We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Isidro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bamboo Garden Bar and Lodging
Ranked #2 of 2 San Isidro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I have spend the last 6 months on Siargao Island, a very beautiful place! Pacifico is a very nice little baranguy with nice beaches, good for surfing, wonderful people and a good atmosphere.
But my favourite place by far in pacifico was bamboo garden. (ended up visiting 3-4 times a week eventhough we lived 30 minutes away on bike)

In here you are always welcome, and you can feel it the minute you walk in. There is ALWAYS cold beers in the fridge (which can be hard to find other places sometimes!), very good food - both traditional filipino food and european food.

It is a little cozy resort, with 3 nipa huts ( 2x2 persons 1x4 persons) and is set right on a beautiful beach - good for snorkeling and surfing.
A nice little bar with pool table - and if you like to entertain, after a few to many beers, they will get the karaoke machine started!
The prices here are good - both for accommodation, food and drinks.

When you are here you don't feel like a costumer in a resort, you feel like you are with friends - and for most that's the way it goes - like us, we arrived as costumers but left as very good friends - with heeps of good memories.
Tom, lizz and the rest of the staff are very genuine, good beautiful people that will make sure that you enjoy your stay to the fullest!

If you go to Siargao Island and want to get away from the busy touristy life in cloud 9 - make sure you make your way up to bamboo garden - it is without a doubt a hidden paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanjasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed 5 nights on this remote place/part of this amazing island. Just a few bamboo huts in between palm trees in front of the beach and the great waves of the pacific ocean...
We had good fun playing pool & had nice diners (could you imagine the even have traditional Sunday Roast :) with Tom, Lizz & staff. They also gave us good suggestions for day trips.
Yes for sure we wanna go back!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LindaGert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamboogardensiargao, Owner at Bamboo Garden Bar and Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for all of your wonderful comments , we are looking forward to meeting more friends this coming season !

If only this Company Trip Advisor , the Worlds largest online travel website could place us back on the correct page listed under Surigao Del Norte instead of Del Sur things in paradise would be perfect !!

Come on Trip advisor management get your act together !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I've been to the island 3 times before ,but never ventured to North shore. This last time I made the trip and it really changed my impressions about the island. For those looking for a more off the beaten track, North shore area provides a more undisturbed environment.
We can hope that with the new highway connecting this area the local ambiance can integrate with tourism without destroying the beauty. Low impact resorts , ecological and educational adventures are key to preservation of the local beauty that is now there. Land and ocean exploitation that is not supervised by a green minded local government does not a healthy community make.
Tom and Liz live a low impact approach; (3 cabins for rent) which are environmentally friendly(all bamboo and nipa) . Its clean ,and not financially exploiting. The personal hospitality and service is unbeatable. I hope for more of the same in this area to keep in sync, balance, synergy, and harmony with the local life and culture and natural environment. We are hoping that with Liz's help Tom will be speaking Visayan/Siargaonon soon ;)

Room Tip: Get the love shack right next to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAKlarsfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Have a beer or two with the owner. He is a grest dialog partner and fun to talk with.
We were just camping next door so i cant tell you anything about the cabins. The beer is for sure the coldest on the island what is for sure hard to find in the philippines. The temperatures are so high even at night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Der_Abenteurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My friends and I came across Bamboo Garden while looking for somewhere to camp. We didn't end up renting a cottage here and camped next door, however we spent the whole evening and next morning with Tom and Liz playing billiards and chatting. They are a splendid couple. Tom and Liz are really down to earth, honest people and meeting them and really added to the quality of my trip to the Philippines. I hope to return to the Philippines and when i do, i will definitely be staying here. You hear only the sounds of the wind and the ocean at night. 100% peaceful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at Bamboo Garden for 4 nights in January. Tom and Liz were fantastic hosts and it felt that we'd come to visit friends instead of just being at a hotel. Apart from all the other great reviews it was the enticement of being close to the water and the full English Breakfasts that persuaded us to stay here.

The resort has a few traditional style Nipa cottages and the theme is carried throughout the bar/restaurant and garden area. It's true about the sound of waves which help you sleep at night - and the waves here are fantastic! Pacifico, where the resort is located, is also famous for its surf break and alot of people describe the surf here as some of the best on the island.

We found that Bamboo garden was the perfect place to explore the whole island. As we're not surfers we took the opportunity to rent motorbikes and explore. Tom and Liz will happily help you organise any bike hire and can advise you on all the best areas to visit.

The beach at bamboo garden has a large stretch lovely soft sand which is about 1km across and then at the waters edge this changes to rocky reef shelf, hence the great surf. The rock pools are lovely to explore to find all sorts of marine life and the beach walks are enjoyble as if you turn left out of Bamboo garden there are some lovely cliff edges to explore about 0.5km away.

Pacifico is ideally located around the middle area of the east coast. Cloud nine & GL are around a 50 min motorbike ride (all journeys much shorter by car/jeep), Dapa is 40 min, Pilar 15 min, Burgos 10 min.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and will definately return next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are a mere stones throw away from the beach and all have views of the sea from their veran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank czaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Tom and Liz are gracious hosts at one of Siargao's newest retreats, Bamboo Garden. I say retreat rather than resort because you feel relaxed in the simplicity of the native environment. Secure cottages with private comfort rooms and few distractions. There is a TV and billiards table in the restaurant/bar but, mostly what you will hear are the sounds of birds, insects, and waves. Speaking of waves, I'm not a surfer so when I see the waves swelling a few hundred meters from shore over a shallow reef I think of body boarding. Nearby are plenty of famous surfing spots, Or rent a motorbike and tour the island. The menu is delicious, served hot and fresh to order and the beer is cold. Mostly, what you will find here is peace.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndzobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Isidro
10.9 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
127 reviews
12.2 mi away
Patrick's on the Beach
Patrick's on the Beach
#9 of 41 in Siargao Island
177 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Sands Paradise Beach Resort
White Sands Paradise Beach Resor...
#14 of 41 in Siargao Island
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Viento Del Mar
Viento Del Mar
#4 of 14 in General Luna
52 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
#11 of 41 in Siargao Island
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sailfishbay Surf and Big Game Fishing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Garden Bar and Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Garden Bar and Lodging

Address: | Pacifico, San Isidro, Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island > San Isidro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Isidro
Price Range: £8 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo Garden is located in Pacifico, just North of San Isidro on Siargao Island. The Island is a magnet for surfers in search of waves, with many world class breaks available. Don't despair though if surfing isn't your thing; Siargao Island is also the perfect place for a relaxing getaway, offering many other activities and sights. We offer idyllic, affordable beach front cottages that overlook a white sand beach with views across the Pacific Ocean. These can sleep 2 - 6 persons. Just a few meters away from the white sands bordering the Pacific Ocean we have an Al Fresco Bar/Restaurant where you can enjoy our varied menu catering for both Western and local tastes. Dishes include tasty home made pizzas, juicy 100% beef burgers and paninis made with every day fresh home baked bread. You can wash it all day with an ice cold beer, while taking in the amazing views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing