We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap! Stay away!”
Review of Kerlingarfjoll

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seltjarnarnes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kerlingarfjoll
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Our night stop on route F-35 at the famous Kelingarfjoll Highland Center. This place seemed so cool when you checked their website!
It was a major disappointment. Our 1 bedroom bungalow set us back for
300 Euros. Right next to the door there was a had a tiny toilet with a tiny sink, no shelf, no room to turn . This toilet which was proudly named on the website " private bath" was located next to what was supposed to be a kitchen, and was just a tiny counter with 2 electric burners with a fridge underneath and a shelf with very limited utensils. Limited to the point that there was nothing to drink from, so we had our tea in he soup bowls.
That was first floor. Then a very dangerous spiral staircase leading up to the loft with our rooms. Transporting food to the dining table was interesting and challenging! There was no way our suitcases could go upstairs. Showers were in the separate building outside and working 6 pm to 8 pm only. By the time we finished our hike it was too late. And anyway, to run from the shower to the bungalow without the possibility of drying your hair with a hairdryer- who wants that?
Hot tubs which were promised on the website did not exist, and geothermal pool, which was supposed to be one of highlights, was just a small shallow puddle, requiring not less than 30 minutes of vigorous walking on the mountain trails.
When we finally sat down to eat at their restaurant the food was very expensive and not very edible. Slightly warm soup with too much salt in it- that's not what you expect.
On top of everything the windows did not have covers( it was the first time during our travel). And remember white nights! It just does not get dark at all.
These windows and walls did not provide much insulation, too. The window was broken. So it was very cold. I was typing this entry at midnight( still daylight!) and wearing 2 heavy sweaters.Staff was nice, but absolutely not knowledgable and useless. Hiking maps are not useful too.
On the positive note I can say that at night it got warm, that nobody broke the neck on the spiral staircase and that breathtaking views compensated for all the inconvenience. To summarize all I have to say that the place needs new management to turn it into highland resort from the run down tourist trap.
Whoever runs this place now- shame on them! They don't even bother to update the website! It was updated last time 5 years ago!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LSNY-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic and is definitely worth a visit. However, as this hotel is the only one in this remote area, this probably explains that they can charge so high rates for the rooms there (150 euros / night for a double room). The price is absolutely not justified by the service provided.
There are 4 small rooms per cottage, with a toilet and a small handbasin with cold water and no shower. There are only a few showers for the 90 people staying in the area and they are only open 4 hours a day. The breakfast is ordinary but included in the price.
There is a very basic and dirty kitchen you can use if you don't want to pay for the restaurant which is really expensive as well.
The staff is for most of them not friendly at all.
Regarding the area, there is a hot pot if you walk about 30 minutes but this is absolutely not worth the walk compared to what can be found in so many other places in Iceland.
For information, there is no river crossing to reach the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jupiter219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Georg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: I cottages sono molto costosi per quello che offrono, meglio campeggiare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giacomo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Edvlcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank lunaluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kerlingarfjoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerlingarfjoll

Address: Kerlingarfjoellum, Seltjarnarnes, Reykjavik 172, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Seltjarnarnes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Seltjarnarnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing