We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Froggy Pond made our 'mother and daugther' vacation ever so special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Froggy Pond B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Simon's Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Froggy Pond B&B
Ranked #19 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Froggy Pond made our 'mother and daugther' vacation ever so special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

It was our first proper ‘mother and daughter’ vacation after my divorce. I chose Simon’s Town to be away from the hussle and bussle of Mother City. AND Froggy Pond B&B made our holiday so special and amazing.

The guest house is literally across a beautiful beach, with amazing views – sunrise and sunset. The Boulders Beach, a child’s paradise is literally a 5-minute’s walk from us. At night, penguins crossed the road to come to the hedge in front of our patio. My 5-year old child loved them! We took so many walks on the beaches nearby. She had wonderful times digging in the beach and chasing penguins.

Derek and Annie, owners of guest house are such nice couple. They are genuinely helpful and kind. On the first day, we arrived late at B&B. Derek offered to give us a lift to the nearby waterfront for our first dinner in Simons Town. AND he came back to collect us when we finished our dinner at JUST SUSHI (highly recommended – so yummy!). Such a nice man! He told me he never wore long pants ever since he retired. So, you’d find him in a pair of shorts even though it’s freezing!

The room was affordable and was well equipped and very comfortable, with wall heater. There was a mounted tv with dstv. I could still get connected with current news and my child could watch kiddie shows at night. The fridge was always stocked with milk, fruits and yoghurt. There was a toaster and a microwave which made it convenient for us to heat up our takeaway dinners. There were ample tea, coffee, sugar and cereals! They even provided hairdryer and shower gel. We could do with hotter shower but really it was no biggy.

AND Derek and Annie served us yummy breakfast each morning as we woke up to a stunning view of the beach in OUR FACE! (What a luxury if you’re from Joburg!).

Derek and Annie also gave me contacts for airport pick-up, tour guide and Rikkis (local taxi). On the last day which was rather wet and cold, they offered to give us a lift to the nearby mall so we could watch a movie. That was a brilliant idea on our last day when I just wanted to wind down and take it easy.

We had the best vacation, especially in Simon’s Town, especially in Froggy Pond B&B.

I would highly recommend anyone to stay in Froggy Pond B&B at Simon’s Town. The town is quaint and easily accessible. The coastal towns close by are equally gorgeous –St James, Falk Bay and Fish Hoek. Plus, Simon’s Town is enroute to Cape Point. We also managed to take a train from Simon’s Town station to Cape Town itself!

Thank you Derek and Annie – keep well and may God bless them. We hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

A great find. Derek and Annie are wonderfully welcoming hosts and make you feel like part of the family with just the right balance of privacy in the separate flatlet and entertainment. The cooked breakfast brought to you on the terrace is a lovely idea. Good views, walkable to Simon's Town and just across from the beach. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterKRej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

In a peaceful garden with lovely views across False Bay, this pleasent cottage is run as a B&B by owners Derek and Annie. They are both charming and helpful, suggesting restaurants, walks and their service in every way they can.

Breakfast was a wonderful start to the day sitting on the verandah with beautiful views!

We also enjoyed watching a couple of penguins crossing the road every night to sleep in the hedge

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creepy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

We spent two nights at this B&B in August 2010 Derek and Annie are perfect hosts and what a superb place to stay with wonderful view and so close to the sea.
We will be going back for 3 nights now in November.
Simonstown has a wonderful village feel and yet its still close enough to all that Cape Town has to offer.
The accommodation at this B&B is spacious, comfortable clean and the good breakfast served on the private veranda overlooking the ocean is a wonderful way to start the day in peaceful surroundings.
This B&B is a real Gem and comes highly recommended
Ian & Kati

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-on-Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

I am a soldier that took leave from Iraq to meet my wife in South Africa. After surfing B and B sites for WEEKS, I finally decided on this B and B. My wife got there from the U.S. before I did from Iraq and I surprised her in Derek and Annies kitchen! It was AWESOME. It was especially nice because of the friendly, and down to earth personality of Derek and Annie. Derek is a retired South African Navy Sailor so between his Naval attention to detail and Annies management, this place is AWESOME! Trust me, I am a cynic and a nitpicky person, and I have stayed all over the world in some of the worlds best Hotels and Motels and B and B's. This B and B is absolutely PERFECT in every way. Derek and Annie were content with letting my wife and I be perfectly alone, or hanging out with us over some drinks in their living room. We opted for both....but because they were so nice and fun to be around, we spent a few nights with them just talking in their living room. The location is GREAT as you can see it's across the street from the ocean....and about 800m from a little penguin colony...Annie cooked us up an EXCELLENT "fry up" (breakfast) every morning and offered privacy but we opted for their company! We saw submarines, whales and ships from the breakfast table. (far away, but we saw them.) Simons Town is just the perfect town to just meander around and waste time. The room was very homey, clean, had it's own bathroom, and the little kitchenette area was stocked with plenty of little snacks and odd and ends. They even put up a map for everyone to put a tack locating their home town. And.....yes, WE were the first ones to be on their map! ;-) My only critique about this B and B, is that I couldn't move in to live there. And Derek wouldn't adopt me. He said I was too old.
-Jill and Will

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onebikeonehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

We had a lovely stay at this bed and breakfast where Derek & Annie made us very welcome. Location is great for penguin spotting, especially their resident family who live in the garden hedge!
Rather than a bedroom the accommodation is more like a self contained apartment with kitchen facilities, sitting area and a great veranda looking out to sea. There is also your own entrance which means you are not constantly passing through their house to get to your room.
Annie serves a great cooked breakfast in your room each morning and they ensure that the fridge is well stocked with the essentials such as water, milk and fruit.
Prices are fanrtastically low for the standard offered and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClovaTheWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

This was our first trip to South Africa and we decided to travel independantly in order to set our own itenary to suit our own preferences. We'd been advised by friends who had knowledge of SA to book only our initial accommodation before leaving the UK and then book as we traveled. We wanted to stay in/near Simonstown as we wanted to stay centrally on the Cape peninsula in order to visit both Cape Point as well as Cape Town from there.

By using www.simonstown.co.za we chose Froggy Pond partly due to the write up of it's proximity to Boulders Beach as well as the description of the accommodation. (Okay, I admit, the 'cute' name Froggy Pond' was also eye'catching!)

Anyway, what we hadn't bargained for was the warmth, friendliness and helpfullness of the owners, Annie and Derek.

Prior to leaving the UK, Derek and myself must've exchanged a dozoen emails due to my anxiety of our trip etc. Poor Derek never tired of our enquirieis and it felt like visiting old friends by the time we arrived!!

The accommodation was perfect. Spacious, clean, comfortable and adequately euipped to make our stay perfect. The bed was large, there were plenty of chairs, tables and storage space. The large furnished verandah was perfect for relaxing whilst taking in the totally uninterupted view of False Bay where dolphins, whales and penguins could be viewed with the naked eye.

The room had a kitchette which was well-stocked with breakfasf provisions including a delicious fresh fruit salad each day At a pre-agreed time, Ann and Derek would come through with hot cooked breakfats. A fridge and microwave meant we were able to eat in some nights too.

We stayed here for 4 nights in total and give it a 5-star thumbs up. Froggy Pond is a must stay place in terms of location, accommodation and perfect hosts.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffees_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.8 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Flying Penguin
The Flying Penguin
#12 of 31 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Froggy Pond B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Froggy Pond B&B

Property: Froggy Pond B&B
Address: 1 Dorries Drive | Froggy Farm, Simon's Town, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Froggy Pond B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing