We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Ranked #2 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
antibes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed only one night on the Cheriton guest house but we enjoyed the warm atmosphere of that very nice house. Hosts are great and available, breakfast on the deck was just perfect and the room very confortable. Thanks again. Patrick, Estelle and Camille from Réunion Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank estelle76Antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We seem to have some special bond with the people from your island. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
150
33
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Dirk and Denise have created a great little place to stay in Simon's Town. Very cozy clean and welcoming. It was great that it was just steps away from the beloved penguins on Boulders Beach. We enjoyed a great view of the Bay as we ate a well made breakfast. An the decor and feeling of the place was just wonderful. There's nothing bad I could say about the place. We hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Try to book the room with the attached bar. It has great collection of maritime knick-knacks and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesaleeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheriton-simonstown, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us what you thought of us. We also enjoyed your enthusiasm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Great place to stay, I have used it several times over the years and it is my first choice of accomodation when I go to the Simon'stown, beautiful view over False Bay and the SMST harbour, always clean, neat and cosy. Owners friendly and unobstrusive but there when you need them. If I get the opportunity again I'll certainly return

Greg C

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 91GregC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheriton-simonstown, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
I certaily hope that you will continue to return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Upon arrival you are met by very friendly person(s) (Dirk in my case). They explain and advice you how to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They readily assist you in renting car, booking tours, etc. The rooms of the B&B are big, nicely decorated. Every morning you have a breakfast in a terrace with a bay view. The price for the room is very reasonable.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Igor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
I am glad we could assist you with all your requests. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiterstadt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We spent four nights in this B&B in Simons Town on our trip to South Africa.

The room we had was nice, although quite small and so was the bathroom. Breakfast was good and Denise and Dirk were very helpful and friendly. The B&B has a small pool and a BBQ that is free to use.

If you are looking for a Safe Harbor outside of Cape Town at an affordable price, then this is your place to go. If you are looking for a luxurious hide-away, then it probably isn't.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus-ffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed one night in their guest house and two nights in the apartment which is also very close to the guest house. What can we tell, it really was a great stay. Dirk and Denise are such nice persons and they care a lot about their guests. Every room looks different and is so nicely decorated. It's an individual little paradise. The swimming pool is very clean and you will enjoy your breakfast with an excellent view over the ocean. There are many more things to tell, so go and make your own experience. Next time we would definitely not like to stay at any other guest house or hotel in Cape Town.
Thank you so much Denise and Dirk for this lovely stay with you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheriton-simonstown, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
We also enjoyed your happy family. We were lucky to have you referred to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have stayed at the Cheriton many times, not just for 1 night but for 6 or 7 weeks at a time.

You will travel many miles to find a better place to stay.

Great hospitality, comfortable rooms, excellent food & those extra personal touches from the hosts which make you feel at home.
The views from the deck are stunning & it is great to have a wonderful breakfast out there.

I stayed there on my own & always found interesting conversation with the other guests most enjoyable.
I did not have a car but was able to see all the sights, walk into Simon' Town etc or use the excellent tour guide personally recommended by Denise & Dirk for trips to other places on the Cape Peninsula.
If you are a first time visitor this must be top of your list of places to stay in the area.

Peter Smith
UK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We miss you. Looking forward to seeing you and Caroline this year even though you will not be staying this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
1.0 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
11.4 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.6 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Guest House B&B

Property: Cheriton Guest House B&B
Address: 19 Belmont Road | Seaforth, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheriton Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and very cosy, century old Victorian home overlooking False Bay. Maritime theme throughout. Quiet, safe suburb. 5 minutes walk to the famous Boulders penguin colony and the beach. 10 minutes drive to Cape Point national park. 30 different bird species are frequent visitors to our lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheriton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton Guest House B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing