We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane Hideaway!”

Bertha's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hurricane Hideaway!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

As weather forecasts said a gale was predicted, and the winds had started to build up, we sought sanctuary at Berthas, and were provided with solid seaside fare, fish and chips were very tasty, the Cape Malay Curry was delicious, but there were mixed reviews on the chicken burgers (one said bland, the other delicious!). Altogether reasonably priced good food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    258
    118
    74
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor quality food and service”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A beautiful venue, with superb views. We had lunch there yesterday, the service was dreadfully slow, and the food un-remarkable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Badddddd service”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I hope you have time if you go there. Waited 30 minutes to order 2de drink. Kids food was wrong so only one ate and sis had to watch. We left before it got any worse.

Helpful?
2 Thank Marius D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
197 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Child-friendly, great views, great food and service.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We'd visited in the summer and enjoyed the setting immensely. In winter the parking is far better but the atmosphere is missing. Not a problem though, as the food and service was good. The kiddies portions are really small and so, for our son, aged ten, we ordered and paid for a double portion. The chicken pasta is huge. The sirloin steak roll is really good but a small amount of food, which is indicated on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great location, terrible service and food!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is our second visit at the restaurant, that time it was great, there fore we decided to come back. This time though...wish we hadn't. Sat down and had to wait 20 minutes to even get a menu, and the place wasn't even that busy. Order drinks and food, drinks we have to remind them about and they only comes in AFTER the meal is on the table, the meal taking 20 minutes. Uncooked and tasteless prawns. E tra sauce for the prawns didn't even get to the table even though we asked twice for it. Let's say the location is great but the food Nd service were terrible! Ignorance from both kitchen and service staff. Will NOT come back here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markandveronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bertha's Restaurant also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Bertha's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing