We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace full!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Ranked #3 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

One of the most Tranquil and beautifull places I have ever stayed at. But what makes this place more special is the people running it. Owners Derrick and Denise will make you not wanting to leave!! It is true go try it!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerhardusels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheriton-simonstown, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

It is always good to know that our guests enjoy themselves have a good rest and after a good breakfast enjoy the rest of what our Guest House has to offer. We are very happy that you had such a good time during your stay. Thank you for the lovely review it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights in the Emily Hobhouse room - absolutely fantastic, joined to the honesty bar, which has every possible drink at very good prices! The bar area is full of naval memorabila and you could easily spend a day looking through everything! The hosts were very friendly, hospitable and helpful - only a short walk to Boulders Beach. Breakfast was superb, looking out over the sea. Didn't make use of the pool due to the weather, but did look very inviting! Would highly recommend! Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Emily Hobhouse Room - you have the keys to the Honesty Bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelturkey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheriton-simonstown, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write this lovely review, it was great having you as our guest. Hopefully we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having just returned home from our 6 week holiday in South Africa I just had to write a review of our stay in Simons Town. We stayed at the Cheriton Guest House. This was our third time. Dirk and Denise are the most wonderful hosts ever. They make you feel so at home and part of the family. Dirk is Always eager to help plan sighting seeing trips.The rooms, house, food and views were excellent. Dirk and Denise go out of thier way to make your stay special. Loved our stay and would recomend it to everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a special theme. They are all special.No matter which you choose its a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

What a lovely review. It was so good to welcome you for the third time into our Guest-House.
We hope to see you again soon. Hartelijke Groeten en nogmaals bedankt van ons tweetjes uit Simonstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I felt the need to get away for a weekend to revitalise our minds and bodies but didn't want to travel very far. Having done some internet research, we came across Cheriton Guest House in Simonstown. Simonstown held special memories for my husband, as he had spent his military service there whilst in the navy. From the minute we arrived, until we left, we were treated to awesome hospitality. Dirk and Denise know exactly how to make you feel welcome, without being overly attentive. We had a wonderfully romantic room and the guesthouse is very conveniently located - we could even walk to dinner and not worry about drinking and driving. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review for us.
We have put a special package together for our LOCAL visitors when they contact us directly by phone or Email. We sincerely hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Cheriton Guest House was by far one of the best we visited not only are the host friendly and helpfull but you never feel judged as we had in past places we stayed. Denise and Dirk are both very friendly and will help if you need trips planed in and around Cape Town and i do believe that they will even help you plan one thru out the rest of the country as well. I would really like to thank them for there warmth and loving way that they received us even after coming late. Do not skip there breakfast as it is the best by far.
Thanks Denise and Dirk will make use of you again in the near future.

Jansen Fam.

Room Tip: Denise and Dirk @ Cheriton Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review. Denise and I travel a lot through South and Southern Africa and love to give guests tips on where to go. We are glad you had a very good time staying with us and hope to see you soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having just returned from a recent stay at Cheriton Guest House B&B I cannot help but comment on the wonderful reception with which I was greeted on my arrival. The host and hostess, Dirk and Denise Brinkman made me feel welcome from the moment I arrived and went the extra mile to make sure my stay was a time to be remembered.
I witnessed the arrival and departure of several guests during my stay and noted the welcome each person was given.
Look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Denise and I sincerely enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again soon into our wonderful Guest- House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Interesting quirky B&B that is over priced and with an average breakfast. If u need to stay a few days in Simon's Town and would like a pool and a bar and a lounge area then this may be for you; but the service is ok, the breakfast v average. Its not a hotel and therefore needs to make sure the basics are done well instead of sitting back on old laurels. I think the host has lost interest in running her own B&B

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I am not going to try to come up with excuses but instead will state a few facts. We regret sincerely that you did not have the experience most off our guest had. We never ask our guests to write a GOOD review, we simply ask them to write a review, in my eyes this is a bit misleading in your review . March 2014 was our best month ever, we had the highest excellent review count, this shows that we are obviously not resting on our old laurels . I am surprised that you mention that a single lady (her) is running the Guest -House, we are running our establishment always as a couple. It is sad for us to read that you are of the opinion that we have lost interest because that is absolutely not the case when you read the wonderful time other guest had. However, something must have gone wrong during your stay and we are sincerely concerned and apologise to you. This must have been an unfortunate day and we made a little slip, we be sure to pull up our socks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#2 of 31 in Simon's Town
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 31 in Simon's Town
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#9 of 31 in Simon's Town
102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Watercolours House
Watercolours House
#5 of 31 in Simon's Town
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Guest House B&B

Address: 19 Belmont Road | Seaforth, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: £77 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheriton Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and very cosy, century old Victorian home overlooking False Bay. Maritime theme throughout. Quiet, safe suburb. 5 minutes walk to the famous Boulders penguin colony and the beach. 10 minutes drive to Cape Point national park. 30 different bird species are frequent visitors to our lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Cheriton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton Guest House B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing