We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for family safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for family safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Delightful first safari experience. So much to see and experience. The tents were really comfortable, you feel you are sleeping under canvas, but with the added bonus of bathroom, hot water bottles and early morning tea! Buffet meals all excellent with extensive choice. Altogether highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    38
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
55
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have been to sweet waters tented camp several times and every time their service is very high and consistent. We really enjoyed our stay and the staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. I would recommend everyone to visit the lodge. We were treating our parents on their birthday's and wow the service provided was just amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thika, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

SweetWaters is one of our favorite places to visit. We love the tents nestled along the water hole, where animals come regularly for water. The view of Mt. Kenya is spectacular! The food is fabulous. A favorite get away!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Not often does on get to see the big five in one game drive, but we did. Setting out from Sweetwaters tented camp we headed to Old Pejeta, a connected game ranch, and along the river. A big male lion sitting quietly in the breeze, a herd of Buffalos and plenty of other game. We soon ran into a rather pregnant elephant and her extended family who trumpeted our hasty departure. As the afternoon was closing we spotted a massive male leopard hunched down near the track, and in its mouth a large adult babboon. We saw all this by ourselves and with no other vehicles to bother us....oh and by the way, White Rhino on the plains on the way home. The tents were lovely...ideally stay in tents 40 to 51 as they are newer and less congested. The food good but not excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Worth two nights at this lodge at the base of Mt. kenya, especially if you have just come off the MT.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at this tented camp last week with the family. We were all very impressed. The tents are very cosy and luxurious. Our tents were located right infront of the watering hole, so we could see the animal come to drink through the day and night. We got to see buffalos, rhinos, girrafes, zebras and all kinds of deers right from our beds in the tents.
Also very close to nature as you can here the sounds through the tent wall all night through. the restaurant and bar are also nice and with great views to the watering hole.
Great food and service tops off a overall wonderful experience.

The Sweetwaters park itself is quite small, but that makes spotting wildlife easier. We got to see four of the Big Five in a day.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms 3,4 and 5 as they are located right infront of the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here with my husband for a few days and we really enjoyed the rest. The tents are strategic to the animal watering hole so you can see zebras, antelopes and warthogs coming to drink. The food is great. The tents can get a bit cold but they have extra duvets. The tents are also quite thin and close by so you may end up disturbing the neighbours. Upgrading to deluxe accommodation works much better. All in all...great stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This was our first family safari so don't have anything to compare it with, but we had a great time.

Pros:
- location next to waterhole allows you to relax observing the animals.
- luxury tents mean you get the amazing (and a bit scary!) noises of the animals at night but without any loss of comfort.
- very friendly staff who go out of their way to help. Particular thanks to reception staff Emmah, Carol and Charity, and the kitchen staff for meeting our various family requests!

Cons:
- food was a bit repetitive
- swimming pool was a bit cold for the kids despite sunny weather: maybe could be solar heated?

But overall a big thumbs up.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank StrahanSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Kenya National Park
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
22.8 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
26.3 mi away
Serena Mountain Lodge
Serena Mountain Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
22.7 mi away
Rhino Watch Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwaters Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Property: Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Address: Ol Pajeta Conservancy, Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Mount Kenya National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mount Kenya National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sweetwaters Serena Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sweetwaters Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Tented Camp Hotel Mount Kenya National Park
Sweetwaters Serena Camp Kenya/Mount Kenya National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing