We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax after a Safari”
Review of Pumulani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Malawi National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pumulani
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to relax after a Safari”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights after a safari in Zambia. The rooms were incredible, clean, spacious, very private and with great views over the lake. Whilst there are a number of activities available, diving, cycling, kayaking and walking, there was no pressure to participate, if you want a quiet relax after a hectic safari its perfect. I would recommend the dhow sunset cruise.
The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was of a high standard. One word of caution would be if you are not fit the steps down to some rooms, the pool and the beach are challenging! If you have any joint problems you should let staff know and they may be able to arrange a room at the top and a golf buggy to take you down to the beach.
To get here from Lilongwe you have a choice of either a 3.5 hour drive frm the airport taking in the sights of Malawi or a 45 minute flight, make sure you discuss this with your travel agent before you leave.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    14
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
55
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

It is my third visit in this lodge. The first two stays were perfect and the food delicious. The chef has changed since April 2011 and the food is not what we could expect from a lodge who charges 500 US$ per night. The first two years, all meals were original with a specific touch of the chef (spices, presentation, way of cooking meats). I will now classify the cooking as the one we can find in an average restaurant in Lilongwe (not good standards) and a bad restaurant in the UK. Fortunately , the local staff was very helpful and available to us.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jocelinlilongwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This splendid lodge tumbles down a wooded hill to a sandy beach on the southern lakeshore, just inside Lake Malawi National Park. We were warmly welcomed in the main building, with its spectacular views, then taken to our frankly stunning villa room, with not one but two balconies.

Sunset dhow cruises on the lake set out every day, there are watersports, bird walks and the opportunity to visit the very friendly local village. They've also just installed a huge telescope, giving you the opportunity to do some stargazing. But the best thing to do to be honest is simply laze around enjoying the lodge.

Run by the very well regarded Robin Pope safaris, they have applied safari lodge management principles (activities included, friendly atmosphere, opportunity to dine with other guests) and put them into a beach resort - something we have been wishing someone would do for ages. If you love the safari experience, and are looking for the perfect end to your trip to Southern Africa, this lodge is pretty much perfect.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the one with the bath with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MirandaMEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We stayed at Pumulani for three nights last May and have been meaning to write a review ever since. We've been fortunate enough to stay at some great places in the past, but have seldom come across something that is quite as amazing as Pumulani. As mentioned by previous reviewers, the location is out-of-this-world, the villas are exquisite, the staff without exception are first class with a natural friendliness (much like almost everyone in Malawi), and every meal we had was delicious. You can take things at your own pace, either by just relaxing or taking advantage of the numerous activities on offer. And of course, there's the stunning lake - did we mention the location yet? We could have happily spent weeks there but, alas, had to move on. We are trying to think of an excuse to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Incredible! - wonderfully relaxing, STUNNING location, rooms to die for, fantastic service, perfect choice of watersports.
Didn't stay at the end of a safari (visiting family instead) so found variety of wildlife extraordinary (baboons on balcony, hippos off the dhow...)
Bettina and Luke (hosts) made it feel like a weekend with friends.
This is a very very special place, and if you get the chance to stay here, do!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShetlandCrescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Just beautiful, the perfect end to a hectic safari. Betty and Luke are just lovely, they made us feel so at home and are the perfect hosts. The setting is stunning overlooking the lake and the villas are huge and so tasteful and light and airy with huge surround views and decks. You can just relax or enjoy nature walks,( Luke is a fantastic guide with so much knowledge to share), trips on the Dhow to watch the beautiful sunset, snorkelling trips and so much more but everything is geared to what you want to do. You can have lunch on the terrace or by the beach, the food is delicious. It is a dream of a place with great birdlife and monkeys and baboons to entertain you!
We would love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilacrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

4 Nights at Pumulani. Wow. What a stay. Run superbly by Bettina and Luke, this property lets you do as little or as much as you want. Want to use the boat for a guided snorkling trip? Done. Want to ride a bike with a guide through the village? Done. Want to to go on a morning hike? Done. Want to do absolutely nothing but lay by the pool? Done. Georgeous villas. Great Food. A team that cares and loves their jobs in an area where friendly is an understatement of the people. Your hand will get tired from waving to all of the kids and locals who wave at you. Pumulani is special. Its a great part of a safari (the other Robin Pope camps properties are superb) or a great place just to undwind. I left last week and am already planning my return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MONYLINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Malawi National Park
3.0 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
81 reviews
24.1 mi away
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mangochi
64 reviews
5.4 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Makokola Retreat
The Makokola Retreat
#1 of 3 in Mangochi
118 reviews
10.9 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#2 of 18 in Mangochi
10 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumulani

Property: Pumulani
Address: Monkey Bay, Lake Malawi National Park 10101, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Malawi National Park
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pumulani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The brightest star on the Lake.” Pumulani is situated on the west side of the Nankumba Peninsula in the south end of Lake Malawi – romantically called “The Lake of Stars.” The peninsula is recognised as one of the most beautiful shores of the lake and borders Lake Malawi National Park (a World Heritage Site). The lodge is built on a steep hillside which provides the most spectacular views from our villas, dining and main lodge area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pumulani Hotel Lake Malawi National Park
Pumulani Malawi/Lake Malawi National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing