We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Roman Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roman Rock
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great views”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Roman Rock is simply superb, we have been coming here for many years..the views over the Ocean just breathtaking. A great place to relax and restore,fall asleep to the sound of the waves. Beautiful walks to Penguin Beach nearby.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

stayed here for 4 night.the best view of the beach .very clean ,very big apartment and helpful owners .nothing to much trouble for them would stay here again. well equip kitchen and fee parking.can walk down to the beach but a bit too far to walk into town.Every thing closed at 5 pm or before in the town and it was very quite ,we went in March and we thought that was still the summer season .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauretta938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was our first time, that we booked a Self catering place, in Simons Town. Usually, the pictures from a website, is deceiving, but this place, was every bit Marlene Schiefer promised us it would be. Beautiful open plan bedroom/living room/kitchen. And the view from our balcony, amazing! At night it was so dark, you can gaze at the stars, and be woken by the sunrise, and perfect view of the ocean. No noise from traffic, because their were none, except early morning joggers, dog walkers, and the odd cyclist. Marlene's personal touches, really made us feel, like we were at home, away from home. She even created a booklet, with emergency numbers, as well as things to do, and places to see. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanineWesternCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This wonderful bright two bedroom apartment was every bit as beautiful as it appeared on the website with a view to die for and was our best find in South Africa . From our patio we could see the whales breaching and playing and a ten minute walk brought us to the penguin colony. Simon's Town is a great stopover choice as it is close to the fabulous wine district, botanical gardens and also to Cape Town. The owners were very helpful with lots of good tips on what to see etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
3 On Rocklands
3 On Rocklands
#6 of 13 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#9 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avian Leisure
Avian Leisure
#2 of 13 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Rock

Property: Roman Rock
Address: 21 Dorries Drive | Froggy Farm, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roman Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Rock Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing