We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Serena Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here for the first night in our 6 night trip to Kenya. I was an excellent way to start our vacation. All rooms over look a water hole where animals come to visit. We saw water bucks, wart hogs, cape buffalo, monkeys, lots of different birds and many more. The balconies are great for animal viewing and just to take in the beauty of Mountain Kenya. The temperature at night gets very chilli, they put a hot water bag in our bed while we were at dinner, so we came home to warm bed! I thought that's a very nice touch. The food was great and service was supreme!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwjwenjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    150
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
81
151
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Found our 1-night stay here to be charming, exciting, funny, unique.
Room was cozy. The photo hide was a unique experience. The blue Sykes monkeys WILL take your stuff if you leave your door open! The balconies were great for viewing the water hole and its visitors: buffalo, water buck, genets, very noisy Egyptian geese, and other creatures of the night. Did not receive any wake up calls throughout the night, even though some of the animals we wanted to see did, apparently, show up. But the morning wake up was just in time for a spectacular view of Mt Kenya at sunrise! Food and drink were tasty and buffet style. Nice evening program not to miss. The afternoon mountain hike was pleasant but did not reveal any creatures. Lovely tea break in the forest! Don't miss this place! (I can see where Disney got the inspiration for their Animal Kingdom Lodge-@ places like this.)

Room Tip: Every room is good-they all have a balcony looking out onto the water hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanyuki Town, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

"We did not see any wild animals but a naked man swimming in the water hole". One of the many hilarious comments on the 'Wildlife Seen Book' which you should peruse though when there. HILARIOUS comments in there. For those of you looking for tranquility, look no further, you're at home here. This is the first hotel where you open the curtains at night, instead of drawing them together cuz the waterhole is right there. The lower rooms? The coolest of all. There is a tunnel stretching a couple of feet from the Lodge drawing you closer to the water hole. I used to sleep at 1am, so I could watch the elephants come for their shift to hang around the water hole. You get to view wildlife present at the water hole from both the tunnel, your room, and all the general decks in the Lodge. If at all you've got interest in particular wildlife, you get to request as to whether you wanna be woken up for the viewing when such has been spotted by the naturalist.
Nice place to hang.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adams K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We absolutely loved this lodge. It was charming and secluded, and just a really wonderful, relaxing evening. Do try to get there in time for the 3pm game walk (extra charge), as we were disappointed to have missed this. I recommend this lodge without hesitation.

Pros
-Leopard and monkeys on the way in
-Beautiful walk on path to lodge
-Juice on arrival
-Beautiful balcony with long padded bench overlooking the water hole/ natural salt lick
-Underground bunker gives a close-up view
-Nice roof viewing deck
-Hot water bags in bed as part of turndown service
-Felt-lined dish for jewelry
-Plenty of outlets with 24hr power
-Bathrobes
-Very nice, friendly staff
-Evening slide show (that night it was Kenyan history and a briefing on the animals)
-Excellent food! Good selection of wine by the bottle
-Nightly lure for cats (we saw three genet cats)
-At dinner they go around with a list of animals and will knock on your door if the ones you select appear at the water hole during the night

Cons
-No hair dryer

Room Tip: All the rooms have similar balconies so I'm not sure it really matters. There's no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our group spent one night at Serena Mountain Lodge. Unfortunately it rained during the day off and on so we couldn't take advantage of the flora & fauna walk. Watching for the wildlife to come to the watering hole from the long balcony that spanned the lodge was an experience. We saw wart hogs, gazelles and Common bushbucks. The highlight was seeing some female elephants and their babies wander in after dark. One of the matriarchs straddled a huge rock near the watering hole and proceded to scratch herself on it for several minutes. Wished I'd had a movie camera! The staff was pleasant, the food was good, the rooms and lodge a little tired and a tad rustic, but overall a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed one night here both before and after our 5 day trek up Mount Kenya. Although quite a large building it was designed well so as to blend in with the forest. It seemed like there was more staff than guests and they were very attentive, but not intrusive. The water hole provided some great viewing whilst relaxing on the open balcony, especially after the hike! Fairly limited selection of food, but it covered all the bases and was well presented and of good quality.

The hotel comes with it's own guide if you feel like walking up the mountain, this is Benson who was fantastic, unbelievably knowledge about every bird/plant/animal you can expect to encounter and an absoluete master of all the routes no matter the weather! You can also encounter him guiding the 2 hour forest walks the hotel puts on in the afternoon, make sure you have the "Elephants Milk" in your coffee!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the watering hole, the lower floor don't have balconies, I'd gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent three days here to finish up on some important work that just couldn't get done amid the normal hustle and bustle of the office. We needed the time out.

At this amazing hideaway tucked inside Mt. Kenya national park we quickly rejuvenated our depleted mental reserves and dug into our formidable task with relish. The lodge was reminiscent of Noah's ark.

There was ample conferencing room, facilities, WIFI, regular tea/coffee and biting service, and a sumptuous menu to pick from.

Lots of monkeys, antelopes, birds and warthogs. Elephant herds and hyena packs are a constant feature at the watering hole outside.

I did not get to see a leopard, though they are occasionally spotted - The staff are kind enough to give you a wake up call once the animal you are keen to see comes around for a drink, regardless of the hour.

Elegant rooms, keen and pleasant staff, and lots of time to contemplate nature.

A must visit !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MugambiEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Kenya National Park
19.5 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
15.2 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
295 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
325 reviews
16.2 mi away
Outspan Hotel
Outspan Hotel
#4 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
98 reviews
15.9 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Mountain Lodge

Property: Serena Mountain Lodge
Address: PO Box 48690, Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Mount Kenya National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Mount Kenya National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Serena Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 2,194 metres on the slopes of Mount Kenya, Serena Mountain Lodge is surrounded by a dense rainforest that comes alive at dusk with a myriad of sounds that make the African bush so special and exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serena Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Hotel Mount Kenya National Park
Serena Mountain Lodge Kenya/Mount Kenya National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing