We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time but not the last”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Ranked #2 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second time but not the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was my 2nd stay at the Cheriton. This time I booked for myself and safari guests. The house and rooms are fun, comfortable, and work very well for people sightseeing and shark diving. The hosts Dirk and Denise are wonderful as hosts and companions. The breakfast is huge and delicious and you can not beat the decor and views from the property. We had so much fun in the pub and new sitting area. We could walk to the penguins and to town. They recommended great places to eat. I have many wonderful memories of my stay and hope to see them again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BonaNtaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
What a pleasure to have you and your friends for this long period. We had some great talks and laughs. We would have loved to be able to spend more time with you. Luckily you added some birds to your list and had the chance to do some serious diving with the unbelievable photographic material you brought back from the bottom of the sea. Thank you very much to take the effort to write this wonderful review. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
150
33
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at the Cheriton. We are a family of 3 and were given 2 spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms. The honor pub, and yes, it is a real pub, was a lovely place to relax and reflect on the day. Dirk and Denise were extremely helpful, providing area information and finding us a nice place to eat on a rainy Sunday evening. The breakfasts were delicious and ready when we preferred.

Highly recommended!

Carl, Lori, and Peter.
Tucson, Arizona
USA

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cm85715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you so much . It was great having you. We are very pleased to read that you were more than satisfied with our services. Apologies for the late response, we spend a few fantastic weeks in your beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This great b&b has some wonderful unusual touches - the impossibly well stocked mini pub honesty bar and the naval memorabilia, collections of military hats and cameras and whatever else you might stumble across. Not only that but the hosts have thought of everything a guest could need and more - from sherry to plug adapters! The breakfast was fabulous and the hosts helpful and friendly. It's also located just a short hop from boulders beach if you are visiting the penguins. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a room with an en suite pub - just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheriton-simonstown, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are very happy you enjoyed yourself and had a lovely stay in Simon's Town.
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartenbos, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

One of the most Tranquil and beautifull places I have ever stayed at. But what makes this place more special is the people running it. Owners Derrick and Denise will make you not wanting to leave!! It is true go try it!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerhardusels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheriton-simonstown, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It is always good to know that our guests enjoy themselves have a good rest and after a good breakfast enjoy the rest of what our Guest House has to offer. We are very happy that you had such a good time during your stay. Thank you for the lovely review it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights in the Emily Hobhouse room - absolutely fantastic, joined to the honesty bar, which has every possible drink at very good prices! The bar area is full of naval memorabila and you could easily spend a day looking through everything! The hosts were very friendly, hospitable and helpful - only a short walk to Boulders Beach. Breakfast was superb, looking out over the sea. Didn't make use of the pool due to the weather, but did look very inviting! Would highly recommend! Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Emily Hobhouse Room - you have the keys to the Honesty Bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelturkey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheriton-simonstown, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write this lovely review, it was great having you as our guest. Hopefully we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diemen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having just returned home from our 6 week holiday in South Africa I just had to write a review of our stay in Simons Town. We stayed at the Cheriton Guest House. This was our third time. Dirk and Denise are the most wonderful hosts ever. They make you feel so at home and part of the family. Dirk is Always eager to help plan sighting seeing trips.The rooms, house, food and views were excellent. Dirk and Denise go out of thier way to make your stay special. Loved our stay and would recomend it to everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a special theme. They are all special.No matter which you choose its a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
What a lovely review. It was so good to welcome you for the third time into our Guest-House.
We hope to see you again soon. Hartelijke Groeten en nogmaals bedankt van ons tweetjes uit Simonstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I felt the need to get away for a weekend to revitalise our minds and bodies but didn't want to travel very far. Having done some internet research, we came across Cheriton Guest House in Simonstown. Simonstown held special memories for my husband, as he had spent his military service there whilst in the navy. From the minute we arrived, until we left, we were treated to awesome hospitality. Dirk and Denise know exactly how to make you feel welcome, without being overly attentive. We had a wonderfully romantic room and the guesthouse is very conveniently located - we could even walk to dinner and not worry about drinking and driving. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review for us.
We have put a special package together for our LOCAL visitors when they contact us directly by phone or Email. We sincerely hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
1.0 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.6 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Guest House B&B

Property: Cheriton Guest House B&B
Address: 19 Belmont Road | Seaforth, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheriton Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and very cosy, century old Victorian home overlooking False Bay. Maritime theme throughout. Quiet, safe suburb. 5 minutes walk to the famous Boulders penguin colony and the beach. 10 minutes drive to Cape Point national park. 30 different bird species are frequent visitors to our lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheriton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton Guest House B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing