We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable camping experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We recently camped in the Mt Barney Lodge campgrounds for a couple of nights. The campground is spacious and has a wonderful view of Mt Barney. The location is very quiet and peaceful and, the amenities were very clean with hot showers. There is one covered shelter with a rustic wooden table and seats, which we found useful to cook our meals on our camp stove and to sit and eat . As there is currently only one amenities block in the campground, we would be hesitant to camp there in school holidays or public holidays, but fortunately my husband and I are retired, so we have the luxury of going camping at other times. The nights were very cold though, so take plenty of warm bedding and clothing if you camp there in June/July/August. There are fireplaces but you either need to take your own wood or purchase wood from the Lodge at $11 a bag. We found we needed a bag of wood for each camp night, as we love to sit by the fire whilst enjoying a glass or two of wine. The gentleman who greeted us on arrival was very friendly and helpful. I was happy to relax and read while my husband went hiking in the national park. The tracks are not well marked, so make sure you get a map from the Lodge. Overall, a very enjoyable camping experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueW17Sap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for your review Sue.
Yes our winter nights can be quite cold, but despite the cold winter weather it is still our most popular time for bookings. I'm not sure if you visited us mid week, or on a weekend, but we have the same cap on numbers on any day of the year. As an Advanced Ecotourism retreat we prioritize space and peace for our guests. Day visitors are often surprised when we are "full" to see big spaces between campsites. But I agree with you, come midweek and have the place to yourself!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in camper trailer "Barney" and were very impressed with the facilities. A big comfy bed, an open fire and views of Mount Barney made our stay perfect. The staff were very helpful and welcoming and the toilet/shower block was always spotless. We were only there for the weekend but did the Lower Portals walk on day 1 and hiked up Mount Maroon on day 2. The Lower Portals walk isn't very exciting but the desitination is well worth it and the hike up Mount Maroon was thouroughly enjoyable (both the hike and the destination). Loved the scrambling up the mountain and the impressive views all the way up.

We are in the process of arranging a camping trip with a group of our friends to show them how great this place is and to hike up Mount Barney!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank er1n_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Great to hear you'll be back to tackle Mt Barney!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our extended family are over 100 people strong. Each year, we organise a family reunion on the June long weekend as a way for family members to catch up and interact with each other. This year, we have chosen Mt Barney Lodge to host our special weekend. From the very first contact, the booking process was seamless. Given the size of the reunion, we had many many questions along the way from accommodation to catering. Nea was patient and helpful in answering all our questions.

As the reunion drew closer, we wanted some activities planned so Innes was called in to help with devising a schedule which can cater for the young and old. The activities planned were very successful. People abseiled, rock climbed, treasure hunted, baked dampers and competed in group challenges over the weekend. All were well organised and fun were had by all. We were also blessed with fabulous weather. The kids are still talking about it.

For our family, the age ranges from 6 months to 95 years of age so the quality and versatility of accommodation was very important. We booked the entire lodge including the homesteads, huts and clamping to ensure we have plenty of beds for those who can't camp. We could not ask for more. All buildings/amenities were clean, kitchen equipments well stocked. Moringararah Homestead is very special, deep in heritage. We asked for the linen package more for convenience (we were not expecting much given our previous experience with other accommodations). We were so surprised by the quality of the linen including the soft towels. All in all, babies and the oldies slept well in their warm cosy accommodation. We did not receive one negative comment from any family members.

Although the accommodation and activities etc were important, what made Mt Barney Lodge special for our family was the grounds. Innes, Tracey and the team have kept the rather vast area very clean and safe for everyone especially the little children. They could run around freely without any risk. The parents could sit back and relax; enjoying the calmness of the surrounds. The icing on top is waking up to Mt Barney in the distance, very magical.

Thank you to all the team at Mr Barney Lodge for making our family reunion so special this year. We hope to come back for another family reunion and/or with our individual family in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Kim,

Thank you for your detailed testimonial.

We are really pleased that your family reunion went so well, and that young and old connected with our special place. We enjoyed hearing the laughter drift up towards the office over the weekend, and the friendly family rivalry was apparent in the group challenges that I watched down at the creek.

We hope your family will carry special memories from this time together for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

When closing the curtains in the front bedroom it was quite awful to see many wasps' nests in the folds. The mosquito netting in other rooms had dead insects in them too. The main bathroom upstairs has a shower over the bath. The bath becomes quite slippery when used and as there is no non-slip mats or a handrail provided it is quite dangerous. After a wonderful visit 5 years ago, it was very disappointing to see the standards had dropped.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Sue, We have responded to your feedback immediately and removed the 2 mudwasp pods that you detected behind the curtain, and vaccuumed any trapped insects. As the mosquito nets had been laundered recently we are happy with their presentation. You may have overlooked the optional non-slip bathmat under the kitchen sink (the closest storage spot to the bathroom!), as we agree with you, that an over-bath shower does not suit everyone's mobility level. For this reason we advise those with potential access issues to use the downstairs shower, or even book Boolamoola Homestead as an alternative accommodation option may be preferable as they are both have flat shower trays.

I trust that my request for you to comply to our no-dog policy after a dog was observed to be in the house with your group has not influenced your perception of the quality of our accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a spectacular location to chill out and enjoy nature as it should be experienced. We have been to Mt Barney Lodge a few times now and have both camped and also stayed in the huts. The huts are lovely, but camping is the way to go! Bring your own tent and choose a location with million dollar views. There is plenty of room and I have never felt it too crowded. The nearby creek is lovely and there are short walks you can do as well. We have done the big walk up Mt Barney twice and be warned it is hard going: you have to get up early to make it back down before dark. Now we are happy to just potter around and enjoy the stunning landscapes and wildlife of this most picturesque corner of the Scenic Rim.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thanks Michael, I found your review inspirational today and have shared it on Facebook!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A small group of us camped here for four days and although some of the group had been here before it was the first camp here for us. The reception staff were helpful and friendly and offered valuable local information. There was plenty of space in the camp ground so campers had a lot of site room and it was quiet so it was lovely to hear the sound of running water in the nearby Logan River. The amenities block was kept clean at all times. You can just sit back and relax or go on short or long walks along the river or through the nearby bush.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith-Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

We welcome first-timers, and it is really pleasing to read that you had a sense of peace and quiet during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and myself stayed here for two nights, it was wonderful, beautiful scenery, friendly staff, lovely environment. Would defiantly stay again.
We were going to stay for three nights but due to some quite heavy wind, that was keeping me up at night, we decided to leave.
This was completely our own fault for not checking whether forecasts. The staff were extremely helpful in checking us out a day early.
I will defiantly return, hopefully I remember to check the whether! Lol

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Better luck next time re the weather Rachel!! :)

Do you know we post a daily "Moods of Mt Barney" post on our Facebook page to help you see what the daily weather looks like?

Also, check the BOM Ipswich forecast, as it is the most accurate for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barney View
2.9 mi away
Barney Creek Cottages
Barney Creek Cottages
#2 of 2 in Barney View
64 reviews
24.3 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
14.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Kooralbyn Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat

Address: 1093 Upper Logan Rd, Barney View, Queensland 4287, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Barney View
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Barney View
Price Range: £66 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Barney Lodge is family friendly, and has adventure activities for kids and adults including rock climbing, abseiling, kids night adventures, guided and self-guided bushwalking tracks, sunset ecotours and mountain guiding and expeditions. Situated at the base of Mt Barney within the Scenic Rim, Mt Barney Lodge is an Ecotourism retreat that offers self contained accommodation and optional meals. Relax in one of our Queenslander Homesteads, Rustic Cabins, Deluxe Camper Trailers, or try camping. Mt Barney Lodge is the perfect family destination with full creek frontage, open fireplaces, shade and a grassy camp ground. Qualified outdoor leaders run childrens’ adventure activities during holiday periods and weekends. Kids can play independently, ride their bike, and visit the farm animals who are helping with the permaculture garden. Mt Barney Lodge is perfect for small conferences, meetings and team building workshops. Groups are welcome with 46 people able to be accommodated in beds across the 6 venues.This wilderness experience is 90 minutes drive from Brisbane and the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing