We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Ranked #2 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg, Sweden
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A excellent guesthouse with wunderful, tasteful and clean rooms, a very nice garden, a cosy verandah and well-stocked pub. The hosts were engaged and the file at the room gave a lot of interesting information.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anneli O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
It was great having you, thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    33
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
151
34
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It was a pleasure to stay at the Cheriton B&B. Dirk and Denise are supernice hosts and made our stay together with the beautiful guest house perfect. Breakfast with seaview, next to the pinguin beach and not far away from the cape of good hope national park made it the best choice we could have taken there. thanks a lot. No Problems at all.

Room Tip: There is a room with a colocated bar, so if you want to have a drink late, it will be open only for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are glad you liked our Guest House so much, thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I am a South African tourist guide. In November i was with a tourist group in Simons Town and there were problems with my booking at a hotel. It was after 9 pm and i had to find a place to stay. I phoned a view guest houses in the area, going down a list, and my fith call was the first one where someone answered the phone! And that was the Cheriton. I got a room and the accomodation was awesome.
I stayed for two nights but because i was out for most of the day with my tourist group, i didnt have time to enjoy the beautiful bar. I had breakfast in the morning with this awesome view of the harbour.
If i have to stay over in Simons Town again, guess where i will stay!
And no, i dont get anything for writing this review! :)
Pieter van Kraayenburg (pieterguide@gmail.com)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
What a great review, thank you so much. We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Myself and my fiance stayed here for 1 night on the 12th March. It is quite an interesting place. The view, gardens and bar room are all gorgeous and hard to fault. However, the bedroom was a bit outdated. Although the guesthouse is ok it was definitely not to the same standard as our other guesthouse accommodation across South Africa. The owner was friendly on check in however she made comments to us, of a fairly discriminatory nature about other guests' religion, over breakfast which I thought was completely inappropriate and in fact made me quite angry. She also made a few snide comments about the time we arrived home the night before - despite previously remarking that we did not wake her at all and were really quiet. It was all just a bit awkward, unfriendly and unprofessional and it is this that would stop us from staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairePrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Clare
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay as most of our other guests have but we do listen to all honest opinions. I cannot recall any discriminatory remarks that I made and, as I pride myself on having no prejudice to race or religion, I can only think it was meant as a joke. Whatever I said seemed to influence your opinion of our taste in decor as well. It would seem that we are very different and I am sorry if I offended you - it would not have been my intention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Really great guest house, more like a top class hotel. The owners have thought of everything you could possible need . Very welcoming, friendly and very informative. Will do anything for you and will arrange any transport you need. Very sad to leave but will certainly recommend to friends and most definately will be back ourselves. Close to boulders beach and a fantastic spot to explore Cape Point and coastline whether it be by car or on foot.

Room Tip: We had the room next to the honesty bar and was so relaxing . Also the swimming pool was just outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbsheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
It makes us feel very good to read reviews like yours. The effort that we put in with a lot of joy is noticed. Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

"Cheriton" is to most interesting, welcoming, inspiring place you could ever wish to stay! We stayed here in March 2014,unfortunately only for one night as we had other places booked, but we could have stayed for a week.It's VERY well equipped, everything has been thought of. It is absolutely WOW!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
WOW, what a fantastic review, we are very happy that you enjoyed our wonderful guest-house so much. We wished you could have stayed longer. Thank you. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

nice and helpful patron
fabulous decorations of walls and ceiling in the rooms and livingrooms
nice bar swimmningpool cosy intimate garden
excellent location
highly recommended for everybody who likes a characteristic place






  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gustav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We enjoyed having you. Go well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Simon's Town
220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
325 reviews
2.6 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Guest House B&B

Property: Cheriton Guest House B&B
Address: 19 Belmont Road | Seaforth, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheriton Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and very cosy, century old Victorian home overlooking False Bay. Maritime theme throughout. Quiet, safe suburb. 5 minutes walk to the famous Boulders penguin colony and the beach. 10 minutes drive to Cape Point national park. 30 different bird species are frequent visitors to our lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cheriton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton Guest House B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing