We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 June 2014

When closing the curtains in the front bedroom it was quite awful to see many wasps' nests in the folds. The mosquito netting in other rooms had dead insects in them too. The main bathroom upstairs has a shower over the bath. The bath becomes quite slippery when used and as there is no non-slip mats or a handrail provided it is quite dangerous. After a wonderful visit 5 years ago, it was very disappointing to see the standards had dropped.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Sue, We have responded to your feedback immediately and removed the 2 mudwasp pods that you detected behind the curtain, and vaccuumed any trapped insects. As the mosquito nets had been laundered recently we are happy with their presentation. You may have overlooked the optional non-slip bathmat under the kitchen sink (the closest storage spot to the bathroom!), as we agree with you, that an over-bath shower does not suit everyone's mobility level. For this reason we advise those with potential access issues to use the downstairs shower, or even book Boolamoola Homestead as an alternative accommodation option may be preferable as they are both have flat shower trays.

I trust that my request for you to comply to our no-dog policy after a dog was observed to be in the house with your group has not influenced your perception of the quality of our accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a spectacular location to chill out and enjoy nature as it should be experienced. We have been to Mt Barney Lodge a few times now and have both camped and also stayed in the huts. The huts are lovely, but camping is the way to go! Bring your own tent and choose a location with million dollar views. There is plenty of room and I have never felt it too crowded. The nearby creek is lovely and there are short walks you can do as well. We have done the big walk up Mt Barney twice and be warned it is hard going: you have to get up early to make it back down before dark. Now we are happy to just potter around and enjoy the stunning landscapes and wildlife of this most picturesque corner of the Scenic Rim.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thanks Michael, I found your review inspirational today and have shared it on Facebook!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A small group of us camped here for four days and although some of the group had been here before it was the first camp here for us. The reception staff were helpful and friendly and offered valuable local information. There was plenty of space in the camp ground so campers had a lot of site room and it was quiet so it was lovely to hear the sound of running water in the nearby Logan River. The amenities block was kept clean at all times. You can just sit back and relax or go on short or long walks along the river or through the nearby bush.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith-Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

We welcome first-timers, and it is really pleasing to read that you had a sense of peace and quiet during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and myself stayed here for two nights, it was wonderful, beautiful scenery, friendly staff, lovely environment. Would defiantly stay again.
We were going to stay for three nights but due to some quite heavy wind, that was keeping me up at night, we decided to leave.
This was completely our own fault for not checking whether forecasts. The staff were extremely helpful in checking us out a day early.
I will defiantly return, hopefully I remember to check the whether! Lol

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Better luck next time re the weather Rachel!! :)

Do you know we post a daily "Moods of Mt Barney" post on our Facebook page to help you see what the daily weather looks like?

Also, check the BOM Ipswich forecast, as it is the most accurate for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Everyone was so friendly and helpful- changing the day of one of their activities to suit our needs.The children loved the night exploration/damper making.Innes made us feel very safe doing the beginners rock climbing .The ropes in the nearby rock pools were a hit with the children .Scott and Janne

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi Janne, thanks for noticing our flexibility in adjusting our adventure programming to give kids and aduts the best opportunity to join in. A tip for holiday adventure programming - tell us what you want to do first and we'll base the whole holiday adventure program around it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was my first camping trip with my four boys. We loved it! Mia is fantastic, the facilities are clean and great and the creek nearby is perfect! We will be back and next time my husband is coming too! Thank you Mt Barney Lodge and especially thank you Mia.

Room Tip: Bring your own room, that's what makes it so great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi Leonie, I'm glad you had a fantastic first camping experience when solo-ing it with 4 boys. They must be very capeable!! I have passed on your feedback to Nea, who likes to know her admin assistance helps guests to plan a great weekend away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

A truly enjoyable way to tackle an otherwise difficult challenge for the uninitiated!!! Our guide Cam was extremely pleasant and professional and nothing was too much trouble. Lunch on the summit included brewed coffee; everything was exceptional. This a well managed safe way to climb to the summit. Would highly recommend this activity - be warned it is a long fairly hard slog; leave the high heels at home! I will be coming back - thank you guys :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Margi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi Margi, Cameron is one of our most experienced Outdoor Leaders on the mountain and has been up Mt Barney close to 30 times. It is clear that each ascent is a shared adventure!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barney View
20.5 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
24.3 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
1.4 mi away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Christmas Creek Cafe`& Cabins
Christmas Creek Cafe`& Cabins
#5 of 5 in Lamington National Park
13 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barney Creek Cottages
Barney Creek Cottages
#2 of 2 in Barney View
63 reviews
19.9 mi away
Boonah Motel
Boonah Motel
#2 of 3 in Boonah
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat

Address: 1093 Upper Logan Rd, Barney View, Queensland 4287, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Barney View
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Barney View
Price Range: £58 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Barney Lodge is family friendly, and has adventure activities for kids and adults including rock climbing, abseiling, kids night adventures, guided and self-guided bushwalking tracks, sunset ecotours and mountain guiding and expeditions. Situated at the base of Mt Barney within the Scenic Rim, Mt Barney Lodge is an Ecotourism retreat that offers self contained accommodation and optional meals. Relax in one of our Queenslander Homesteads, Rustic Cabins, Deluxe Camper Trailers, or try camping. Mt Barney Lodge is the perfect family destination with full creek frontage, open fireplaces, shade and a grassy camp ground. Qualified outdoor leaders run childrens’ adventure activities during holiday periods and weekends. Kids can play independently, ride their bike, and visit the farm animals who are helping with the permaculture garden. Mt Barney Lodge is perfect for small conferences, meetings and team building workshops. Groups are welcome with 46 people able to be accommodated in beds across the 6 venues.This wilderness experience is 90 minutes drive from Brisbane and the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing