes get left under the lights and I encourage all staff to remove all spoons from teh pots when the carvery has no customers.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Thomas Page
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We visited this hotel on 09 Nov 2013, was were surprised by the inside, We were seated almost immediately in the resteraut and the waitress was very helpful. We all went for the carvery which was plentiful. You could have a bigger size for an extra one pound fifty.
It was a shame it was raining as the outside area is right on the river and very pretty. Atmosphere was friendly but we did have to wait for to order our deserts. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lellydw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHTeam, Public Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

The garden is our main attraction all year round being situated by the river and is really popular specially feeding the Swan's and Ducks. I am glad that you got to enjoy the sites while having a nice meal in our establishment.

Please come and visit us again soon

Kind Regards

Thomas Page
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We entered this establishment to see if they offered anything else on the menu apart from carvery. There were no menus available outside the restaurant area. I entered the restaurant area to read a menu and I was told by a young man to get back behind the board which said wait here for a table. He was extremely rude. I explained to him that I wanted to see the menu first but all he wanted me to do was to go back up the step and wait behind this board. There were no other people waiting for a table and there were plenty of empty tables. I can't give you any information about the food as we left and had an excellent meal in the Bridge Restaurant just around the corner. With excellent and polite service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Topcatsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHTeam, Public Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

I would like to apologise for the less than high standard you feel you recieved when in our establishment. We ask all staff to treat all customers as they would like to be treated and on this occasion this may not have happened.

Please do not let this incident put you off returning to our establishment and trying our delicious meals we have on offer,

If you wish to discuss any issues with returning please do not hesitate to contact me 01603 782429.

Kind Regards

Thomas Page
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoveton
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
350 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
927 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,199 reviews
7.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: Station Road, Hoveton, Wroxham NR12 8UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wroxham > Hoveton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hoveton
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Building situated by the river in the village of Hoveton & Wroxham on the Norfolk Broads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing