We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Located on the sea front with views across the marina, I cannot paint or draw but the view tempted me to learn. The hotel does not have its own restaurant but is surrounded by a fantastic selection of places to eat, if you like seafood this is the place for you.
There is a good selection of shops in the area for all those presents and things that you may need to buy but a word of caution do'nt wonder outside the town square area during the hours of darkness unless you take a taxi.
Lots of wild life to see so pack a camera.
The staff were very helpful and nothing appeared to be to much trouble, cannot recommend enough. Wifi is available at a small cost if you only need to check your emails etc but could be expensive if you are a gamer or down load movies or music.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Good day,

Thank you for posting these kind words on Trip Advisor.

The views across the bay are simply breath taking, and I am delighted to hear that it brought out your creative side.

Simon’s Town has been called one of the safest towns in the Western Cape, however it as always better to take the necessary precautions when walking around at night.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

P.S we would love to see some of the works of art that you were so inspired to do


Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    124
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
59
178
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Located in a great part of ST basically in the marina near many restaurants and right above Apex Shark Expeditions (the reason we were in Simon's Town). The staff was great and the room was nice, but the shower was awful.

The first day we did not have hot water. Every time we used the shower after that, the water would randomly turn scalding hot and then freezing cold. Very frustrating.

It probably has something to do with concurrent water usage as when we showered at 3am we had no issues at all.

With that being said, we would definitely stay here again. The staff was very nice and helpful and the location is hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vtbeavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on TripAdvisor.

Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the water. I want to assure you that I have investigated the issue & steps were taken to rectify the problem.

I am delighted to hear that the staff is so wonderful.

I do agree with you that the setting & view is one of the best.

I trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.


Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I will always return to Quayside as the friendly staff and presentation of everything is amazing. I have recommended many friends. I will return with my children as I love that side of the city. I do however wish to book on the ground floor as I have not had a room with balcony before.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lana Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Good day,

It is wonderful l to that the staff is so amazing and that you enjoy it every time. Thank you for recommending the hotel to others.

I am looking forward to your next visit and please ask for a balcony room when making your next reservation.

Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in a road-facing room (at the front of the hotel) for two nights. The room was small and simple, but very clean and comfortable, and the staff couldn't be more pleasant and helpful. It is a great base to stay if you are planning to try and see sharks, as the boats set off pre-dawn and the hotel is right on the harbour. If we came again, we would ask for a room with a harbour view, as ours was a bit noisy with the traffic outside, and it is a shame to be at the harbour and not see it.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you for your positive comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that the staff was so friendly and helpful. I do agree that this is the perfect place if you want to see the sharks.

I am looking forward in welcoming you back to the Quayside hotel and this time in a sea facing room.

Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is really clean and comfortable. It's located at the pier which we can just simply walk there within 2 mins. If you go diving with APEX Shark Expedition, it's perfect location.

Staffs were really helpful and nice. Bed was really comfy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank polpich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for posting a comment on Trip advisor.

The hotel is perfectly located for anyone that is going on a diving trip is Simon’s Town.

I am delighted to hear that the staff were so helpful, it makes a guests stay so much easier when they are in a foreign country.

We hope to see you again for next year’s shark season.

Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I had an awesome stay at the Quayside Hotel in Simon ' s Town (good service, food clean accommodation). Everything is in walking distance, great view over the bay and lots of history. Whales in the bay was an extra bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for room 208.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SuperBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Good Day,

You were so lucky to have seen the whales in the bay as they have been very few sighted this year.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We strive to give every guest the best possible service.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

After our first stay at Quayside was so wonderful we wanted to go back! The hotel is charming, the staff are friendly, they accommodate all your needs, great restaurants nearby (Bertha's is a winner!) and the scenery is so lovely!
The only disappointment were the Harley riders revving in the Harbour on arrival of their breakfast run on the Sunday morning...

Our breakfast by their breakfast team was very impressive, a full buffet of hot, cold breakfasts, fruits, pastries and juice.

A lovely experience, we will be back!

Room Tip: A room facing the Harbour is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Good Day,

We are so glad that you decided to return to the hotel for another wonderful stay, and that we did not disappoint you.

The scenery in the area is so lovely, especially this time of year with the local flowers coming into bloom.

Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
158 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
256 reviews
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
407 reviews
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Jubilee Square, St George's Street, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simons Town Quayside Hotel
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel And Conference Centre Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing