We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cozy accommodation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheriton Guest House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Ranked #2 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great cozy accommodation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Very very very nice room we had indeed! All decoration and things around the house is remarkable collection of life :) We had the room downstair with honesty bar attached and that was just something, all small little things tells a story.
Breakfast was super with sea-view and the little garden the house has is just beautiful!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ebe79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheriton-simonstown, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are so pleased that you responded to the coziness of Cheriton. That is exactly the ambience that we strive for. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
145
33
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helperby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for two nights at Cheriton and really enjoyed it. Denise and Dirk were really welcoming and the breakfast was top notch with a great view of the sea. We stayed in the double room just outside and it had an honesty bar attached to it - you really must see this for yourselves, they have built the bar brilliantly. The best local attraction is the Penguins at Boulders Beach. We would definitely stay at Cheriton again.

Room Tip: Choose the double room outside - simple great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
We always enjoy people who appreciate our taste as much as you did. Thank you for taking the trouble to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I've stayed for eight nights. Boy did I have a great time. I was made very welcome & the nautical decor throughout fell into my taste. The breakfast's was also very nice & filling. My hosts went out of their place to assist me & made me comfortable. I will definately go back there for another visit. I would also highly recommend it to any one looking for a great place to stay. Dirk & Denise thanks a lot. I appreciate everything you did for me. Regards. Johan

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
We hope you mean it when you say you are coming back because you really became one of our family and we shall miss you. We also enjoyed your enthusiasm for Simon's Town and Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was the last stop on our trip around SA and we had put a lot of thought into choosing to stay in Simon's Town rather than Cape Town itself. The Cheriton's great internet site swung it for us and we were not disappointed with our decision. We are a family of four so the Outeniqua Room with it's separate bedroom for the children was just what we needed. The décor and garden are lovely, there are so many details to take in! Everything is spotlessly clean. Dirk and Denise were superb hosts, helping us with directions to get to the nearby attractions and checking whether the cable car was open.. We loved sitting at the breakfast bar soaking up the morning sunshine and looking out over False Bay. Next time we will come in the summer so we can use that inviting looking pool and Jacuzzi!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
What more can we ask but that we were able to give you some good memories with which to leave South Africa with. Thank you for letting us know that we achieved that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Another wonderful holiday at such a special guest house. The atmosphere is just the best and I felt so comfortable and the welcome from Denise and Dirk is exceptional. I will definately recommend it to anyone visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Your review is so important to us but also to our potential guests.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at Cheriton for one night and wish we could have stayed for many more. The hosts, Denise and Dirk, are friendly and gracious and made our stay a wonderful experience. This is one of the best guest houses in South Africa!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Wow! Thank you for being so enthusiastic! To be called one of the best in South Africa is praise indeed. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Second time to Simonstown and second time at the Cheriton. Dirk and Denise just KNOW how to make a stay work right. They live to serve you and you feel exceptionally well looked after. No matter how early you can always be sure of a chat, a smile, and the best best best breakfast in town! Whether in a room, or the apartment (if available) you feel like the most important guest they've had! They look after you. I was on a film shoot which was very busy and I could not have functioned without knowing my needs, privacy, and comfort were being looked after by Dirk and Denise.

So....I'll ask again....why are you reading this?! Book already!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
We were the lucky ones to have guests so enthusiastic about our breakfast, photography, sharks, penguins and everything about Simon's Town. We love it and like people who do too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
1.0 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
7.3 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Guest House B&B

Property: Cheriton Guest House B&B
Address: 19 Belmont Road | Seaforth, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheriton Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and very cosy, century old Victorian home overlooking False Bay. Maritime theme throughout. Quiet, safe suburb. 5 minutes walk to the famous Boulders penguin colony and the beach. 10 minutes drive to Cape Point national park. 30 different bird species are frequent visitors to our lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cheriton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton Guest House B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing