We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simonstown Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Anniversary Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is our Second stay at Amanda's Place & I must commend her for the excellent service and feel at Home way she always makes her Guests Feels. My Husband and I feel this will always be our little getaway place... Home from Home. We cannot wait for our next adventure there! We live in Cape Town in the Northern Suburbs & we feel like we've had a Special Holiday after spending some time here. Thanks Amanda you are a very special Lady!

Room Tip: All of the Rooms are beautiful & eceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
262
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar-Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Simon town is a lovely little town near Cape Town, where the pinguins are. It was a real joy staying there in this beutiful guesthouse that has huge windows overlooking the beach. The house is beautiful and our room was lovely. Tuely done in perfection. both the room itself as well as the bathroom were upmaket. So great to stay there. Amanda, our host is a lovely lady, she gave us excellent tips of where to go and what to do and we loved it. Breakfast was also very nice, including omlet, yogurt and great bread.
Its a real great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iritv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We visited Simon's Town Guest House for a three night break and were impressed from the start. Our emails with questions were answered quickly and efficiently and our room was soon booked. Upon arriving at the guest house we were welcomed by Amanda the owner and checked in very quickly. She gave us a tour of the hotel and the room which was very useful in showing us where everything was and how everything worked. We had chosen to stay in the Shawu room which was beautiful. The bed was huge and very comfortable. There was also a seating area in the room and both the bed and the seating area had magnificent views out over the ocean. There is a dressing area with wardrobe and dressing table leading into a massive bathroom which has not only a fantastic shower but also a large bathtub from which there are also views over the ocean. The room was very well equipped with laptop safe, hair drier, WIFI, tea/coffee making facilities and well stocked (and very reasonably priced) mini-bar.

Our tariff included breakfast in the morning which could be taken either in the stylish dining area or out on the terrace which was a real sun trap and had yet another stunning ocean view. We opted each morning to have breakfast on the terrace. Breakfast was very fresh and tasty. There were pastries, yoghurt, cereals, fruit and toast as well as hot options. The Full English breakfast was delicious and very filling - no need for lunch afterwards thats for sure!

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay in Simon's Town. Amanda and her staff were always on hand to provide local information and recommendations of restaurants. We ate in some great places including the Food Barn at Nooerdhoek, Habour House Restaurant and Seaforth Restaurant all thanks to Amanda's recommendations.

We will most likely be visiting Simon's Town Guest House again next year :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Positives:
Big, comfortable room, with floor to ceiling windows looking out across the bay. Quiet neighbourhood.
Fantastic location from which to fully explore the sights/parks/beaches etc south of Cape Town.
Quite a new building, good breakfast and Mischa/Amanda are very welcoming hosts.
Negatives:
Not a lot within walking distance. Limited restaurant choices in Kalk/Simonstown but still enough to do the job.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorleyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Absolute pleasure to stay at Simon's Town Guest house - our every need was catered for in the most professional manner - and the view from our rooms was amazing!!! We stay in Simon's Town at least 4 times a year and I will definitly be going back!! Thanks Micsha and Wonderful for meeting all our needs.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend that you take a sea facing room - the view over the bay is to BRILLIANT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevWhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Where do I begin?! From the moment I enquired about this guest house I knew it was the one we should stay in. Amanda was so helpful and answered a silly amount of emails from me loaded with questions! She was quick to get back to me with answers for all of my queries.
This was a birthday gift to my partner and Amanda made the surprise and excitement extra special as she seemed to be as excited as me!!!
After keeping in touch up to the holiday, the day of our arrival came........were we disappointed? Oh my goodness, no!!!
The house is set high up the hill, offering the most amazing views over the sea. The moment you walk through those doors you know you are going to be looked after. Amanda greeted us with a massive smile.
The décor inside was extremely tasteful. She showed us to our room, and bless her, she had decorated the bed with "Happy Birthday" written in reeds!
The rooms are stunning! Totally amazing! The en-suite was beautifully modern. There was a seating area so that you can take in those views. We woke at 5am one morning just to watch the sun rise! Tough but soooo worth it!
The service from Mischa and Wonderful over breakfast was so friendly and personable. The food was fantastic...we pretty much had what we wanted and it was all made to order :)
Amanda recommended an amazing restaurant in Kalk Bay, The Harbour House, which is well worth a visit. The seafood is fantastic, and again those views!!!!
We also wanted to visit Boulders Beach, and the guest house is situated perfectly for getting there. A short train journey and walk and you are there swimming with the penguins!
So, was there a downside? yes........we were only there for 2 nights! We will definitely be back and we will be there for longer!!
Great location for visiting places, top quality guest house, superb team

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The view of the mountain and ocean are amazing and at night you are mesmerized by the town lights.
We were subject to exceptional service and felt right at home.
The delicious breakfast also helped a lot :-).

Will definitely visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coenraad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
3.5 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.8 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#9 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstown Guest House

Property: Simonstown Guest House
Address: 20 Bennetts Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Simonstown Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for a relaxing beach holiday. Simon's Town Guest is comfortable, luxurious, modern and peaceful. All rooms are luxurious with supurb ocean views and ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have Air-Conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Laptop Safe, Mini-Bar Fridge, Flat Screen T.V.'s with Satelite channels, Tea/Coffee/Kettle/Biscuits, Hairdryer, extra length beds, block out curtains, percale linen, percale linen, feather/down duvets, towels and some toiletries. Each room also has 2 single lounge chairs and a coffee table positoned by the large floor to ceiling windows for the perfect views. Whales can be seen from your room in Season and the most wonderful Sunrises and Moon shines!Breakfast is included and offers a very filling Continental and Full English (including Omelettes and French Toast) Breakfast. This can be eaten in the Guest Dining Room or the outdoor sea-facing courtyard.We even have a lift to help those with heavy luggage and off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Simonstown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstown Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing