We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a must for us in Searcy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whistle Stop BBQ

Whistle Stop BBQ
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Searcy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a must for us in Searcy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We go every time we are in town! We love the friendly service and especially the fried pies! Servings are generous and the value is great. We sometimes take groups and they have always been very accommodating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    23
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great tasting BBQ. Clean and friendly, but the wait staff seemed more interested in talking to other employees than taking care of customers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searcy, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I live less than a mile from Whistle Stop & go there quite often. I would say that their signature dish is the pulled pork plate. The pork is tender & tasty and has a wonderful finishing sauce. Whistle Stop offers a variety of sauces. The brisket is tender but I wish they would scrape more of the fat off prior to serving. Ribs taste fantastic. My only complaint about them is that they seem to be way over cooked. You can't run a knife between the bones without the meat falling apart. I don't care for their slaw as it's mustard based & I've never cared for NC slaw.

I am an amateur BBQ cook & naturally prefer my own BBQ, but when the urge strikes and there's nothing in the smoker, Whistle Stop is my "go to" restaurant for a quick fix.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BBQ_Nut51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have been to Searcy several times with our Harding student but we only found this restaurant from TripAdvisor. It is beyond school and you just don't drive pass it on the way in but it is worth the look up - and right off Beebe Capps. We had the pulled pork and beef brisket and they were both excellent. We have been on a search for good brisket and this is one of the best we have had! The sauces were great also. For sides we had fries, green beans, fried okra and homemade potato salad and they were all delicious.
There is a lot of fun stuff to look at while waiting for your food. We didn't have to wait too long for the food and there was a constant stream of customers coming and going on a Sat night.
We had read about the fried pies so we decided to order 2 and split them. We got chocolate and apple and they were delicious! Make sure to leave room for the fried pies. There were 5 or 6 kinds and they were sort of like a turnover with a glaze icing on them and best of all, they were served right out of the oven!
They do close at 8 on Sat nights so don't wait too long to go or you might miss out!! We will be stopping in here again on our next stop in Searcy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cebu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searcy, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Searcy's pulled pork and catfish go-to place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Whistle Stop is where I go for pulled pork in Searcy. The Kansas City BBQ sauce is my fav. I also like their catfish. Their potato salad is to die for. And, on special occasions, I indulge in a fried pie (chocolate, yum). I've also catered a big dinner with them and they do a great job with that, too. Atmosphere is cool with lots of stuff to look at on the walls. They even have an outdoor patio to use during moderate weather.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whistle Stop BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Whistle Stop BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing