We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern design and strong presence of the owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simonstown Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Modern design and strong presence of the owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

The guest house is very contemporary with great view from most of the rooms.
It's a 4-star hotel in the shape and attitude of guest house.
The owners are very nice and welcoming persons and the breakfats - custom made.
I was slightly pushed by the staff to tell her exactly when I'll arrive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstown1, Owner at Simonstown Guest House, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Thank you so much for leaving a review on our Guest House. It was great hearing about your overlanding trip through Africa and nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

As standard practice we send our guests our check in times and ask for an approximate arrival time if they happen to know. I apologise if we seemed 'a little pushy' when asking for this information.

Hoping the rest of your journey is wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
262
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We felt in your guesthose very warm welcome, especially when we think the little notes under the door and the chocolate for Xmas although we were sleeping long...:-)
The rooms are charmed and lovely decorated, the view is spectalous and we would really recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1205SteffenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here three nights in November. We have stayed in Simonstown many times but this was the first time we discovered this hidden gem.

The rooms are beautifully decorated, as is the whole house with wondeful artwork and all the comforts you could ask for. All rooms have amazing views and comfy beds and quiet surroundings. Yet it's perfectly placed for everything to be accessible.

We were greeted by Mischa , as Amanda had gone into labour! I can not say enough good things about this lady! She warmly greeted us and told us all about the lodge. Helped us book cabs and suggested restaurants, and helped us park! We told her we had read about Rusty and Lucky Amanda's rescue dogs and she arranged for us to meet them :) And it was great to meet new mum Amanda on our last day who came to see us apologise for not being able to greet us (you didn't need to you had the best reason ever!), and also for a last cuddle with Rusty and Lucky.

Breakfasts were amazing, cooked anyway you want, and the tables laid out so nicely.

There is free WiFi, a good mini bar and you can eat your breakfast outside too which was really lovely.

This is the place to stay!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms or best rooms here. They are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lellewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Nice hotel with all (?) rooms overlooking the ocean. Mischa welcomes guests in a very personal manner and informs about the hotel and other important things. The rooms are lovely and the beds super comfortable!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Souffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed at Simon’s Town Guest House in November-December 2011. Fantastic experience overall! Beautifully and tastefully decorated, spacious room with breathtaking views, great breakfast, very pleasant, attentive and extremely helpful owner. High quality everything. Very clean. When we go back to South Africa we definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarynaFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

The views from your room at the Simonstown guest house are amazing. The rooms are immaculate and Amanda makes you very much at home. An excellent choice of Guesthouse for a couple. The location is a bit out of town and if you want to use on of the local restaurants you will need to have transport and I would suggest asking Amanda to both book you a reservation and also a taxi, before you arrive, as we were unable to arrange a taxi after 5.00pm.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view as this is what really makes this guesthouse truly memorable. Arrive by car as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markandsue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Awesome location just outside of Capetown. Close enough to see all the sites and just far away enough to get "local." Accommodations are nothing short of SUPERB! And Mischa, Wonderful, Amanda, Steve, and, especially the two dogs, Rusty and Lucky (not worry...they are away from guests and you need to go see them only if you wish), made our stay extremely enjoyable. Views leave you breathless and the rooms are beautifully designed and clean. You won't be disappointed! This place is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
3.5 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstown Guest House

Property: Simonstown Guest House
Address: 20 Bennetts Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Simonstown Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for a relaxing beach holiday. Simon's Town Guest is comfortable, luxurious, modern and peaceful. All rooms are luxurious with supurb ocean views and ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have Air-Conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Laptop Safe, Mini-Bar Fridge, Flat Screen T.V.'s with Satelite channels, Tea/Coffee/Kettle/Biscuits, Hairdryer, extra length beds, block out curtains, percale linen, percale linen, feather/down duvets, towels and some toiletries. Each room also has 2 single lounge chairs and a coffee table positoned by the large floor to ceiling windows for the perfect views. Whales can be seen from your room in Season and the most wonderful Sunrises and Moon shines!Breakfast is included and offers a very filling Continental and Full English (including Omelettes and French Toast) Breakfast. This can be eaten in the Guest Dining Room or the outdoor sea-facing courtyard.We even have a lift to help those with heavy luggage and off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Simonstown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstown Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing