We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Nearby Hotels
Oakwood Hotel(Nairobi)
US$70
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$198
US$169
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$127
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$30
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Decasa Hotel(Nairobi)
US$36
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diamond Hotel(Nairobi)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
US$142
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Castle Forest Lodge(Mount Kenya National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
184
54
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
54
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsol pejeta conservancygame driveschimpanzee sanctuaryluxury tentswatering holewater holeblack rhinomain buildingelectric fencenight safaripastaserena campdining areahot water bottles at nightfirst rowbuffet stylesweet waters
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

SweetWaters is one of our favorite places to visit. We love the tents nestled along the water hole, where animals come regularly for water. The view of Mt. Kenya is spectacular! The food is fabulous. A favorite get away!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Not often does on get to see the big five in one game drive, but we did. Setting out from Sweetwaters tented camp we headed to Old Pejeta, a connected game ranch, and along the river. A big male lion sitting quietly in the breeze, a herd of Buffalos and plenty of other game. We soon ran into a rather pregnant elephant and her extended family who trumpeted our hasty departure. As the afternoon was closing we spotted a massive male leopard hunched down near the track, and in its mouth a large adult babboon. We saw all this by ourselves and with no other vehicles to bother us....oh and by the way, White Rhino on the plains on the way home. The tents were lovely...ideally stay in tents 40 to 51 as they are newer and less congested. The food good but not excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Worth two nights at this lodge at the base of Mt. kenya, especially if you have just come off the MT.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at this tented camp last week with the family. We were all very impressed. The tents are very cosy and luxurious. Our tents were located right infront of the watering hole, so we could see the animal come to drink through the day and night. We got to see buffalos, rhinos, girrafes, zebras and all kinds of deers right from our beds in the tents.
Also very close to nature as you can here the sounds through the tent wall all night through. the restaurant and bar are also nice and with great views to the watering hole.
Great food and service tops off a overall wonderful experience.

The Sweetwaters park itself is quite small, but that makes spotting wildlife easier. We got to see four of the Big Five in a day.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms 3,4 and 5 as they are located right infront of the watering hole.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here with my husband for a few days and we really enjoyed the rest. The tents are strategic to the animal watering hole so you can see zebras, antelopes and warthogs coming to drink. The food is great. The tents can get a bit cold but they have extra duvets. The tents are also quite thin and close by so you may end up disturbing the neighbours. Upgrading to deluxe accommodation works much better. All in all...great stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are best.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This was our first family safari so don't have anything to compare it with, but we had a great time.

Pros:
- location next to waterhole allows you to relax observing the animals.
- luxury tents mean you get the amazing (and a bit scary!) noises of the animals at night but without any loss of comfort.
- very friendly staff who go out of their way to help. Particular thanks to reception staff Emmah, Carol and Charity, and the kitchen staff for meeting our various family requests!

Cons:
- food was a bit repetitive
- swimming pool was a bit cold for the kids despite sunny weather: maybe could be solar heated?

But overall a big thumbs up.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank StrahanSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews