We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simonstown Guest House
Ranked #4 of 32 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We found this guest house through Trip Advisor and were BEYOND happy with it! The room was super spacious, clean, comfortable, and had an amazing view. Amanda, the owner, was super helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. She tried so hard to organize a Great White dive trip for us, but the weather made it difficult. When it didn't work out, she made sure to give us plenty of suggestions on things to do, where to go, and how to get there. Her dog is awesome too :) You only see him if you ask though, so I guess if you're weird and not a dog person, he won't bother you. Breakfast was served in this adorable dining room every day, complete with French press coffee (or tea) and pretty much anything you wanted, they'd make. It was a lovely way to start the day! There's not that much to do in Simon's Town apart from Boulder's Beach and driving down to Cape of Good Hope, but it's an adorable area. Also, you HAVE to eat at Dixie's. It's just down the hill from the guesthouse and is awesome. Highly recommend the chocolate cake :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a lovely room with an absolutely magnificent view over the Indian Ocean for our three day stay.There are loads of things to do from Cape Point to Cape Town via the penguin colony at Boulders, which adjoins Simon's Town.
Incredibly helpful owner and staff who, apart from booking decent restaurants, also arranged a visit for us to Cecil Rhodes' old mansion(Groote Schuur) a week after we already left Simon's Town but were staying in Camps Bay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were originally recommended to try another Guest House in Simons Town; that proved to be full and they advised us to speak to Amanda at the Simonstown Guest House, this was very good advice. We only spent one night here as a stop off on our way from Cape Town, down to Cape Point and from there back up to the Winelands. What a shame we could not spend longer! Beautifully appointed rooms with wide picture windows looking out to sea, stunning decor and comfy beds. As for the breakfast.............yummy. You will not be disappointed if you give this place a try. Thanks to the lovely and helpful Lyn for the heads up on where to see the penguins without going into the nature reserve. It is an easy drive from here to Cape Point, to the lovely beach at Fishhoek and to Chapmans Peak Drive.

Room Tip: I think our room was called 'Shingwedzi'.............it was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julied59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Simonstown Guest House for three nights on our most recent visit to Cape Town.

Simonstown is a different animal from our usual haunts around Camps Bay or downtown Cape Town. Quiet, a bit windy and with limited dining options, still it's an area we really enjoy and the nighttime quiet was a nice change from the more touristy areas.

Simonstown Guest House appears to be fairly new construction with sweeping views out over False Bay. The rooms are immaculate with big, open windows offering those great views of the bay. Furniture is modern and the bathrooms are attractive...if not a tad bit on the small side for our room anyway (the bathroom size was a little small in comparison to our very large, spacious room but clean and very functional). Air conditioning is provided though the air through the big open windows is preferable.

Breakfast is offered either in a dining room or out on a somewhat open terrace. Cooked to order the breakfast offered a nice start to the day with a supporting offering of fruit, cereal, toast, juice, assortment of baked goods and the greek yoghurt staple. The room had a stocked refrigerator where items were priced for purchase...no complimentary water was available, though the tap water was just fine.

There is a lounge available with a computer and tourist information for those interested. TV available in each room. There is a restaurant/bar at the bottom of the hill below the guest house. We never had the chance to give it a try, but it's within easy walking distance.

For those looking to head out Simonstown way, this is a great option and you won't easily find a place with a better ocean view. It's not the place with the most character we've ever stayed in Cape Town, but the hosts are very friendly, the breakfast is good, the views unbeatable and the quiet nights a real charm. If we stay out in Simonstown on our next visit, this would be the place we'd probably choose.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springbokny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spend two days in this guesthouse that you can compare with a 4/5 star hotel. Large, good beds, excellent free wifi in your room and a spectacular view. Is situated a 5 min drive from the center of Simons Town and up on a hill so a car is very useful if you are going to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Luxurious and spacious rooms with see view. Very good breakfast.
Very helpful staff, specially Lynn :)
The guesthouse is located between Simons Town and Fish Hoak, very good starting point to visit the Cape of good Hope or the penguins at Boulders.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Me and my husband stayed in Simons Town Guest House in February and we were looking for a quiet place but not far away by car from lots of good restaurants and tourist attractions. We had an amazing stay at Simons Town Guest House. The drive to the house is itself exciting. The house is on a hill and you get the best views of the Bay. There are plenty of restaurants in the area which Amanda and Lynn will be happy to recommend to you. Staff are so friendly and helpful that we were made to feel at home there. We would definitely recommend stay at Simons Town Guest House to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
2.4 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 32 in Simon's Town
370 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 32 in Simon's Town
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 32 in Simon's Town
372 reviews
2.8 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#6 of 32 in Simon's Town
115 reviews
4 mi away
Watercolours House
Watercolours House
#5 of 32 in Simon's Town
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstown Guest House

Address: 20 Bennetts Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: £69 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simonstown Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for a relaxing beach holiday. Simon's Town Guest is comfortable, luxurious, modern and peaceful. All rooms are luxurious with supurb ocean views and ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have Air-Conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Laptop Safe, Mini-Bar Fridge, Flat Screen T.V.'s with Satelite channels, Tea/Coffee/Kettle/Biscuits, Hairdryer, extra length beds, block out curtains, percale linen, percale linen, feather/down duvets, towels and some toiletries. Each room also has 2 single lounge chairs and a coffee table positoned by the large floor to ceiling windows for the perfect views. Whales can be seen from your room in Season and the most wonderful Sunrises and Moon shines!Breakfast is included and offers a very filling Continental and Full English (including Omelettes and French Toast) Breakfast. This can be eaten in the Guest Dining Room or the outdoor sea-facing courtyard.We even have a lift to help those with heavy luggage and off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Simonstown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstown Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing