We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matsushima Century Hotel
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We deliberately chose to visit Tohoku as tourists about 16 months after the tsunami--in part to support the recovery effort--and Matsushima was at the top of our list.
The Century Hotel is the most commanding property in this seaside town. We had a large sea-view tatami room with a fantastic view and wonderful balcony for lounging.
During our day here we walked the town, took a boat cruise, used the hotel onsen and ate dinner and breakfast onsite.
Though there were few guests, the staff were attentive and helpful. Though they discouraged us from visiting the more ravaged areas nearby (accessible by taxi) they were otherwise fully accommodating. They recommended a departure time from a nearby station and then drove us there.
Matsushima itself shows little of the effects of the 6-foot tsunami that swept shore in March 2011. Recent landscaping and repairs were either complete or well underway at the time we visited. But the townsfolk readily talked about the experience and pointed out photos and high-water marks.
We had a wonderful 24 hours in town.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for a Japansese-style room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wjames5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

a Typical Japaneses hotel where you have to wear the typical Japaneses custom, the beds are on the Japaneses style which are very comfortable, the view from the room is great, the bathroom are special , service is nice and friendly

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed_EL_Mehalawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

This hotel has a fabulous location for viewing islands as it is right on the water. All the main attractions and restaurants are within walking distance.

It is very good value, the rooms are very spacious and clean. We had a non-smoking western room that overlooked the town, which was quite pleasant. I would have preferred a room overlooking the bay but unfortunately it was not possible to get a non-smoking western room with the bay view.

I booked directly with the hotel on the internet and there were no problems with the reservation. We arrived a little early for check in, and they happily minded our bags while we went sightseeing around the town.

As we generally prefer to eat in local restaurants we did not eat in the hotel. However we found that very few restaurants were open in the evenings, they are mainly open for lunch. And please note: there was no breakfast to be found anywhere. So would highly recommend reserving a table for breakfast. As oysters are a local specialty - make sure you try them at least once. There's a fabulous place (like a small shack) right near the waterfront that grills them - yum.

The hotel is really in need of renovations, and it seems they have started, as the Japanese rooms across the hall from ours were being renovated while we were there. We were very surprised not to be disturbed by the tradesmen, but I guess they were instructed to be mindful of guests. If they renovate the entire hotel I would think they could charge a much higher price for the rooms.

The drop off service to the station was very efficient, and really friendly. There is a luggage delivery service from the shop in the lobby (which also has some nice little souveniers and some great sweets and rice crackers). Some English is spoken, but if you have complicated requests you might struggle a little, so make sure you bring a phrase book if you don't speak the language. We know a little Japanese which certainly helped.

If you have a laptop, wireless internet is available (by using a password provided by the hotel) as long as you sit in the lobby.

Matsushima is a small, quiet town (although there can be loads of tourists during the day), and was a lovely spot to spend a couple of days. So if you want convenience, this is the place to stay.

By the way, if you get a chance to see the gulls being fed from the back of one of the cruising ferries, do it. It's absolutely magic seeing the birds up so close.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoppyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

We stayed at the Matsushima Century Hotel for one night only but would have liked to stay more. This is a very nice hotel in the very small but beautiful town of Matsushima Kaigan, which is considered one of the three most scenic places in Japan. The hotel has a very quick pick-up and drop-off service from the Japan Rail (JR) train station. It is only about a 10 minute walk to anywhere in Matsushima but can be difficult when hauling luggage. Matsushima is easily accessible by Shinkansen and JR train from Tokyo Station in about 3 hours. The hotel is very close to the sightseeing ferries that go out on the Matsushima bay.

I booked the hotel directly through their web-site and had no problems whatsoever with the reservation. The hotel lobby area, pool, baths, and restaurants are very nice. We did not go for the dinner because we always like to try the local fare but the breakfast buffet had anything that anyone of practically any nationality could want and was very good.

The Japanese style rooms are very simple but spacious with a low table and chairs on tatami mats and a sitting area with TV in front of the doors out to the porch. The porch is large with lovely furniture and has a wonderful view of the famous bay. In the evening, they move the table and chairs and put down the very comfortable futons for sleeping. The rooms were very quiet.
The bathroom is well-equipped with toiletries and lots and lots of nice hot water. We did not get time to experience the baths at this hotel but we did go and look and they looked very inviting.

The staff at this hotel, like every hotel we experienced in Japan, was welcoming, courteous, and extremely efficient and helpful. I wish every hotel stay could be this nice!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv2travlChantilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

My stays in this hotel were in 1999, 2000 and 2001 and were each lovely experiences. The level of customer service in most Japanese hotels is utmost and the Century is no different. The hotel sits right on the water and at the nearby dock you can book a boat ride out around some of the many smaller islands that make Matsushima a beautiful place to visit. I also recommend getting the package that includes dinner - it's an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: August 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ichiban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wanshizu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank rinkamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matsushima-machi hotels
Hotel Matsushima Taikanso
#2 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
205 reviews
Matsushima Onsen
Matsushima Ichinobo
Matsushima Ichinobo
#1 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
217 reviews
Breezbay Seaside Resort Matsushi...
#7 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matsushima Onsen
Komatsukan Kofutei
Komatsukan Kofutei
#3 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
67 reviews
Matsushima Onsen
Hotel Zekkeinoyakata
Hotel Zekkeinoyakata
#14 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
45 reviews
Petite Hotel Bistro Abalon
#9 of 21 in Matsushima-machi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matsushima Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsushima Century Hotel

Address: 8 Senzui, Matsushima-machi, Miyagi-gun 981-0213, Miyagi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Tohoku > Miyagi Prefecture > Miyagi-gun > Matsushima-machi > Matsushima Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Matsushima-machi
#2 Best Value Hotel in Matsushima-machi
Price Range: £79 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matsushima Century Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA and Rakuten so you can book your Matsushima Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matsushima Century Onsen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing