We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax in beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pumulani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Malawi National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pumulani
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relax in beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Amazing wild but safe environment with fab views of Lake Malawi.
Sundowner with excellent Malawi gin and fresh samosas in a sailing dhow with friendly crew.
After delicious dinner watched stars with real telescope, meteors, Saturn's rings - what a treat.
My only complaint - the bathroom was so big it needed a string quartet to complete it.
You need good legs for all the steps down to the wonderful beach.
No night life, discos, jet skiiing, high rise hotels - just quiet lapping of the waves and shreek of fish eagle.

Room Tip: Torch is provided to get to rooms along wooden walkways through the indigenous forest with monkeys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanieHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    14
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
55
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent four nights here in May,and it was fantastic.
The food,stargazing,snorkelling,are all brilliant but the management and staff deserve much praise for making our stay so special.
If you are looking for an escape away from city life,this place is a must.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Pumulani website does not do the lodge any justice- you need to see it... lets start with the rooms... they are HUGE! Until you see them you cannot comprehend the sheer size of them... misleading from the outside. Pumulani is a great place to relax and forget about the outside world for a moment. Was my husbands 40th birthday and a cake was made for him and sang happy birthday to by the staff.. thanks Tapiwe! Great birthday breakfast on the Dhow was also arranged by Rob....many thanks! Friendly and helpful staff do all they can to give you that trip to remember. Priority was to photograph Fish Eagles... and we certainly achieved that thanks to the help of Justice who knew just where to find them. Highly recommend the snorkeling.. don't forget your swimming costume like I did. The sundowner on the Dhow is highly recommended... so tranquil. Food was great but most memorable.... catfish fillets done al-a Tapiwe style..served with chorizio infused couscous.. yum! Best dessert ...so many to choose from .. but those that stood out.. banana tartlet and chocolate pie.. yum! Great beach .. relax or go kayaking..sailing... as well as beautiful pool or swim in the lake.
There are a number of stairs to get to some of the rooms and down to the beach so if you have any issues with steep climbs it is best to let the lodge know so they can best place you in rooms more suitable.

Room Tip: Villa 6 has an amazing lake view but be prepared to climb stairs to get here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilongwe, Malawi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Its a place we have been hearing about and when we were there on our honeymoon (Nyengo and Sarah) it was like, this is a place you wanna stay with the one you love away from all the busy town life. Alex and Karina thanks guys for the warm welcome you gave us the food and room was all magic. Villa 9 was awesome, facing the lake, all we could hear are the birds and the calmness of the lake. Pumulani is one place you wanna visit in your life time if you who believes nature and value for your money and better services. The rooms so specious and well equiped, plans underway to visit again as we cant get enough of the place. Alex and Karina keep up the fantastic work and hoping to see you so soon to do it over again at Pumulani.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyengo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilongwe, Lilongwe, Malawi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent 3 of our honeymoon nights at Pumulani and enjoyed every minute of it.
From the day we arrived, warm welcome from Alex and Karina, him walking with us to our Villa (7).oh we have fond memories of that magical villa.
That place is magic waiting for you to experience it. We enjoyed the Breakfast Dow, the Cocktails... it's like everyone went out of their way to make sure we really had a good honeymoon.
The night before we left, they organized our dinner table by the rocks, in dim lantern light,free champagne, the works....the whole enchilada....whoever came up with that idea is a genius.
We cant thank you enough for the wonderful time we had at Pumulani.
From Alex, to Tapiwa in the kitchen, your chicken dish was my fav.
Danford and Miccah at the Beach for organizing the The Dow , Kayaks. and ofcourse the fishing....you guys are awesome.
Aron at the bar, cant believe your beer was better chilled but the prices are actually lower than at my local joint back in town in Lilongwe at Chester.

We are already planning to go back for our first anniversary November 2014.....keep up the good work guys, U make Pumulani flawless.

Room Tip: Villa 7- The view of the sunrise and sun set on the lake waters is awesome from the comfort of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenMangani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Several generations of our family spent an ideal week-end at Pumulani. From the greeting by Alex and Jake, to the excellent lunch served immediately, to the extraordinarily spacious and well-equipped villas, to all the other subsequent meals served on the deck or on the beach, this place has it all together. The views from the bar and restaurant and pool of Lake Malawi are breathtaking, the swimming and snorkeling and dhow sail at sunset a continuing pleasure. All the staff participated in making our stay there a relaxed and luxurious interval. Nothing was too much trouble. Pumulani may be a bit out of the way, and the prices may seem high, but the rewards of the experience are worth the effort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eagle17NewtonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Luxury. Decadence. Getting spoilt. If you like that type of attention, this would be the place for you. The best of most worlds, right on the lakeshore, soft white sand beaches and a swimming pol for those who prefer familiarity.

Stargazing, Sunset Sails on the Dhow and our personal favourite a Night Braai on the Beach. (Thats a BBQ for non Sowf Effrikens).

Also, dont forget the flowing of ice cold "Greens"......Carlsberg.

Room Tip: Ask for the first Villa on the left, most magnificent views. Best Villa in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Malawi National Park
24.1 mi away
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mangochi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
5.4 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 18 in Mangochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
22.7 mi away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumulani

Property: Pumulani
Address: Monkey Bay, Lake Malawi National Park 10101, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Malawi National Park
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pumulani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The brightest star on the Lake.” Pumulani is situated on the west side of the Nankumba Peninsula in the south end of Lake Malawi – romantically called “The Lake of Stars.” The peninsula is recognised as one of the most beautiful shores of the lake and borders Lake Malawi National Park (a World Heritage Site). The lodge is built on a steep hillside which provides the most spectacular views from our villas, dining and main lodge area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pumulani Hotel Lake Malawi National Park
Pumulani Malawi/Lake Malawi National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing