We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”
Review of The Sweetest Thing

The Sweetest Thing
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We rushed in an hour before closing time, so not much of a selection left. Managed to have a wonderful hot chocolate and cake though. The place is a tad tired looking, but worth a visit for the food. So if we are in the area again and need to feed our sweet tooth we will definitely be visiting The Sweetest Thing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    61
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delectable cakes and pies”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

'The Sweetest Thing' provides many delights: delicious and wholesome pies - the chicken pies bursting with real chicken and either vegetables or blue cheese. The cakes score high both on a decorative (scrumptious looking) and functional (delicious tasting) level. Very enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dharmabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“excellent patisserie!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We often drive thru to Simonstown specifically to enjoy the most delicious cake. Their pies too are fabulous. In fact everything they bake is excellent. Sadly though they've no idea about service and the place is rather tired looking. Hence we occupy one of the two tables on the pavement in the sun....bliss! And we always take something home for later.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rael10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cake heaven”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Gorgeous cakes. What more can one say? For many friends, The Sweetest Thing is now top of their visit list for cakes when they come to stay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking experience”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Decided to impress my family and take them for a sweet experience to this highly rated establishment. 80% of the items on the menu was not available, the service was slow and the items that were available were barely average, can't understand what the fuss is about.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sweetest Thing also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to The Sweetest Thing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing