We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guesthouse ever!”
Review of Magellan's Passage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magellan's Passage
Ranked #9 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful Rooms, breathtaking view over false bay, and peaceful surroundings. Only 2km away from restaurants and about 500m from boulders beach african penguin colony! Great service and a dinner there is a must! Big Thanks to Darwin and his colleagues for giving us a great time there!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Magellan's Passage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at Magellan's Passage during our honeymoon in December 2011. Darwin and the staff were simply incredible. My wife and I talk often talk about going back. A five star place, with a truly wonderful staff, incredible view of the water, and great location (Simon's Town, Penguin Beach, Cape of Good Hope). If you are in the Western Cape, this IS the place to stay. If we ever go back to South Africa, we are staying there again!

-Justin & Bree: New York, NY USA

Room Tip: Just ask Darwin, and he will take care of you!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin_and_Bree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We could not be more pleased with our stay! Darwin and his staff were so friendly and attentive every moment was a treasure!
The location is fantastic and the views wonderful!

We hope some day to return and enjoy this location again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanTropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This place is truly incredible. The rooms and all common spaces are absolutely gorgeous with amazing views. We stayed in a sea-view room which was quite spacious with everything you would ever need, including heated floors in the bathroom! It is a five plus star experience for a very reasonable price. The staff (Darwin, Samuel, James) could not have been better. They are so accommodating and were always anticipating our every need. The breakfast is ridiculously good with both cold and hot options. We had dinner on two separate nights and Darwin really shines in the kitchen (you can make your own menu, he makes everything). There is not a single person I can think of that I could not recommend this hotel to. Seriously cannot think of anything negative at all about it. Probably the nicest hotel stay I have ever had and we travel very frequently.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing. We stayed in a sea-view room which I would highly recommend.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acweyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The host Darwin and his staff made us feel really welcome when we arrived, and included a free pick up from the station and drop off to see penguins. The room was very spacious and furnished to a high standard, with great views of the sea, and the mountains. Excellent and friendly staff that went out of there way to make it a special stay. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the honey moon suite, you wont want to leave the room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Magellan's Passage is located in Simon's Town, just outside of Capetown. This guest house offers luxury accommodations at an excellent cost. The Guest House staff- Darwin, Sammy and James were amazing, top notch service and a friendly atmosphere. We stayed in the Guest Suite which offered a view of the Mountain range out the bedroom window and upstairs off the balcony was a view of False Bay- definately would recommend this room, it was fantastic, roomy and amazing views of all False Bay has to offer.
If you really want a quiet and private experience in Capetown, defininately go with Magellan's Passage. It is close to Cape of Good Hope,Table Mountain and Kalk Bay. To add to it's charm it is a 5-10 minute walk to Boulder's Beach to view the African Penguins!

Room Tip: Guest Suite is the way to go for extra room and a view of both the bay and the mountains!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The room accommodations are very spacious yet still have a cozy feel to them. We chose a suite with a view of the water (False bay), which was gorgeous. I can’t say enough good things about the staff. They were all very eager to serve and meet our needs; able to make great suggestions and recommendations for places to explore in Simonstown. Every morning breakfast was amazing. They had a nice selection of cheeses, grains, fruits, and breads. Also the on-site chef was available to prepare hot breakfast foods at our request. We only stayed 2 nights but felt it was a very relaxing stay, we highly recommend it, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingMunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 31 in Simon's Town
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#10 of 31 in Simon's Town
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#17 of 31 in Simon's Town
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magellan's Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magellan's Passage

Address: 3 Meryl Road | Seaforth Sound, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: £66 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magellan's Passage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magellan’s Passage Guest House is just an 18 minute walk from the beach. With panoramic views of False Bay, Magellan’s Passage in Simon’s Town is an eco-friendly guesthouse featuring renewable energy supplies. It also offers a large sundeck with outdoor seating as well as a lift. The modern, air-conditioned suites feature views of False Bay or the Swartkop Nature Reserve. All suites have king size beds with luxury linen and include flat-screen TV’s with DSTV (guest house bouquet of channels), free Wi-Fi, room fan, tea and coffee station, minibar, telephone, room safe and a desk. The en suite bathrooms come with under floor heating, luxury vanity products and a bath as well as a shower. Guests at Magellan’s Passage can make use of the sundeck, library and the dining room, where breakfast is served daily and lunches and dinners are available on request. There is also free private parking. Extra services available at a surcharge include airport transfers as well as a mobile spa service. Magellan’s Passage offers a concierge service and a 24 hour duty manager. Boulder’s Beach is only 1.5 km from the guest house. Chapman’s Peak is situated 17 km away and Cape Point is 24 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Magellan's Passage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan's Passage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing