We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the entrance fee”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zuiganji

Zuiganji
Book In Advance
More Info
US$176.53*
and up
Experience Matsushima and Shiogama Cultural Tour Including VIP Access to...
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
771 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 792 helpful votes
“Well worth the entrance fee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I rate this is as my number one attraction in Matsushima. The grounds are dramatic and well maintained and the mausoleum, kitchen building and museum are stunning. I disagrre with a former reviewer - you're allowed to take photos without using flash. Make sure you allow at least an hour to visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    116
    68
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albrighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Autumn Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I had a magical Autumn Visit to Matsushima, famous for its bay with its pine tree laden islands and its ranking as one of Japan's three most scenic views.

Matsushima is also well known for Zuiganji, one of the region's most important Zen temples. The illumination of the Autumn trees at Zuiganji is a major highlight of the visit. The annual illumination of the grounds after dark takes place every November and has a Y500 entry fee. Traditional Japanese music gives a haunting, beautiful and timeless character to the visit.

The sunset and dawn views across Matsushima Bay are particularly beautiful- a wonderful contrast and break with metropolitan life.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Salopianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
613 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Nice temple complex with very pretty gardens.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The gardens have an extremely old feel with moss covered caves carved out to host Buddhist statues, reminiscent of India. The complex is right in downtown Matsushima and had water markers for the Tsunami in 2011 although the town suffered very little damage due to the barrier islands.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Another temple, another restoration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Like so many places in Japan, I managed to visit yet another temple that was being restored. I love the fact that they build a 'shed' around the project so you can at least see some of what is going on and some of what you have come to see.
There are plenty of treasures to look at and I liked that they opened up for viewing the mausoleum of Date Masamune's wife, it's a nice stroll through a short tunnel then up the hill through the trees. The restoration done here was immaculate, bright colours, gold leaf, glossy black.
The small museum attached in the main compound is exquisite, the armour that Date Masamune wore for me was the highlight.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If you don't want to pay the entrance fee...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I didn't visit the actual temple (which you can't see unless you pay the entrance fee), so I hung around outside. The Zuiganji is opposite the boat terminal, so pretty easy to get there. There's a line of souvenir shops and food stores for you. And moving on, you will see memorial caves, which I thought was kinda cool! The area was also really cooling cos of all the tall beech trees (I think)

Worth going to take a look even if you don't plan to enter.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chemislove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zuiganji also viewed

Matsushima-machi, Miyagi-gun
Matsushima-machi, Miyagi-gun
 
Matsushima-machi, Miyagi-gun
Sendai, Miyagi Prefecture
 

Been to Zuiganji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing