We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moonglow at Moonglow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moonglow Guest House
Ranked #8 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moonglow at Moonglow”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We spent a lovely night at Moonglow on March 8th for my wife's birthday and hey presto it coincided with the full moon rising over Fasle Bay, making the evening even more magical. It is a beautifully appointed guest house with panoramic views from the lounge and breakfast area out over the bay. Watch ships from Simonstown harbour and the SA Navy manoeuvre around the bay, or yachts riding the Cape Doctors breezes, or even an occasional whale according to the owners, all whilst breakfasting on a Friday morning. We also had a magnificent meal at nearby Harbour House (Kalk Bay) that night and walked up on the pier to chat to the fishermen. Close to Simonstown and also famous Boulders beach, plus if the weather is good go up Table Mountain. Lovely stay, great friendly people and a beautiful venue.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulRuinaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
73
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My partner and I chose Moonglow as our destination in Simon's Town twice now: once as a special deal right before Christmas, both times for its breathtaking view over False Bay, many times again in future for its homeliness, cleanliness, attention to detail (lovely Rooibos bath products, local to South Africa) and every time overjoyed that we did when enjoying Gillian and Lesley's warm friendliness and scrumptious breakfasts. We feel so at home there, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the specific room on the picture that helped you choose it so you are not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia_van_Zyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very clean and homely very nice breakfast conveniently located with fantastic views

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sekaitravel, Owner at Moonglow Guest House, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is an immaculately run family guesthouse with stunning views over the bay; the decor is very high quality and extremely tasteful; the rooms are well maintained and cleaned and the owners are outstanding hosts and excellent cooks! For us, it was the perfect stay; I would recommend Moonglow 100% and will always return there when in the Cape Town area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuggie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at Moonglow in November at the start of a Golf / Wine trip we were doing with 6 other friends. We had never been to South Africa before, unlike our friends and so before we met up with them for a 3 centre stay in hotels we decided to have some time by ourselves near to Cape Town to explore a little bit ourselves. Moonglow was recommended to us and thanks to the recommendation we hit Gold. Gillian was a great hostess, helpful, very knowledgeable and even helped when my wife needed to see a Doctor. Moonglow will be top of our list if we are asked to recommend a B&B in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our night at Moonglow. The place was beautifully decorated with art from around Africa, and the staff were pleasant and attentive. The owner, Gillian, was quite cordial and helpful with information about where to go to dinner and other options we had for site-seeing. The breakfast was delicious. The room and the view were fabulous. Indeed, we saw the moon glow over the bay. Spectacular. Absolutely go!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edaerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed in the Moonglow in October for a short business trip and was really overwhelmed by this place. Stunning view, clean and spacious rooms and the kind hospitality made this week really pleasant. A garage was available as well. I´ll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms with a seaview is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
3.3 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
156 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Simon's Town
218 reviews
2.0 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
406 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
255 reviews
2.7 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#9 of 29 in Simon's Town
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonglow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonglow Guest House

Property: Moonglow Guest House
Address: 7 Bennetts Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonglow Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonglow is situated on the slopes of the mountain overlooking False Bay and the historical town of Simon's Town. With easy access to all of Cape Town and Western Cape Main attractions enjoy this relaxed environment with original artworks everywhere. A full English breakfast is served in the dining room which also has an uninterrupted views over the bay where you might see a whale or a submarine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Moonglow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonglow Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing