We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't you need to wash the lettuce?”
Review of The Quarterdeck

The Quarterdeck
Ranked #24 of 37 Restaurants in Simon's Town
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't you need to wash the lettuce?”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Staff was nice and that's why they get 2 points. Salad that I had was partially "rotten". It had been covered with a dressing too mask. But that didn't work as the lettuce hadn't been washed either and there was lots of sand in it, getting me to investigate. The fish that I had smelled of fish - which is not a good thing. Being a step from the sea and steps away from the harbour means that putting smelly fish in front of you has no excuse. Look around for an other establishment for lunch or dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AvH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    22
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Sitting right above the harbor, with shady trees, the location couldn't be better. Our service was friendly and competent. The flavors in the curried lamb were very nice, but it had a lot of fat and bones. The seafood combo was also tasty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect stop on the way to Cape Point”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a lovely place to stop for breakfast on the way to Cape Point. Food is good as are the views from the terrace over False Bay. Make sure that you take time to stroll into some of the quirky shops in the Hight Street before pressing on.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hardtoimpressfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“tourist trap”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Simons Town seems to really lack decent eateries. For lunch we ended up at the Quarter Deck, drawn by the setting overlooking the little harbour. The service was good, but the food below average. To crown it all a persistent sewer stench did not help the poor quality of the food. An other place which is happy with passing trade and I can't imagine anyone wants to go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WILLY l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view their saving grace”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The service was absolutely terrible. The coffee was a shocker. I can't recall when was the last time I saw a cappuccino with foam. The Belgian waffles are way too small.

Helpful?
Thank APEvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Quarterdeck also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to The Quarterdeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing