We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonglow Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Moonglow Guest House
Ranked #9 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

What a stunning place. Beautiful view of False Bay and very relaxing. We felt very welcome and the room was clean, bathroom lovely. The balcony was a lovely extra and we had spent a wonderful evening enjoying the views. Breakfast the next morning were very good and the host was very kind and we felt so at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sekaitravel, Owner at Moonglow Guest House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It is wonderful sitting on the deck and chatting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
69
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We loved staying here. The rooms were great value for money, especially the ones with a balcony. The beds were really comfortable with crisp linen, stunning views, great hospitality and breakfast. Highly recommend. Very clean and well looked after. Great to have a fridge in the room too! And and wonderful bathroom!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonglow2905, Owner at Moonglow Guest House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
So special to have a guest from London with a South African surname. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
230 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed there just for one night but nevertheless felt very much welcomed and at home. The room was very nice with a breathtaking view of False Bay. The bathroom and shower was also something special. But the best was the host and her very welcoming attitude. We enjoyed a good glass of wine with her at night and had a perfect breakfast in the morning. What a shame to have to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellseeker_wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sekaitravel, Owner at Moonglow Guest House, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed the Robertson wine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great hospitality that you have given to us it really felt like we were at our second home with all the favours in between.The place was just a dream to stay there plus your interaction with the guest absolutely out of this world.And of course not forgetting Jessy!!!!!!!!!!

I you want to enjoy Cape Town Hospitality at its best Moonglow is the place to be

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miranda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, we were at this super cute GH for less than 24 hours and wished we had more time! The owners are wonderful, very welcoming! Nice views and lovely BIG breakfast! Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone in the area!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Best place to stay, not only stunning beauty but also close to Cape town as well as Cape Point. We loved it! Gillian many many thanks to you! Extremely clean and excellent hospitality. Just felt home away from home. Dog and the parrot are bonus! Also very close by (just down the hill) is a wonderful restaurant.

Room Tip: A bit higher on the price, but if you are going to relax and looking for a home away from home, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayantiRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

When traveling business I spend a lot of days in anonymous hotels - cannot happen here - great hosts and very family like atmosphere. We spent 14 days there and made it a base station for our trips to explore the area. All was nice, safe and convenient - the attitude of the host couple is outstanding and there is only one pressure you may feel after the stay there - you feel that you need to come back again!

Room Tip: Rooms with deck access have early sun in the morning - which we were very happy with - the rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMK529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
3.3 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.0 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
5.3 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grosvenor Guest  House
Grosvenor Guest House
#7 of 31 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonglow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonglow Guest House

Property: Moonglow Guest House
Address: 7 Bennetts Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonglow Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonglow is situated on the slopes of the mountain overlooking False Bay and the historical town of Simon's Town. With easy access to all of Cape Town and Western Cape Main attractions enjoy this relaxed environment with original artworks everywhere. A full English breakfast is served in the dining room which also has an uninterrupted views over the bay where you might see a whale or a submarine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Moonglow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonglow Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing