We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simonstown Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
2 reviews
“Very enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We did have a fantastic stay at the Simon's Town Guest house and were welcomed warmly by Lynn. She helped us with whatever we needed. The room was very nice, stylish and clean on the ground floor with a lovely ocean view. Breakfast was great as well. We can only recommend a stay there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
263
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Amanda has created a beautiful guest house that has the highest quality finishes and views to die for; she and Lynn really make you feel at home here.

Early morning starts to see the sun rise across False bay are worth the trip alone, and watching the moon rise in the evenings is equally stunning.

The hill is definitely a challenge so a car is a must if you have limited mobility, but it is a great challenge after enjoying a nice steak at Dixies!

Room Tip: Corner Suite on the first floor has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Tr1pp3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This guest house is wonderful. My family recently stayed in two rooms here, both were immaculate and the beds were comfortable. The rooms have a great ocean view and are beautifully decorated. A wide variety of delicious food was served for breakfast. And the complimentary wifi internet worked well. I highly recommend this guest house!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoya79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at Simons Town Guest House. From the moment we arrived we felt special and cared for by the incredibly helpful and friendly staff. They made us feel relaxed and pampered before and after our big day and no request was ever too much trouble for them! The views were spectacular and what was a real novelty to us (coming from Johannesburg), was that we could catch the train and that is was safe and convenient to do so. The station is just at the bottom of the hill.

Room Tip: The corner room with a view over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzaan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We found this guest house through Trip Advisor and were BEYOND happy with it! The room was super spacious, clean, comfortable, and had an amazing view. Amanda, the owner, was super helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. She tried so hard to organize a Great White dive trip for us, but the weather made it difficult. When it didn't work out, she made sure to give us plenty of suggestions on things to do, where to go, and how to get there. Her dog is awesome too :) You only see him if you ask though, so I guess if you're weird and not a dog person, he won't bother you. Breakfast was served in this adorable dining room every day, complete with French press coffee (or tea) and pretty much anything you wanted, they'd make. It was a lovely way to start the day! There's not that much to do in Simon's Town apart from Boulder's Beach and driving down to Cape of Good Hope, but it's an adorable area. Also, you HAVE to eat at Dixie's. It's just down the hill from the guesthouse and is awesome. Highly recommend the chocolate cake :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S E Kent,UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a lovely room with an absolutely magnificent view over the Indian Ocean for our three day stay.There are loads of things to do from Cape Point to Cape Town via the penguin colony at Boulders, which adjoins Simon's Town.
Incredibly helpful owner and staff who, apart from booking decent restaurants, also arranged a visit for us to Cecil Rhodes' old mansion(Groote Schuur) a week after we already left Simon's Town but were staying in Camps Bay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were originally recommended to try another Guest House in Simons Town; that proved to be full and they advised us to speak to Amanda at the Simonstown Guest House, this was very good advice. We only spent one night here as a stop off on our way from Cape Town, down to Cape Point and from there back up to the Winelands. What a shame we could not spend longer! Beautifully appointed rooms with wide picture windows looking out to sea, stunning decor and comfy beds. As for the breakfast.............yummy. You will not be disappointed if you give this place a try. Thanks to the lovely and helpful Lyn for the heads up on where to see the penguins without going into the nature reserve. It is an easy drive from here to Cape Point, to the lovely beach at Fishhoek and to Chapmans Peak Drive.

Room Tip: I think our room was called 'Shingwedzi'.............it was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julied59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
3.5 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstown Guest House

Property: Simonstown Guest House
Address: 20 Bennetts Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Simonstown Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for a relaxing beach holiday. Simon's Town Guest is comfortable, luxurious, modern and peaceful. All rooms are luxurious with supurb ocean views and ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have Air-Conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Laptop Safe, Mini-Bar Fridge, Flat Screen T.V.'s with Satelite channels, Tea/Coffee/Kettle/Biscuits, Hairdryer, extra length beds, block out curtains, percale linen, percale linen, feather/down duvets, towels and some toiletries. Each room also has 2 single lounge chairs and a coffee table positoned by the large floor to ceiling windows for the perfect views. Whales can be seen from your room in Season and the most wonderful Sunrises and Moon shines!Breakfast is included and offers a very filling Continental and Full English (including Omelettes and French Toast) Breakfast. This can be eaten in the Guest Dining Room or the outdoor sea-facing courtyard.We even have a lift to help those with heavy luggage and off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Simonstown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstown Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing