We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical location and first class attention to detail”
Review of Shoan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shoan
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Shoan is hidden away on its own peninsula in Matsushima Bay, far from the madding crowds of the town centre - and what a stunning location it is. We stayed there in the depths of the low season and were the only guests both nights, so it was like having a ryokan all to ourselves. The whole place is modern but traditional, beautifully appointed and with superb attention to detail, right down to the western-style lounge where a different classical artist is profiled in the music selection each month.

Best of all, though, was our spacious room. When we opened our screen doors the view took our breath away - a completely private bay of limestone islands which beats anything you see on the normal tourist routes. The inn also has two lovely footpaths running through the adjacent woodlands and out onto promontaries with views onto the main bay. It's all quite wonderful.

Limited English is spoken, to a sufficient extent for foreigners to feel comfortable and welcome, and service was generally excellent, as one would expect. We had a slight disappointment with our dinner on the first night, when the standard of a few dishes wasn't up to what one might expect for this class and price. But meals improved after that and it may have been a low season glitch.

The only other thing I'd fault was the ambience of the restaurant itself (called Umine, and open for lunch to non-guests). It's mish-mash of decor styles and hints of clutter here and there seemed very much out of keeping with the ryokan as a whole. Dinner can be taken in one's room, but breakfast must be eaten at Umine.

Otherwise, though, our stay was magical...and that view will remain in our minds for ever!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank d2fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2009

this ryokan is absolutely gorgeous. Its a bit out of the center of town, but its site is breathtaking. The rooms are beautifully decorated with a mixture of western and Japanese styles. The baths are stunning with every good product imaginable. The service was also first-rate . We were the only westerners there and our Japanese is not great,but every effort was made to find English speaking staff for us.
we very much enjoyed the environs-more than we thought we would.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mflickermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank いばりこぶた
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank giovannau688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank 俊輔 中
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank nakafumi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: だいたい海側だと思います。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LewisCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matsushima-machi hotels
Matsushima Onsen
Matsushima Ichinobo
Matsushima Ichinobo
#1 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
217 reviews
Hotel Matsushima Taikanso
#2 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
205 reviews
Matsushima Onsen
Komatsukan Kofutei
Komatsukan Kofutei
#3 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Breezbay Seaside Resort Matsushi...
#7 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
42 reviews
Matsushima Onsen
Hotel Zekkeinoyakata
Hotel Zekkeinoyakata
#14 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
45 reviews
Matsushima Onsen
Matsushima Century Hotel
Matsushima Century Hotel
#5 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoan

Address: 1 Umeki Tetaru, Matsushima-machi, Miyagi-gun 981-0211, Miyagi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Tohoku > Miyagi Prefecture > Miyagi-gun > Matsushima-machi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsushima-machi
Price Range: £451 - £687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN and Rakuten so you can book your Shoan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing