We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing bad to say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Nothing bad to say”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and myself stayed here for two nights, it was wonderful, beautiful scenery, friendly staff, lovely environment. Would defiantly stay again.
We were going to stay for three nights but due to some quite heavy wind, that was keeping me up at night, we decided to leave.
This was completely our own fault for not checking whether forecasts. The staff were extremely helpful in checking us out a day early.
I will defiantly return, hopefully I remember to check the whether! Lol

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Better luck next time re the weather Rachel!! :)

Do you know we post a daily "Moods of Mt Barney" post on our Facebook page to help you see what the daily weather looks like?

Also, check the BOM Ipswich forecast, as it is the most accurate for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    39
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
93
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Everyone was so friendly and helpful- changing the day of one of their activities to suit our needs.The children loved the night exploration/damper making.Innes made us feel very safe doing the beginners rock climbing .The ropes in the nearby rock pools were a hit with the children .Scott and Janne

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi Janne, thanks for noticing our flexibility in adjusting our adventure programming to give kids and aduts the best opportunity to join in. A tip for holiday adventure programming - tell us what you want to do first and we'll base the whole holiday adventure program around it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was my first camping trip with my four boys. We loved it! Mia is fantastic, the facilities are clean and great and the creek nearby is perfect! We will be back and next time my husband is coming too! Thank you Mt Barney Lodge and especially thank you Mia.

Room Tip: Bring your own room, that's what makes it so great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi Leonie, I'm glad you had a fantastic first camping experience when solo-ing it with 4 boys. They must be very capeable!! I have passed on your feedback to Nea, who likes to know her admin assistance helps guests to plan a great weekend away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

A truly enjoyable way to tackle an otherwise difficult challenge for the uninitiated!!! Our guide Cam was extremely pleasant and professional and nothing was too much trouble. Lunch on the summit included brewed coffee; everything was exceptional. This a well managed safe way to climb to the summit. Would highly recommend this activity - be warned it is a long fairly hard slog; leave the high heels at home! I will be coming back - thank you guys :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Margi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi Margi, Cameron is one of our most experienced Outdoor Leaders on the mountain and has been up Mt Barney close to 30 times. It is clear that each ascent is a shared adventure!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We recently camped at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat for several days. It is nestled in the valley below Mt Barney, a very pretty part of the scenic rim. You can look out of your camp straight up at Mt Barney itself. Mt Maroon is nearby. As is Mt Lindsay. There are a number of good walks in the area. And the staff and owners willingly discuss the walks. Nea is the receptionist there. And she is very helpful. Well done, Nea. Innes Larkin is the owner together with his wife Tracey. He is an enthusiastic bloke with a wealth of local knowledge. Particularly about the walks. The staff organise guided walks and tours as well as provide lots of information. We will happily stay there again, soon. I would like to climb Mt Barney with Innes as a guide. It would be a grand walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hey Peter - Innes is always looking for an excuse to climb the mountain!! He would be happy to find a date that suits you. In addition, we have a number of experienced Outdoor Leaders who also guide groups up the untracked ridges of these mountains. Many of our staff can give face-to-face advice on track conditions and directions, however I always reccommend ringing ahead before your stay, to ensure that the most appropriate and expereinced advisor is on hand, as we do take some weekends off!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We found Mt Barney Lodge to be exactly what we needed! My partner needed to wind down and I needed to clear my head and get motivated. With a well set up glamping facility "Camper Barney", a fun and friendly rock climbing guide and plenty of information on the area, tracks; creeks; mountains and wildlife, we both enjoyed every minute of our stay :)! (Not to mention we pretty much had the whole place to ourselves. Can't wait to come again and tackle Mt Maroon! Thanks guys Danii & Chris

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danii H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi Danni, Thanks for your review of your stay and experiences. Yoy might like to know that Qld Parks and Wildlife Services did a controlled burn of Mt Maroon last week (late May). If you are wanting to bag a peak - then just go for it!! But you are after wildflowers, then you may like to leave that peak for a few months to allow it to regenerate. If there is spring rain, then there could be a good show of wildflowers in August/September. In the meantime, I would reccommend Mt May as a good alternate option. Please be sure to talk to us at the office regarding track advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was our first time at Mt Barney. We enjoyed that the camp ground is limited to 100 which gives everybody space as we were in a big group (30). The service was excellent. We had a big drama back at home (death in family) but we were offered the use of the landline phone as reception for mobiles was very limited. All the facilities were clean and the water was hot. Not like our last camping trip where they ran out of water twice.(different place).We certainly will be back as we enjoyed the quiet andbeautiful landscape

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hi Sabine,
Glad you were able to celebrate Australia Day with us ... you didn't mention the home-made lamingtons which can only mean that your kids didn't do any of the activities ... or they forgot to mention this treat to you!!
Our instant gas hot water is a good choice for sustainability, and it never runs out as you mentioned.
Glad we could be of service to you lending the phone at this difficult time. We are always happy to help with communication in times of emergency.
Please come and try us in the winter season as well!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barney View
19.8 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
24.3 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
14.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Kooralbyn Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Barney Creek Cottages
Barney Creek Cottages
#2 of 2 in Barney View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat

Property: Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat
Address: 1093 Upper Logan Rd, Barney View, Queensland 4287, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Barney View
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Barney View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Barney Lodge is family friendly, and has adventure activities for kids and adults including rock climbing, abseiling, kids night adventures, guided and self-guided bushwalking tracks, sunset ecotours and mountain guiding and expeditions. Situated at the base of Mt Barney within the Scenic Rim, Mt Barney Lodge is an Ecotourism retreat that offers self contained accommodation and optional meals. Relax in one of our Queenslander Homesteads, Rustic Cabins, Deluxe Camper Trailers, or try camping. Mt Barney Lodge is the perfect family destination with full creek frontage, open fireplaces, shade and a grassy camp ground. Qualified outdoor leaders run childrens’ adventure activities during holiday periods and weekends. Kids can play independently, ride their bike, and visit the farm animals who are helping with the permaculture garden. Mt Barney Lodge is perfect for small conferences, meetings and team building workshops. Groups are welcome with 46 people able to be accommodated in beds across the 6 venues.This wilderness experience is 90 minutes drive from Brisbane and the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing