We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Idyllic holiday spot near Simon's Town”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Barbecue Deck The Milestone
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barbecue Deck The Milestone
Sitting Room The Milestone Dining Room The Milestone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
24 reviews
Barbecue Deck The Milestone
Sitting Room The Milestone
Dining Room The Milestone
Kitchen The Milestone
Main Bedroom The Milestone
Sunroom The Milestone
2nd Bedroom The Milestone
3rd Bedroom The Milestone
Shower room The Milestone
The Milestone viewed from Barbecue Deck
Looking in a northerly direction from the deck.
Looking in a north-easterly direction from the deck.
Looking in an easterly direction from the deck.
The Milestone viewed from the sea.
House seen from garden on the street side of the house
Drinks on Front deck
Lunch on the barbecue deck.
Tea on barbecue deck.
Enjoying the seaview from the lawn
Penguins at the bottom of the parh.
Penguins on rocks at bottom of the path.
Cape Fur Seal on rocks at bottom of the path.
Cape clawless otter eating fish in rock pool at bottom of the path.
Cape clawless otter swimming towards small rocks in front of the house.
Cape clawless otters on small rocks in front of the house.
Dolphins in front of the house
Whale in front of the house.
View of large boulders which can be seen from bathroom and sunroom windows.
Cormarants resting on large boulders.
Going for a dive at sunset.
Rock pools on southern side of the large boulders.
Kayaks in front of the house.
Dassies (Hyrax) on the rocks at bottom of the path.
Dassie (Hyrax) on log at northern edge of the garden.
Penguins visiting section of garden next to the barbecue.
A sunset stroll on the rocks below the house.
View from the front deck towards Fisherman's Beach.
View from Fisherman's Beach towards The Milestone.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Simon's Town, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GHDownie
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Idyllic holiday spot near Simon's Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This was our third stay at the Milestone and every time we return we just love it more. Alida is the perfect host and goes out of her way to make us welcome and looked after. The Milestone is perfect for a family holiday and the location is absolutely ideal, with a super, safe beach just a short walk away.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2012
Yes, this was the Downie's third stay at The Milestone. It was great to see them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011 for a stay in October 2007
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mpumalanga - South Africa
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011 for a stay in March 2011
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view - you can not get closer to the sea than here
Liked least: I can not think of anything I did not like
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nippers1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our wedding location - The Milestone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011

My partner and I had decided to have our civil partnership union in Simons Town. We did not want a flambouyant affair but something romantic and intimate by the sea. When we found the Milestone we knew this was our location. We stayed for a week at the beginning of August 2011 and had our ceremony at 12 outside in the glorious sunshine. The location of the house is so private, with 3 bedrooms and all the amenities one needs to have a wonderful holiday. Alida the owner was invited to our ceremony as she was so helpful and responsive to our enquiries and made fantastic suggestions helping out with florists and restaurants to eat at. Our special day at The Milestone will never be forgotten and we will be back to celebrate a few anniversaries. We found that walking into Simons Town was very easy and we ate often at the Boulders restaurant where we had a ceremony lunch - see our review on that. The house was spotless and very comfortable and we sat for hours looking out at the sea watching the sea life and even had a swim in the sea. We would highly recommend the Milestone and we will be back for sure. Thank you Alida the Milestone will never be forgotten.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and privacy of the property
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011 for a stay in August 2008
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views and the wildlife.
Liked least: No outdoor light on patio!
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston Ma
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011 for a stay in March 2011
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston Mass
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011 for a stay in October 2010
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing