We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simonstown Guest House
Ranked #4 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service and beautiful place”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Simonstown Guesthouse is by far the best I've stayed in!! The service, the views, the house itself, the food ALL to die for... Mischa was friendly and went out of her way to ensure our comfort, Steve woke up at a god awful hour to accommodate our arrival and all this was done with no frown on their faces, Thank you. The rooms were spacious and spot less.

If you are looking for 'home away from home' with a little extra, look no more 'cos this place has it all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nontobeko Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstown1, Owner at Simonstown Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. It was so great having you and your whole family here over the New year period. It makes us so proud of our Guest House and staff when you leave such wonderful compliments. Hopefully we will see you all back here again for another family getaway.

All the very best,
Amanda, Steve, Mischa and Wonderful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
266
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The Simonstown Guest House is such a find. It is an amazing place. In addition to having beautiful views of the bay, the room is very comfortable and well furnished. It's well situated next to Simon's Town and makes getting to local beaches, wineries, and the Cape of Good Hope very simple. The staff go out of their way to make your stay excellent. Probably one of the best places I've ever stayed!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We would like to thank Amanda and Mischa for their warm welcome and the wonderful time we had there. The guesthouse is absolutely spotless and is well-furnished. Our room (the corner room) has a wonderful view and was spacious. The bed was very comfortable, and we liked the bathroom with its big shower. I found that the room was very good value - the items in the minibar were also very affordable. Mischa currently runs the place and cooked us an excellent breakfast every morning. One day we had to get up very early to go for a hike on the Table Mountain and they prepared us a packed breakfast with sandwiches, fruits and muffins - a very nice gesture! Amanda gave us also very good restaurants recommendations - we absolutely loved the Foodbarn in Noordhoek and Simon's in Groot Constantia.
This is a family-run business and not a hotel - which means that there is, of course, no room service or laundry service - but the owners and MIscha do everything they can to make your stay comfortable.
We loved it and will recommend to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We can recommend the corner room which has a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaInTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Simonstown Guest House was the perfect place to call "home" for our short visit to Cape Town. With easy access to the Cape Peninsula with all its fun activities as well as a short drive into Cape Town and the wine region, the Simonstown Guest House was a huge hit. The inn is so new, so cleanly designed and well maintained. And the views... well, if there wasn't so much to do in and around Cape Town, one could easily sit at the guest house all day and take in the gorgeous views. Finally, the cooked to order full breakfast was absolutely delicious and a great way to start each day! I highly recommend Simonstown Guest House on your next trip to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room with a view of False Bay. Our room was Mafunyane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstown1, Owner at Simonstown Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Hi Brandon,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and recommend us to other travels. It really means alot to us to hear how much you enjoyed our stay.

You are right about the location. We are finding many guests are booking to stay with us for the duration of their time in Cape Town as we are within easy drive to all the main attractions of the Cape Town area.

The views are definitely mesmorising and sometimes I have to remind myself I have work to do :)

We hope to welcome you back again some day soon.

All the very best,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The guest house is very contemporary with great view from most of the rooms.
It's a 4-star hotel in the shape and attitude of guest house.
The owners are very nice and welcoming persons and the breakfats - custom made.
I was slightly pushed by the staff to tell her exactly when I'll arrive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstown1, Owner at Simonstown Guest House, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Thank you so much for leaving a review on our Guest House. It was great hearing about your overlanding trip through Africa and nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

As standard practice we send our guests our check in times and ask for an approximate arrival time if they happen to know. I apologise if we seemed 'a little pushy' when asking for this information.

Hoping the rest of your journey is wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We felt in your guesthose very warm welcome, especially when we think the little notes under the door and the chocolate for Xmas although we were sleeping long...:-)
The rooms are charmed and lovely decorated, the view is spectalous and we would really recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1205SteffenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here three nights in November. We have stayed in Simonstown many times but this was the first time we discovered this hidden gem.

The rooms are beautifully decorated, as is the whole house with wondeful artwork and all the comforts you could ask for. All rooms have amazing views and comfy beds and quiet surroundings. Yet it's perfectly placed for everything to be accessible.

We were greeted by Mischa , as Amanda had gone into labour! I can not say enough good things about this lady! She warmly greeted us and told us all about the lodge. Helped us book cabs and suggested restaurants, and helped us park! We told her we had read about Rusty and Lucky Amanda's rescue dogs and she arranged for us to meet them :) And it was great to meet new mum Amanda on our last day who came to see us apologise for not being able to greet us (you didn't need to you had the best reason ever!), and also for a last cuddle with Rusty and Lucky.

Breakfasts were amazing, cooked anyway you want, and the tables laid out so nicely.

There is free WiFi, a good mini bar and you can eat your breakfast outside too which was really lovely.

This is the place to stay!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms or best rooms here. They are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lellewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
260 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Residence William French Guest House
3.5 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#10 of 31 in Simon's Town
158 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 31 in Simon's Town
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstown Guest House

Property: Simonstown Guest House
Address: 20 Bennetts Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Simonstown Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for a relaxing beach holiday. Simon's Town Guest is comfortable, luxurious, modern and peaceful. All rooms are luxurious with supurb ocean views and ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have Air-Conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Laptop Safe, Mini-Bar Fridge, Flat Screen T.V.'s with Satelite channels, Tea/Coffee/Kettle/Biscuits, Hairdryer, extra length beds, block out curtains, percale linen, percale linen, feather/down duvets, towels and some toiletries. Each room also has 2 single lounge chairs and a coffee table positoned by the large floor to ceiling windows for the perfect views. Whales can be seen from your room in Season and the most wonderful Sunrises and Moon shines!Breakfast is included and offers a very filling Continental and Full English (including Omelettes and French Toast) Breakfast. This can be eaten in the Guest Dining Room or the outdoor sea-facing courtyard.We even have a lift to help those with heavy luggage and off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Simonstown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstown Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing