We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frightening”
Review of Country Host Inn

Country Host Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Host Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Texarkana
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We called for directions and the clerk didn't know where she was working. We were reluctantly "greeted" through a filthy drive up window. It appeared that a drug sale was happening upon our arrival. A car was running and shining headlights into our room; a half naked, very high girl was seemed to be stalking from the back seat. Two police cars kept circling the premises. The carpet was wet and there was a strong smell of Pine Sol...ugh! The furniture was sticky. No savings here...we left immediately.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowyegretAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2009

Everything about this hotel seemed to be on the cheap, except the rates. The billboard on the highway advertised $28, the sign out front says $32, but I was charged $38 with no discounts for AAA. The exterior looked like it has been recently painted, but the facility overall was somewhat run down, as if the aesthetics of a new paint job would cover the crumpling stairs or rusting rails.

The clerk who checked me in was rude, at best. I asked for a good place to eat dinner and he told me Denny's or IHOP. I asked about the seafood restaurant nearby and the he raised his voice at me: "ONLY EAT AT DENNY'S OR IHOP", though he never said why.

My room was upstairs (no elevator) with a breathtaking view of nearby I-30. Even with the air-conditioner running (fortunately it was working well in the 95+ degree heat), I could hear the trucks along the highway. The deadbolt worked on the door, but there was no security chain. The upstairs ice machine didn't work so I had to go downstairs to get ice, which was very inconvenient.

The TV seemed to work OK, but half of the promised 55 channels didn't work: they were nothing but "snow". The HBO didn't work either and there was no channel guide in the room or TV Guide channel so I had to keep looking for something to watch.

The bed was hard and kind of lumpy in addition to being short-sheeted (queen bed with sheets for a full size bed).

The shower had plenty of hot water, but the towels were small and thin. There was a wash cloth, a bath towel, but no face towel. The shower door itself didn't latch peoperly and allowed water all over the floor... a definite safety hazard.

The free breakfast was a joke: donuts and coffee... and not very good donuts.Why even have "free breakfast" if it's only donuts & coffee?

I overslept in the morning and was coming out of the shower just before 9am where there was a loud knock on the door "Housekeeping". The housekeeper tried to come in and I said "I'm still in here". She then asked me "are you checking out by 11" and I replied I was. When I went to turn in my key, I told the clerk what room I was in and that I was checking out. "OK" is all she said... no "thank you" or "please come again".

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YFNETM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I've been traveling from Texas to Canada and back again. I planned my trip in advance, did my research, relied heavily on traveler reviews and have had a pretty decent one/two star hotel experience with exception to the Country Host Inn located in Texarkana. I couldn't find a way to leave the review on Yahoo! travel, so I'm leaving it in other spots widely used by travelers to let folks know that if you stay here, you may not feel safe or comfortable. I'm not a picky traveler, I understand a fifty sixty dollar a night hotel will get you a place to sleep and occasionally, a free cold breakfast. The problem is, this hotel has no hot water, doesn't seem to be aware of or care about that fact, doesn't provide basic things like trash cans in your room (this can get ugly, depending on the number of travelers) and the typical clientele tends to hang out in the parking lot, thumping their base and wandering around looking for something to do (it's not a nice feeling when your car is parked out there). It's very close to the highway, so you will, of course, hear traffic and be close to restaurants, but this is the first time I'm saying I would NOT stay here again. Ten more bucks would put me in a better spot. Families, don't stay here! P.S. The not so pleasant desk clerk bluntly told me people smoke in their non-smoking rooms. So much for that!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familytraveler123xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We were traveling from New York to Texas and needed a place to sleep. This did not even serve that purpose. It was 1:30am this place looked clean from the outside but inside was a different story. The "nonsmoking room" reaked of cigaretts. When I pulled back the covers a roached crawled out. The sheets and pillowcases stunk and there were hairs all over the bed. I really do not think they washed the sheets. Because of the cheaper price I wasn't expecting luxury, but I do expect cleanliness!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texarkana
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Texarkana Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Texarkana Arkansas
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Texarkana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
#5 of 19 in Texarkana
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Texarkana East
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Texarkana
Comfort Suites Texarkana
#5 of 18 in Texarkana
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Host Inn

Address: 900 Realtor Ave., Texarkana, AR 75502
Region: United States > Arkansas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Texarkana
Price Range: £17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Country Host Hotel Texarkana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing