We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restoration of farmhouse turned into a B&B”
Review of Upton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upton House
Ranked #1 of 1 Upton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I traveled to the Maine "North Woods" as it's called for a short vacation during the foliage season. There's little here in the way of tourism development, but what a find this pleasant B&B turned out to be. It's a restored farmhouse updated with modern amenities. All but two rooms have their own bathroom. The owners Charlotte and Bob have tenderly brought back a structure that had been neglected for years. One wing had to be demolished because it was too far gone, but it was re-built in the exact image of the original. Each of the rooms has a decorative theme, and I stayed in the Native American room, complete with animal skin rug on the painted wood floor. The house is even nicer than the pictures on the website lead you to believe. The mattress in my room was super comfortable and the bedding was top quality, fitting the theme of the room.

Room Tip: Each room is very different and you can view them on the website. If you haven't booked a speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkBooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

My family and I really enjoyed this charming B & B with its large room, and very hospitable hosts. It was a welcome break in our drive from Ontario to New Brunswick. The area is beautiful, and we all (parents and kids) enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Mum155008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This is a wonderful guesthouse in the Maine-New Hampshire border, the best that we've been to in our entire trip in New England.
The rooms are pleasant, comfortable and incredibly decorated
Bob and Charlotte are charming hosts, very pleasant and helpful
Staying in their guesthouse was an unforgettable experience, and we look forward to visiting there again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronipom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This delightful country inn is wonderful. The innkeepers fabulous, friendly and helpful. They love what they do! The rooms are decorated according to theme. Ours was a lovely, tastefully Native American theme. The bed, oohhh, nice. It is worth the visit when leaf-peeping in the fall in Maine/NewHampshire.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Great memories and a fantastic time and we can't wait to return. We can't wait to tell our friends about The Upton House. You never know when you are going to find the next gem. The Upton House is a polished diamond

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaslin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Right on the border of ME and NH, it is great location to watch wildlife, paddle lake Umbagoog or the nearby Androscroggin (spell?), visit nearby scenic spots or just relax. The Inn is beautifully renovated, spotlessly clean and Bob and Charlotte are awesome hosts.
You will feel like you never left home! Comfy and cozy. The rooms are nicely decorated each with it's own theme. The common room is spcaious and bright.
We have already booked another night and also plan to return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious. When booking Charlotte or Bob will gladly advise which room will suit your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanCG22860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is a great place to stay; cheaper than Bethal, yet not that far away. The inn is the cleanest I've ever seen and the keepers, Charlotte & Bob, are warm, friendly and very helpful. The only problem I see i,s it list as being in Oxford, Maine but it is actually in UPTON, Maine.

Room Tip: I've been there several times. I favor the Native American Room. Take the Victorian Room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pywickit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton
22.8 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
9.4 mi away
Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort
15.2 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
184 reviews
22.6 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upton House

Address: 269 Thistle St, Upton, Upton, ME 04261-4004
Region: United States > Maine > Upton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upton
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing